SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and, with or without, all DLC. Rated #6 player's choice in MOTY 2014.

RSS feed OseronPhaer says
7 OseronPhaer

Feb 17th, 2012 31 people agree 8 people don't

I have to give it a seven. While the mod most certainly looks nice, it's scale, both visually and gameplay-wise, doesn't work well in Sins. All costs have been increased and so has resource collection, but they feel harder to control as a result. As for the appearance, all the systems appear to have been scaled up in size and the ships scaled down. I would have preferred the game to have more of a vanilla Sins feel than it has now because it makes you feel more involved when you can see your ships without having to zoom in nearly all of the way. Also, ships feel too fast, at least from a game play perspective.

It seems like a lot of these elements were made to be more reflective of the scale of the Star Wars universe, but it ends up feeling like the elements of the game were stretched to their limit to get that effect. On the other hand, I still believe it to be a very playable mod and those issues I note are mostly able to be overlooked with a little effort.

biwot says
9 biwot

Oct 10th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

So far, it is the best Star Wars mod for Rebellion to date, and possibly the best mod period. The only reason for me to give it less than a 10 is because of inevitable RAM lag this game suffers. If there is one thing people love is large fleet battles, and unfortunately it is not possible after certain amount of time.

Other than that, this mod is brilliant. Great directions on how to install, looks great, runs smooth (when not overrun with RAM), and sounds just as amazing.

Steeps5 says
10 Steeps5

Dec 13th, 2010 10 people agree 5 people don't

This mod is really awesome!!

WOEaintME says
7 WOEaintME

Dec 17th, 2012 11 people agree 6 people don't

Great mod visually but the scale is a bit off. The gravity wells feel too large for the ships and the ranges of ships doesn't allow the beauty of multiple models to be seen at once which significantly reduces my enjoyment.

Technically well done but as mentioned, personally, enjoyment is lacking which is what gaming is all about.

TrooperFox says
6 TrooperFox

Dec 29th, 2012 12 people agree 7 people don't

I have to rate this a six. While I have been waiting for a SOASE mod based in the Star Wars universe, this one fails in some fundamental ways, drawing away from the base economic structure of Sins, and for little to no reason.

-Asteroid and planetary populations are low, but the tax rates remain the same, meaning the more planets you have under your control, the less tax income you have. This does not translate well from the Sins system, as planetary populations should (at the very least), not handicap your credit income, and at most, give you a reason to hold onto systems, and their populations.

-Far, far too many asteroid mines. I've counted as much as 13 mining stations in some gravity wells, with the standard .6-.7 rates for each one, leading to a huge influx of resources early on, which in my opinion, stems your reasons for expansion, as you could keep a small, clustered group of systems and have all the resources you need.

-The scale of battles is not indicative of the star wars universe. Look at the Battle of Naboo, Yavin, Coruscant, any large 'naval' battle had precious few large ships, and mostly fighters, you will not find a battle with 48 star destroyers versus dozens of other ships. The scale of ship battles in vanilla rebellion (One titan, a dozen or less capitals, a few dozen corvettes) would be perfectly set for a 'realistic' Star Wars conflict.

The scale of the ships is, as some other reviewers have mentioned, also a problem. If we are willing to suspend the disbelief of the resource income, we can suspend the disbelief of the scale of a planetary system. I would have much rather liked to see large capital ships crusing slowly through a plantary system than small blips and icons floating around.

In closing, the ship models, visual effects, 'lore' based research text, and sound effects are very nice in this modification, but the fundamental lack of understanding of the game's basic resource, ship and economic mechanics leave much to be desired.

CagiVasu says
3 CagiVasu

Jan 28th, 2014 6 people agree 4 people don't

The ships look glorious, but all we needed was few tweaks to the game mechanics, not a complete overhaul (which has subsequently nearly broken the game). The economy is quite frustrating. I don't even see the point in the changes. The vanilla game has a really well balanced economy, not one where I have an infinite supply on one thing and the tiniest trickle of another. Bring back fleet supply and command to what it was, bring back the same income and distribution of the original asteroids, and this game would be an easy 7.5.

What is the point of all those lovely models if you use are using a realistic scale? I know planets are not the size of beach balls like in the vanilla game, but I want to play Star Wars Sins, not a bad version of Sins where I just move my coloured dots around will have to take your word for it that they are star wars ships. In the vanilla game the ship scales were not entirely realistic, but they achieved a perfect balance between having satisfyingly visible ships to keeping space large feeling. Think of each planet and ship as a representation of a planet or ship, not the planet itself. I just want to be able to zoom in and see a star destroyer take on a few Mon Cal cruisers, not see my ships firing off into empty space because everything is so damned far away.

This mod was made by some great modelers and artist, but its core design is lacking.

For me to play this game and enjoy it it needs to take a few GIANT steps closer to vanilla Sins.

EDIT: I created an account on here just for this review because I believe this mod has great potential. Listen to you critics, not the fanboys.

Orion9212 says
9 Orion9212

Jul 25th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Absolutely amazing mod. Been playing it since it was release and loved it every time I played it.

Only one thing that bothered me that made this a 9/10: Other Sins mods, such as Star trek Armada, show ship wreckage during battles which adds to the feel of the gameplay. And I have seen many ship graveyards in my time on those mods :D
If the modders for Galactic could implement this feature into this mod, this would certainly take it to a 10/10 in my books!


BobMcBobJr says
7 BobMcBobJr

Jun 21st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

-Models are well crafted
-Size is canon
-Well balanced
-large ships are too fast (put them on slow and they are the same speed as the fighters)
-fighters are too slow
-not enough fighters (more could cause sins to crash though)
-size makes ships difficult to see
-asteroid shipyard has 104 logistics slots???
-The excess ability points bugs me
-600 scout frigates crash the game

Booster101 says
1 Booster101

Jun 8th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

- Ship scale is too small (well, it's great they are smaller than in vanilla but the zoom system doesn't work that way. I simply can't enjoy the fights )
- Fire range (If you have to zoom in to see your ships you can't give them incredible fire range...the player has to readjust the camera the whole time to see the battle)
- Mining Asteroids (far too many, that's all)
- Balancing...i just want stronger lucrehulks ^^

At last - question to the developers:

Do you even have a clue of the engine restrictions? The hugest map (SW free for all~550 planets) doesn't load at all and playing with high cap and a big map, it starts to lag after an hour.
I'd reeeeally love to play with such huge armies but it's simply not possible in that game :/

6,5 of 10, nice mod, needs really adjustments to be enjoyable

garsterj says
7 garsterj

Mar 31st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't


Community Rating



482 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.