Titan: XCIX is a first person adventure that takes place aboard the ill fated star ship of the same name. When an accident rips apart a lone ship on a routine mission, the crew find themselves fighting for survival, and each other in a unique Single Player experience, that's been in the making for the past two years. Developed single handedly by Robin "IZaNaGI" Molde (Jailbreak!: Source, Survival Mod II for JK:JA), Players will face many challenges that will test their brains rather than their trigger fingers. Requires Half-Life 2: Episode Two

Review RSS Feed jjawinte says
8 jjawinte

Sep 12th, 2011 8 people agree 0 people don't

Quite an interesting piece of work here. Titan: XCIX has a well written classic Sci-Fy genre story-line, well constructed and visually artistic ( nice work on the text also btw ). A refreshing change of pace HL2 mod.

"...Players will face many challenges that will test their brains rather than their trigger fingers..."

That being said; I'm a big Sci-Fi fan ( hell, I'm playing Deus Ex again right now ), so I can appreciate the mod more in the sense of it's entertainment strength being more in the story to be experienced than in a steady series of combat challenges. I can see why the classic HL2 mod player would be disappointed. Very well done IZaNaGi. I'd like to see more work from you in the future !

MartyrT says
10 MartyrT

Sep 10th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

I can tell that the creators put a lot of effort into this. The graphics and lighting are amazing, stretching the Source engine to its limits. The gameplay and puzzles are just challenging enough to not be downright frustrating. The voice acting is superb for such a small, non-professional cast.

The only real con that I can think of is the short playtime. Thankfully, this is "episode one", so we can be sure that there will be more Titan XCIX to come.

brodix1 says
10 brodix1

Nov 15th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

This mod should be considered a game by itself. All it needs is some polishing up.

C-zom says
7 C-zom

Sep 11th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Titan is an interesting idea in a relatively unique setting as far as source mods go. While the story is honestly sparce and seems to be delivered in a slow burn setting, it still holds water overall with it's consistent approach to it's universe and setting, as well as keeping most things a mystery--something that I appreciate in an era of tell-all Sci Fi openings, both in games and in shows/movies.

Very interesting art direction as it reminds me of a first person (and sometimes third or “Directed” in cutscenes) Sins of a Solar Empire. The red and yawning vistas of the vaults of space, the ship architecture, the color pallete and choice of clothing–its all very TEC-esque from that gameworld and its an aesthetic I like quite a lot.

When dealing with science fiction I’m afraid characters are, far and away, the most important part of the story with the extended mythos of the universe taking second place. This formula has been tried and true by countless titles, all the way from Mass Effect to Cowboy Bebop to even Firefly. Not comparing Titan to these titles, of course, but merely corelating my point with some evidence that, indeed, character writing should be first place by a long mile. With that pretext behind me, I feel like character writing is the weakest point of Titan so far. I did not connect to any of the cast, yet, but a few of them look to grab my interest down the road as the project--and story--fleshes out.

I can’t really say much here one way or the other, this feels like a micro teaser for whats to come and was only under an hour long. Titan holds an interesting premise but so far I cannot say it fully lives up or not. I think this part was a little too short. The lead dev must look forward to hard work and polish if the other parts will suffice for science fiction fans and as a project of this magnitude.

It is worth noting, the lead developer is both respectful and talented, I was shocked to find this was a solo project. My applaud to that.

xXBluRXx says
10 xXBluRXx

Sep 10th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome, fun, inventive and a whole new look to the Source Engine, I highly recommend playing this mod. Brilliant! :)

ADTeam™ says
10 ADTeam™

Sep 10th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Sweet jesus this is really awesome!!!

Stormsoldat says
10 Stormsoldat

Sep 18th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

That was great, can't wait for more

Jokerme says
9 Jokerme

Sep 10th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Quite interesting and obviously the creator put lots of effort into this. Pretty cool sci-fi fun. Recommended.

Null-Entity says
9 Null-Entity

Sep 11th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Pros'

Great concept/art direction/stable/varied (in and out of the ship sections with some great attention to detai).

Cons'

Voice acting for about half of the characters/Lengh of conversations with nothing to hold your intrest on that NPC as they just stand still blurting it out, a few little sections that should really have been player controled (for example the small fire fight, your waiting to be given control and it all goes on without you).

The one thing I would chance would be to get someone in to add animations for the NPC's to complete the visuals as they stand out against the lovingly crafted maps/textures/sounds.

All in all great stuff, cant wait for number 2!

Mr.Walrus says
10 Mr.Walrus

Sep 11th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

A really fantastic sci-fi mod, one of the best HL2 modifications I've ever played.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

328 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.