Space Engineers is a sandbox game about engineering, construction and maintenance of space works. Players build space ships and space stations of various sizes and utilization (civil and military), pilot ships and perform asteroid mining. Space Engineers utilizes a realistic volumetric-based physics engine: all objects can be assembled, disassembled, damaged and destroyed. The game comes with two game modes: creative and survival. Space Engineers is still in development and is available on Early Access. Everything in the game is subject to change.

Review RSS Feed pikacc says
10 pikacc

Dec 7th, 2013 6 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Space Engineers is game in Alpha state, but offers more hours of entertainment than many released games.

It's space sandbox where you can build, fly and crash ships. Building is very intuitive and feature various blocks, including reactors, cockpits, gyro, thrusts, turrets, armors, interiors and many other blocks. In latest update motor block has been added which allows many new designs.

Flying performance depends on design, especially reactor, thrusts and gyro placement. Crashes looks awesome, when you hit another ship you can expect realistic results. Metal parts are deformed, many sharp pieces are in visible.

The development team is community friendly, they fix bugs very quickly, listen to community and release usually weekly updates. Each update contain lots of new features!

Now there's 64-bit version, which allows you to build huge structures, limited only by your computer`s RAM.

Multiplayer and survival is planned for future, the developer is releasing first survival updates now. And this all for 15 bucks?
10 out of 10!

vTrento says
10 vTrento

Dec 4th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

The game is simply amazing, the physics and the actual gameplay for an indie and early-acess game is just wonderful.
It lacks on some optimizations and other, but it's already said, the game is on early-acess, which answers that.

FlySpyGuy says
10 FlySpyGuy

Nov 26th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

This game is unfinished, and yet, it's awesome. I can't wait until they add Multiplayer, and weaponry!

sentinal3 says
10 sentinal3

Dec 4th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I love sandbox games but this is more that awesome , i love space engineers.

peterkoczewski says
10 peterkoczewski

Nov 28th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

awesome

Lord_Cylarne says
10 Lord_Cylarne

May 21st, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

I would rate higher, but I can't... is there a 100/10 option? Nope...

However! I am giving this game a 10 because my vote should not be counting and I can't really have a point of view. Why? Well... I can't play this game. My computer can't handle the lag. I need an optimal computer to play this FUN game! It could be the best game of my lifetime, but I can't play it and tried everything.

I recorded my framerates. Everytime I look at buildable objects, the physics built large, small, or station ships... my frame rate drops to 1-2 frames per second.

So here I am crying for the life of me because I think I found my dream game... yet, yet I can't do anything with it anymore. :'( I even tried maneuvering with all of that lag... I tried it for an hour, successfully made 10 blocks (And yes that was extremely difficult for the likes of my computer) and... stopped. :(

Please allow AT LEAST really fast graphics quality... I can't go any lower than normal! Can't disable shadows, no poly decrease... so sad.

I would rate this a 1. I really would because you killed my heart and I would have to buy a whole new computer! But deep down, the looks of it, the gameplay, and the immersion! This cannot in my opinion be any lower than a 10 (or until I discover something within it like actually playing the game). And it is improved day by day!

So if you hear this, please, for low end computers and MORE audience approval, please heed to this review, game developers. The thought of wasting my money, 20 bucks on something I cannot play until a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGG time from now is... mentally murderous.

Cameron777 says
10 Cameron777

Dec 8th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome game exactly what I've waited for in all my years of gaming just hope multiplayer comes soon then I can play with my friends

DexterLL says
10 DexterLL

Jan 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is the best game ever! Keep up the good work! And plz fix multiplayer!

dirtypeter says
10 dirtypeter

Dec 17th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game so fun

weynak says
8 weynak

Jun 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is Alpha stage? Been Playing for a month and the Dev's have been blasting out improvements weekly, unlike others maybe quarterly even years. Keep up the awesome work.

you just have to play it

Community Rating

Average

9.3

182 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.