Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed Mxthe says
10 Mxthe

Feb 22nd, 2011 20 people agree 5 people don't

Mod stands for Modification, either it is a Single Player Story modification a Multiplayer Modification or an improvement what so ever to the original game that fills more than one category (level design, texture, sound and models).

Other wise it would be call a texture pack, map pack, model pack ect...

But to actually re-imagine, re-make and re-mix elements to give a new fresh look and feel to an already existing game is no easy task.

The models in CINEMATIC MOD are simply the best models in terms of quality and realism that there are today, with the exception of the CRYSIS games.

That one person, is actually competing with a Video Game company in terms of overall graphic quality, is simply astonishing.

You might like, or not like the actual new feel and look of CINEMATIC MOD, but either way one thing cannot be criticized, the quality of work put into this mod.

From a designer's perspective, I give it an absolute 10 !

From a gamer's perspective, I also give it a 10, simply because I personally enjoy this new feel, look and sound for Half Life 2.

I do not think it is better or worse, but simply different and fresh, to me Half Life 2 remains one of the best games ever made, but this is Cinematic Mod for Half Life 2, and it's exactly what it feels like, a Cinematic Experience.

Redfed0 says
10 Redfed0

Jan 13th, 2011 15 people agree 6 people don't

The characters are beautiful. The mapping is gorgeous. The only quarry I have are the iron sights. Could use a more COD feeling. Other than that, absolutely brilliant.

medve says
9 medve

Jan 16th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

every girl has time to wear a proper makeup in the middle of the combine war

LeonelC says
1 LeonelC

Mar 27th, 2014 6 people agree 2 people don't

HNNNNG MUH WAIFU ALYS VANZ I CANT FAP TO DIS HNNGGG MUH WAIFUUUU -74/111 WURST MOD EVUR TOOK AWAY MUH WAIFU NO MOAR FAP TO MEH HHNGGG

HopeLessCatE says
10 HopeLessCatE

Aug 6th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Very good Half-Life 2 remake.

freeman2001 says
10 freeman2001

Mar 2nd, 2014 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

EDIT: Let me clarify, this is a GOOD REVIEW. Don't take the thing at the beginning as a bad review!

Essentially...
"DUDE THIS MOD IS TERRIBLE EVERYTHING LOOKS DIFFERENT AND STUFF!!!!!!!!!! THE WHOLE REASON IT IS SO BAD IS THAT IT IS SO GOOD!!!!!!!"
Basically, that's what all the idiots who think they rule the Internet are saying. Every SINGLE reason that a bunch of people hate it are the reasons that I love it. Just go read some of the 1/10 reviews and you'll see what I mean. Just PLEASE, the Internet has enough people flaming about how stupid and terrible things are, just like the news channel. We don't need ANY MORE of this stuff, so just stop. Also, someone seems to think that changing the game's maps to make it look better has nothing to do with "remaking HL2 with new graphics." I'm not going to tell you who, but their username initials are MF. So please, if you think the mod looks nice, clear out a nice 45 GB space on your hard disk for it, and hit download.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 17th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Just great. The mods to characters won't be to everybody's taste, but as for the graphics quality, it doesn't get much better because there is no competition.

MushroomCloudGaming says
9 MushroomCloudGaming

Dec 31st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Visually stunning with fantastic anamorphic lense flare effects found in games such as Battlefield 4 as well as a dark ambience evoking a STALKER like feel. Most of the male and combine models are great as are the weapon models. It also runs at 100fps + on my I5 3470 650GTX TI 8gb pc and also loads much faster then most mods of this size found in other games. The mod is also very easy to install and has several customizable features, such as Enabling the orchestral score that this mod has to offer or disabling Sweet.

The only reason I do not rate this a full 10/10 are a few bugbears I have, which include:

1) Altering the core gameplay (I.e: Movement speed, Slower Crowbar and a realistic sprint animation). I feel these detract from the fast paced nature of Half life 2 and serve only as a hindrance other then anything else.

2) (THESE ARE OPTIONAL) The female HD models, especially Alex Vance look like a bunch of barbie doll latino prostitutes out of an Anime.While the actual work on the models is fantastic, they are a jarring contrast to the dystopian world the author has conceived. Also The Pulse rifle is just an MP5 with a holo sight on it.

3) There are a few minor bugs such as blood not appearing, obstructions caused from alterations in the level and the occasional texture glitch.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to any HL2 fan regardless of these grievances as they are probably fixable with some sort of cfg file, and the HD Models are optional anyway.

(Notes: This mod is enormousness, 9.6gb compressed 36.8gb uncompressed, but given the ridiculous texture quality, I would say its well worth it)

Maestro_Fenix says
1 Maestro_Fenix

Dec 1st, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't

FF mod forgot completely their mission: Remake HL2 with new graphics.

It was doing it well on the first versions, until it started to do weird things to the maps and characters.

Now, is like if it not longer tried to be a decent mod: The ambient is now completely different from the HL2 feeling, is full of props which their placement has no sense, their characters not longer respects the original aspect (for not say the quality of some models, both ugly and terrible), music that it doesn't fit, and much more...

TheZealot says
1 TheZealot

Feb 18th, 2013 6 people agree 5 people don't

This ought to be renamed "Fakefactory's Pornographic Mod" because that is exactly what this is. The dirty 40something year old man who made this seems to have a peculiar obsession with Alyx and Adriana Lima, as with every iteration of this mod Alyx is turned even sluttier than in the previous version, and is guaranteed to have the face of Lima to complete the sluttiness. And not only was Alyx affected, Mossman and the female citizens/rebels also were "enhanced" by Fakefactory's definition. They have all been turned into some kind of street tramps. Basically, all of the women in this mod look like they were designed by a socially awkward 14 year old with a hormone-infested mind. And the male characters don't look much better either. They all had ****** "enhancements" that make them all look extremely out of place with the Half-Life 2 universe, and some of them look completely retarded. Also, this mod adds ironsights, possibly to cater to the COD fanboys who don't turn away from HL2 the second they see it. Why don't more people realize that ironsights are cliche as **** and done to death? Basically the only redeeming value of this mod is that the mapping is very well-done, and it must have taken a while to get the maps back in working condition after decompiling them; but even then, the god awful character models in the "full experience" completely nullify anything good that this mod has to offer.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

378 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.