Review RSS Feed Half-Life : Residual Life
9 Review

Mod Review by rcminor on Apr 16th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Came back to update my remarks. Just played through again, and again am terrifically impressed! I see one commenter mentioned wanting more ammo & life/armor. I understand that, but as it is, it is incredibly challenging! I don't think I've played any game through with so narrow a margin. I'll only repeat my first criticism, the ending was a bit anticlimactic and ambiguous. It needs some extra kicker to know you've not just finished but "won," see my original comments. Just downloaded the new Extras pack,so I guess I have to play it all again! Well, first I'm going to play your other, Residual Point. Istarted it but for some reason never finished. Looking forward to it!

One of the best mods of the original Half Life I've played, very well done! A lot of nice touches, I
liked the assassin zombies especially, and the security babes were knockouts! One sequence I particularly liked was where you're in the science complex where the 2 soldiers are in the containment tubes, and work your way back with the scientist who opens the door for you.

Nice departure from the usual very linear gameplay HL employs. The ceiling turrets were a nice surprise too. Excellent balance of action and puzzling.

Top-notch work here. The only reasons I'm giving this 9 and not the full 10 are these: as good as it was, in a lot of places it seemed too much like a mirror image of the original and a bit predictable, such as the big cargo elevator, starting the generator, and the final scene in the freight yard. Also, the ending was quite anti-climactic. I ran through it a few times, even blowing up the alien grunt by the elevator where you came up, looking for a continuation or a more
definite ending. In truth, I came back here to look for a clue that that was the "real" end and not
just a "mistake" ending.

Definitely would like to see more of your work though! Bravo, a real standout in a field of the mediocre.

Amnesia: A Coward's Debt
10 Review

Mod Review by ImaGenius40 on Apr 16th, 2014

I think what most people come to expect from Amnesia custom stories are:

-good story
-scary atmosphere and a lot of scares

And this custom story had those things and SOOOO much more. Your first custom story is my absolute favorite and this one was fantastic as well. However long it takes to make your next one, I will count the days.

Portal 2
10 Review

Game Review by Aro on Apr 16th, 2014

I'm not normally a person who gives out 10/10 reviews to any game or mod as I am a relatively hard person to please, but some titles deserve nothing more!

Portal is a game series that I avoided like the plague when it was first announced by Valve, for no other reason than for the fact that it was popular and had nothing to do with the Half-Life series (or so I thought), so I just let is pass me like the wind. Eventually, I came across a sale on Steam that had the Entire Valve package for less than £30.00, which included the Portal Series, so since I had paid for them, I figured I may as well try them and well, I was not disappointed!

I loved the first Portal game, even though it was short, it had everything that I good game should have! Great game-play and a great story, and Portal 2 really improved upon everything that Portal 1 had to offer. There are practically zero faults that I have with this game.

It just goes to show that you should never judge a book by its cover and that just because something is popular, doesn't mean you should automatically dismiss it. The great game-play, storyline and endless fan chambers really do make this game worth paying for. Great job to everybody involved, it takes a lot to please me, but this was no contest!

Iron Europe - WW1 Mod
10 Review

Mod Review by phillipjfletcher1 on Apr 16th, 2014

This mod is by far the best M&B: NW mod I have played. With fully operable automatic weapons, attachable bayonets, working grenades, wonderful props, and many other unique innovations which add depth to the experience. After experiencing the general sloppiness of many other Mount and Blade mods, I was astounded by the seemingly complete and perfect nature of the mod. You will be hard pressed to find any glitches or errors.

This is a mod that can not only be appreciated by the average player, but also by history buffs such as myself. If you don't have this mod, get it.

10/10

Total War: The Battle for Antares IV
9 Review

Mod Review by Tk-14 on Apr 16th, 2014

fun mod

The Lord of the Rings - Total War
10 Review

Mod Review by Argeomer on Apr 16th, 2014

Just amazing...with some few errors of course nothing is perfect...just great best Rome Total War mod :D unbellivable :D

Serious Sam meets Doom
9 Review

Mod Review by kalinus on Apr 16th, 2014

I feel some of the explosive weapons should be toned down slightly other than that its great :)

Republic at War
10 Review

Mod Review by Darkymodding on Apr 16th, 2014

This is the best mod for this game avaiable at this time, followed by Thrawn's Revenge. RaW is well made, and there are much cool details, which the big team allows to do. The german translation by Anakin Sklavenwalker is really good, especially the great sounds of the characters.

Thrawn's Revenge
9 Review

Mod Review by Darkymodding on Apr 16th, 2014

This mod is awesome! Especially for the fans of the Thrawn-Trilogy and the other books after Endor should try this mod. It is really a total conversion, and renews the combat system. Thumbs up.

Portal 2. Thinking with Time Machine.
10 Review

Mod Review by jakob12 on Apr 16th, 2014

SO EPIC
i have not played but it looks so good i just can't what for this epic mod to be out 10/10
goodst one i ever seen and best of all can you make your own one in the game 10/10 10/10 i love IT IS SO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDDDDDDD GODZILLA MOD!!!!!!!!!!

Polish Markingz Mod
10 Review

Mod Review by Woozle on Apr 16th, 2014

An Absolutely essential mod for anyone who plays polish decks. I am amazed Eugen is not using these textures.

Amnesia: A Coward's Debt
9 Review

Mod Review by lazz3r on Apr 16th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Warning: contains spoilers

I finished the mod and here are my thoughts.

The mod was really awesome and unique, though it wasn't as good as TGW imo. (which doesn't mean I didn't liked it - quite the contrary - I think it is brilliant) You made some creative puzzles, but some of the items were placed very randomly (for example the chemicals). The map design was really good, but I cannot say nothing else than "really good" as I was expecting something better (don't get me wrong - I just expected something better which doesn't mean that I didn't liked it), the mansion corridors were very claustrophobic which was a good and bad point for me - it gave me a feeling that Weeper is going to appear soon, but also it was a bit boring, same corridors and only some rooms.

About the scares of the mod - the first encounter (when the lights gone off, at least I think it was an encounter, because I only heard some screams of a man or the Weeper itself) made me scared as hell - I jumped on the chair and got freaked out as hell. The atmosphere presented in the mod was very unique and one of the better in Amnesia mods as far as I seen for now - you don't remember nothing, revealing your past by listening to phonographs - it gave an awesome chilling and
overwhelming mood of the mansion.

Well, that's all I can say about your mod. I must say that I was really
unsure if my rating 8/10 is fair, but then I realised how much time you
put into this project and the fact you even had to put money in it, so
finally decided to give you higher score.

Brilliant, a must play for every Amnesia fan.

9/10

Battlefield Heroes
2 Review

Game Review by ShouldBeNew on Apr 16th, 2014

This is looking like TF2 but without classes and the weapons. It's familliar and it's cartoon-ish!
What's why i rate this a not so okay?
Well... first of all the gameplay is completely unbalanced and you need to buy weapons to win. Oh and it has the worst server system ever, the gameplay is too slow and the respawn is very slow too!
This is totally a copy of TF2 which i can not tell easily but the graphics and sounds are ok.

2/10 - Very Bad

Amnesia: A Coward's Debt
9 Review

Mod Review by Templarfreak on Apr 16th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

This was very well crafted, but honestly I don't think it was worth the wait. It wasn't too lengthy, which the way it's designed is a good thing. But the problem is how long we had to wait for it compared to the length just doesn't feel right to me.

Everything about this was masterfully done. The puzzles weren't too tricky to where even I could do them, but not too easy either. The monster is of course scary, but because of the way the encounters go it loses a lot of the shear fear and dread you first have for it very quickly... I can't really tell if this in particular is a good thing or not.

The sound design was quite good, the voice acting done fairly decent. I do have one personal gripe with it, and that's the accents are clearly not french. The sounds the monster makes were truly terrifying and very well done. Probably some of my favorite sounds I've ever heard in Amnesia.

The layout of the mansion is beautiful and very well crafted. I rarely got lost, and when I did get lost it wasn't for long.

All-in-All, it was definitely worth the download and play. But as for how long I've been hyped and waiting for this...I'm not too sure. ;)

It was really well-done and I will continue to look forward to more things you'll do. Continue The Great Work (Haha...S-See what I did there...?) you've been doing...You're definitely talented at it!

Anno 2170 - A.R.R.C.
8 Review

Mod Review by Leuchtfix on Apr 16th, 2014

Real good mod, but the balancing could be better.

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
10 Review

Mod Review by Pancakous on Apr 16th, 2014

A great mod, great development too. Loads of fun times and well built

Lost World: Origin
10 Review

Mod Review by bsnighteye on Apr 16th, 2014

Russian version of this mod proved to be interesting and entertaining!

Ultimate Apocalypse mod
10 Review

Mod Review by poksar on Apr 16th, 2014

its cool

Call of the Kings
10 Review

Mod Review by Yukino-Yukinoshita-♥ on Apr 16th, 2014

Awesome. :)

Mount and Empire Era mod[WB,SP]
10 Review

Mod Review by Yukino-Yukinoshita-♥ on Apr 16th, 2014

Cool. :)

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
OFPWH40K
9.9 (game)
Kernel Panic
9.9 (mod)
In The Shadows
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (engine)
Spring
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (mod)
XTended
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (game)
Jazz Jackrabbit 2