SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80+ and all DLC.

Review RSS Feed OseronPhaer says
7 OseronPhaer

Feb 17th, 2012 18 people agree 6 people don't

I have to give it a seven. While the mod most certainly looks nice, it's scale, both visually and gameplay-wise, doesn't work well in Sins. All costs have been increased and so has resource collection, but they feel harder to control as a result. As for the appearance, all the systems appear to have been scaled up in size and the ships scaled down. I would have preferred the game to have more of a vanilla Sins feel than it has now because it makes you feel more involved when you can see your ships without having to zoom in nearly all of the way. Also, ships feel too fast, at least from a game play perspective.

It seems like a lot of these elements were made to be more reflective of the scale of the Star Wars universe, but it ends up feeling like the elements of the game were stretched to their limit to get that effect. On the other hand, I still believe it to be a very playable mod and those issues I note are mostly able to be overlooked with a little effort.

WOEaintME says
7 WOEaintME

Dec 17th, 2012 7 people agree 3 people don't

Great mod visually but the scale is a bit off. The gravity wells feel too large for the ships and the ranges of ships doesn't allow the beauty of multiple models to be seen at once which significantly reduces my enjoyment.

Technically well done but as mentioned, personally, enjoyment is lacking which is what gaming is all about.

Steeps5 says
10 Steeps5

Dec 13th, 2010 7 people agree 3 people don't

This mod is really awesome!!

TrooperFox says
6 TrooperFox

Dec 29th, 2012 6 people agree 3 people don't

I have to rate this a six. While I have been waiting for a SOASE mod based in the Star Wars universe, this one fails in some fundamental ways, drawing away from the base economic structure of Sins, and for little to no reason.

-Asteroid and planetary populations are low, but the tax rates remain the same, meaning the more planets you have under your control, the less tax income you have. This does not translate well from the Sins system, as planetary populations should (at the very least), not handicap your credit income, and at most, give you a reason to hold onto systems, and their populations.

-Far, far too many asteroid mines. I've counted as much as 13 mining stations in some gravity wells, with the standard .6-.7 rates for each one, leading to a huge influx of resources early on, which in my opinion, stems your reasons for expansion, as you could keep a small, clustered group of systems and have all the resources you need.

-The scale of battles is not indicative of the star wars universe. Look at the Battle of Naboo, Yavin, Coruscant, any large 'naval' battle had precious few large ships, and mostly fighters, you will not find a battle with 48 star destroyers versus dozens of other ships. The scale of ship battles in vanilla rebellion (One titan, a dozen or less capitals, a few dozen corvettes) would be perfectly set for a 'realistic' Star Wars conflict.

The scale of the ships is, as some other reviewers have mentioned, also a problem. If we are willing to suspend the disbelief of the resource income, we can suspend the disbelief of the scale of a planetary system. I would have much rather liked to see large capital ships crusing slowly through a plantary system than small blips and icons floating around.

In closing, the ship models, visual effects, 'lore' based research text, and sound effects are very nice in this modification, but the fundamental lack of understanding of the game's basic resource, ship and economic mechanics leave much to be desired.

blarkkk says
10 blarkkk

Feb 7th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's simply just amazing

mikey1871 says
10 mikey1871

Nov 7th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

excellent mod, gets updated very fast.... very good thing too. stability is pretty great too. the 500+ planet map is awesome also. just so wish dumb 2G ram problem would go away, but i know we have to wait for the game to be written in 64 bit format as SINS 2

HTRK74JR says
6 HTRK74JR

Dec 29th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

Unit size, too small. Cost for the basic ships? Too high. Epic fights? once again size plays a factor, and since theyre so small they have limited guns compared to vanilla. research? Be done with it in an hour in all fields, easy.

gundam_pheonix says
8 gundam_pheonix

Dec 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its good and all, but it definately has some bugs to work out. amazing so far though.

benstamon says
10 benstamon

Mar 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game has been turned around in such a way that in playing the original game, I am doing myself a disservice. This mod is absolutely necessary to play a full game of Sins.

TheRisingFlame says
10 TheRisingFlame

Mar 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod has every faction I've ever wanted to play as in a Star Wars game, the models and textures are amazing, the sounds are magnificent, the effects are awesome, do I really need to go on, it's everything Star Wars has to offer in a neat free little package, and the fun is doubled for every person you have in the game.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

335 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.