SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and all DLC.

Review RSS Feed OseronPhaer says
7 OseronPhaer

Feb 17th, 2012 23 people agree 7 people don't

I have to give it a seven. While the mod most certainly looks nice, it's scale, both visually and gameplay-wise, doesn't work well in Sins. All costs have been increased and so has resource collection, but they feel harder to control as a result. As for the appearance, all the systems appear to have been scaled up in size and the ships scaled down. I would have preferred the game to have more of a vanilla Sins feel than it has now because it makes you feel more involved when you can see your ships without having to zoom in nearly all of the way. Also, ships feel too fast, at least from a game play perspective.

It seems like a lot of these elements were made to be more reflective of the scale of the Star Wars universe, but it ends up feeling like the elements of the game were stretched to their limit to get that effect. On the other hand, I still believe it to be a very playable mod and those issues I note are mostly able to be overlooked with a little effort.

WOEaintME says
7 WOEaintME

Dec 17th, 2012 8 people agree 4 people don't

Great mod visually but the scale is a bit off. The gravity wells feel too large for the ships and the ranges of ships doesn't allow the beauty of multiple models to be seen at once which significantly reduces my enjoyment.

Technically well done but as mentioned, personally, enjoyment is lacking which is what gaming is all about.

Steeps5 says
10 Steeps5

Dec 13th, 2010 8 people agree 4 people don't

This mod is really awesome!!

biwot says
9 biwot

Oct 10th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

So far, it is the best Star Wars mod for Rebellion to date, and possibly the best mod period. The only reason for me to give it less than a 10 is because of inevitable RAM lag this game suffers. If there is one thing people love is large fleet battles, and unfortunately it is not possible after certain amount of time.

Other than that, this mod is brilliant. Great directions on how to install, looks great, runs smooth (when not overrun with RAM), and sounds just as amazing.

TrooperFox says
6 TrooperFox

Dec 29th, 2012 9 people agree 6 people don't

I have to rate this a six. While I have been waiting for a SOASE mod based in the Star Wars universe, this one fails in some fundamental ways, drawing away from the base economic structure of Sins, and for little to no reason.

-Asteroid and planetary populations are low, but the tax rates remain the same, meaning the more planets you have under your control, the less tax income you have. This does not translate well from the Sins system, as planetary populations should (at the very least), not handicap your credit income, and at most, give you a reason to hold onto systems, and their populations.

-Far, far too many asteroid mines. I've counted as much as 13 mining stations in some gravity wells, with the standard .6-.7 rates for each one, leading to a huge influx of resources early on, which in my opinion, stems your reasons for expansion, as you could keep a small, clustered group of systems and have all the resources you need.

-The scale of battles is not indicative of the star wars universe. Look at the Battle of Naboo, Yavin, Coruscant, any large 'naval' battle had precious few large ships, and mostly fighters, you will not find a battle with 48 star destroyers versus dozens of other ships. The scale of ship battles in vanilla rebellion (One titan, a dozen or less capitals, a few dozen corvettes) would be perfectly set for a 'realistic' Star Wars conflict.

The scale of the ships is, as some other reviewers have mentioned, also a problem. If we are willing to suspend the disbelief of the resource income, we can suspend the disbelief of the scale of a planetary system. I would have much rather liked to see large capital ships crusing slowly through a plantary system than small blips and icons floating around.

In closing, the ship models, visual effects, 'lore' based research text, and sound effects are very nice in this modification, but the fundamental lack of understanding of the game's basic resource, ship and economic mechanics leave much to be desired.

Orion9212 says
9 Orion9212

Jul 25th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Absolutely amazing mod. Been playing it since it was release and loved it every time I played it.

Only one thing that bothered me that made this a 9/10: Other Sins mods, such as Star trek Armada, show ship wreckage during battles which adds to the feel of the gameplay. And I have seen many ship graveyards in my time on those mods :D
If the modders for Galactic could implement this feature into this mod, this would certainly take it to a 10/10 in my books!

-Orion

blarkkk says
10 blarkkk

Feb 7th, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't

It's simply just amazing

gundam_pheonix says
8 gundam_pheonix

Dec 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its good and all, but it definately has some bugs to work out. amazing so far though.

mikey1871 says
10 mikey1871

Nov 7th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

excellent mod, gets updated very fast.... very good thing too. stability is pretty great too. the 500+ planet map is awesome also. just so wish dumb 2G ram problem would go away, but i know we have to wait for the game to be written in 64 bit format as SINS 2

grantcaswellfisher says
1 grantcaswellfisher

Oct 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

First of all, the look of this game is good. Very good. This immediately brings back fond memories of Empire at War and the STvsSW mod for Star Trek: Armada. Lots of lore friendly ships and techs, the models are gorgeous, the music works quite well, and in the first hour of play I thought "This is a strategy game worthy of Star Wars."

However. There are some glaring, mind blowing flaws.

First of all, the lack of a cap on capital ships is one of the most insanely stupid design decisions I've seen in a game. There's no reason for it and it completely breaks fleet composition. I have zero incentive to build anything other than capital ships and that's exactly what happens every time. Build an super cap, spam capital ships, steam roll. Stupid, stupid, *stupid* decision to engineer it this way. The developers are clearly not smart enough to have made such a radical change in how Sins behaves successfully.

Second, I like the idea of these super planets with a huge number of logistics or tactical slots, but they do break the economy a bit. They need to be less common. One per star system max, not every third planet. Tweak them or tweak the rest of the economy to make it work.

Third, the scale of the units. Yeah, I like realism. Its my first complaint in a lot of games, that they're just cartoonishly unrealistic. But you have gorgeous ship models and Star Wars is a very visual world. Let me see it, I'm begging you. I get that that isn't really compatible with having ships properly sized relative to each other, but there has to be a happy medium. I'm okay with it if the Executor is only 2-3x the size of an ISD instead of 16x if that means I can actually see the ships.

Fourth, I don't know what exactly causes it, but after about an hour of play, the frame rate for this game goes to single digits and comes to a grinding halt. I don't know if its just a lack of optimization on the part of the mod, or if there's too many units or what, but this means I get a couple hours max of good, star wars combat conquering neutral planets and then its time to start a new game or go do something else because the game becomes unplayable. Stop whatever you're working on for the mod right now and fix this issue first because it completely and utterly ruins what is an otherwise stellar effort.

That last issue is why this gets a 1 star. I'd give it an 8 or 9 but since I can't actually play a game to completion, this mod might as well not exist.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

401 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.