Space Engineers is a sandbox game about engineering, construction and maintenance of space works. Players build space ships and space stations of various sizes and utilization (civil and military), pilot ships and perform asteroid mining. Space Engineers utilizes a realistic volumetric-based physics engine: all objects can be assembled, disassembled, damaged and destroyed. The game comes with two game modes: creative and survival. Space Engineers is still in development and is available on Early Access. Everything in the game is subject to change.

Review RSS Feed pikacc says
10 pikacc

Dec 7th, 2013 10 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Space Engineers is game in Alpha state, but offers more hours of entertainment than many released games.

It's space sandbox where you can build, fly and crash ships. Building is very intuitive and feature various blocks, including reactors, cockpits, gyro, thrusts, turrets, armors, interiors and many other blocks. In latest update motor block has been added which allows many new designs.

Flying performance depends on design, especially reactor, thrusts and gyro placement. Crashes looks awesome, when you hit another ship you can expect realistic results. Metal parts are deformed, many sharp pieces are in visible.

The development team is community friendly, they fix bugs very quickly, listen to community and release usually weekly updates. Each update contain lots of new features!

Now there's 64-bit version, which allows you to build huge structures, limited only by your computer`s RAM.

Multiplayer and survival is planned for future, the developer is releasing first survival updates now. And this all for 15 bucks?
10 out of 10!

vTrento says
10 vTrento

Dec 4th, 2013 8 people agree 0 people don't

The game is simply amazing, the physics and the actual gameplay for an indie and early-acess game is just wonderful.
It lacks on some optimizations and other, but it's already said, the game is on early-acess, which answers that.

FlySpyGuy says
10 FlySpyGuy

Nov 26th, 2013 7 people agree 0 people don't

This game is unfinished, and yet, it's awesome. I can't wait until they add Multiplayer, and weaponry!

sentinal3 says
10 sentinal3

Dec 4th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

I love sandbox games but this is more that awesome , i love space engineers.

Lord_Cylarne says
8 Lord_Cylarne

Jan 5th, 2015 4 people agree 0 people don't

Dang this game is good! So I want to rate this differently compared to other games, because as in alpha stages, this game is BY FAR... so not alpha but better. xD -2000 points for that!!! Nah kidding. :D So this is how I want to rate it, survival, creative, and overall.

SURVIVAL MODE: 4/10

Below average. The game in survival is really good, especially now where there is exploration involved and etc., but there are many, many flaws to it that makes the game unappealing when playing survival.

#1: Huge learning curve. There really isn't many good tutorials for survival and most are confusing, but some do exist. There are so many things you have to learn in a both frustrating and complex game. It is HARD to bring friends into SE Survival. The physics may also make your brain hurt, even when you know what is going on.

#2: The requirements to build x item is greatly expensive and outrageous. You need 10 different items in a quantity of hundreds to just build a block (40 radio components just for a large ship SENSOR, epic facepalm! (Conveyors??? Expensive...)). You have a very small inventory, and you must play survival one way and the only way (welders on ships) to get some where. You must also contain items in your inventory of EXACT FIRST ITEM just to place an unfinished block... it's annoying. I can only play it right, but every time I do so, I just want so many things fixed. Especially when my ship crashes...

#3: Too much time is required to build up. Not a lot of wanting to start from scratch on new worlds. What you built on a different world will be lost on another. And if you built one, you have no want of joining other servers or games.

#4: Glitches and bugs.

#5: Enemy factions getting spawning ships and ram them into your base over and over. Servers suuuuck. Elevators don't work well as you fall through and connectors and landing on ships will sometimes make your small ship go flying and crashing.

#6: You can't leave 50,000m without getting lost in infinite space. The devs. for some reason took out coordinate system and limited beacon radius to only 50,000m. Less exploration...

#7: I could type more, but 4,000 character limit.

CREATIVE MODE: 10/10

Hehehehe fun. Build anything you want, wherever and whenever you want to, it is perfect. The only flaw is, players cannot die. So there is no point in defending yourself from players deleting your stuff. Laaaag is the big one. But otherwise well done!

OVERALL: 8/10

Survival: 4/10
Crative: 10/10
Fun factor/gameplay: 9/10
Mechanics/controls/ui: 3/10
Learning Curve: 4/10
Replayability: 9/10
AI: N/A
Campaign/Story: N/A
Balance between building blocks: 3/10
Graphics/animations: 9/10
Functionality: 6/10
Polish: 7/10
Worth the buy? 5/10

The controls are too realistic (in a bad way). UI is hard to understand. No character customization...

Corny balance.

Buy the game only if you like unfinished products, but I'd definitely wait a little bit longer. I stopped playing the game for the moment because there is just so much cheating with multiplayer, atm, shrekking your base when you go offline, or having to not do this and that with what you want to create and where or how. <<< TRY to follow that. Survival mode just plane feels good at times, struggling to survive, but then you realize what the game is missing. If you hate the feeling of building up your stuff with this and that and that and this for a couple hours only to see it gone next day or be all alone with no AI... not even putting outputs on x10 would change that for survival.

Play the game only if you want to build stuff and not engage in combat. The game isn't ready for faction wars or survival in general. Finally, this game has so much potential!

Keep your eye on the game, and pay attention to their updates if you like the game. This may not be the best game in the world, but I was playing it for months. The developers are really outstanding at creating the game, and they update it every week! +10 extra points!

Cameron777 says
10 Cameron777

Dec 8th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome game exactly what I've waited for in all my years of gaming just hope multiplayer comes soon then I can play with my friends

peterkoczewski says
10 peterkoczewski

Nov 28th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

awesome

DexterLL says
10 DexterLL

Jan 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is the best game ever! Keep up the good work! And plz fix multiplayer!

dirtypeter says
10 dirtypeter

Dec 17th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game so fun

Mongreal says
10 Mongreal

Mar 3rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an excellent game, well, for now it's lacks some content and objectives, but it's already tons of fun.
Better when played with friends ;)

Pros :
- very fast and cpu friendly compared to what I was waiting (compared to KSP, which is my favorite game)
- Lots of things and intuitive ships construction
- Already a lot of ore and some npc interaction, with neutral cargo ships.

Cons :
- Only a few military parts
- Lacks a intermediate medium ship size
- I have some error when trying to join a friend server

Community Rating

Average

9.3

208 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.