Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed Mxthe says
10 Mxthe

Feb 22nd, 2011 21 people agree 7 people don't

Mod stands for Modification, either it is a Single Player Story modification a Multiplayer Modification or an improvement what so ever to the original game that fills more than one category (level design, texture, sound and models).

Other wise it would be call a texture pack, map pack, model pack ect...

But to actually re-imagine, re-make and re-mix elements to give a new fresh look and feel to an already existing game is no easy task.

The models in CINEMATIC MOD are simply the best models in terms of quality and realism that there are today, with the exception of the CRYSIS games.

That one person, is actually competing with a Video Game company in terms of overall graphic quality, is simply astonishing.

You might like, or not like the actual new feel and look of CINEMATIC MOD, but either way one thing cannot be criticized, the quality of work put into this mod.

From a designer's perspective, I give it an absolute 10 !

From a gamer's perspective, I also give it a 10, simply because I personally enjoy this new feel, look and sound for Half Life 2.

I do not think it is better or worse, but simply different and fresh, to me Half Life 2 remains one of the best games ever made, but this is Cinematic Mod for Half Life 2, and it's exactly what it feels like, a Cinematic Experience.

Redfed0 says
10 Redfed0

Jan 13th, 2011 16 people agree 8 people don't

The characters are beautiful. The mapping is gorgeous. The only quarry I have are the iron sights. Could use a more COD feeling. Other than that, absolutely brilliant.

medve says
9 medve

Jan 16th, 2013 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

every girl has time to wear a proper makeup in the middle of the combine war

LeonelC says
1 LeonelC

Mar 27th, 2014 7 people agree 3 people don't

HNNNNG MUH WAIFU ALYS VANZ I CANT FAP TO DIS HNNGGG MUH WAIFUUUU -74/111 WURST MOD EVUR TOOK AWAY MUH WAIFU NO MOAR FAP TO MEH HHNGGG

HopeLessCatE says
10 HopeLessCatE

Aug 6th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very good Half-Life 2 remake.

freeman2001 says
10 freeman2001

Mar 2nd, 2014 5 people agree 2 people don't

EDIT: Let me clarify, this is a GOOD REVIEW. Don't take the thing at the beginning as a bad review!

Essentially...
"DUDE THIS MOD IS TERRIBLE EVERYTHING LOOKS DIFFERENT AND STUFF!!!!!!!!!! THE WHOLE REASON IT IS SO BAD IS THAT IT IS SO GOOD!!!!!!!"
Basically, that's what all the idiots who think they rule the Internet are saying. Every SINGLE reason that a bunch of people hate it are the reasons that I love it. Just go read some of the 1/10 reviews and you'll see what I mean. Just PLEASE, the Internet has enough people flaming about how stupid and terrible things are, just like the news channel. We don't need ANY MORE of this stuff, so just stop. Also, someone seems to think that changing the game's maps to make it look better has nothing to do with "remaking HL2 with new graphics." I'm not going to tell you who, but their username initials are MF. So please, if you think the mod looks nice, clear out a nice 45 GB space on your hard disk for it, and hit download.

MushroomCloudGaming says
9 MushroomCloudGaming

Dec 31st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Visually stunning with fantastic anamorphic lense flare effects found in games such as Battlefield 4 as well as a dark ambience evoking a STALKER like feel. Most of the male and combine models are great as are the weapon models. It also runs at 100fps + on my I5 3470 650GTX TI 8gb pc and also loads much faster then most mods of this size found in other games. The mod is also very easy to install and has several customizable features, such as Enabling the orchestral score that this mod has to offer or disabling Sweet.

The only reason I do not rate this a full 10/10 are a few bugbears I have, which include:

1) Altering the core gameplay (I.e: Movement speed, Slower Crowbar and a realistic sprint animation). I feel these detract from the fast paced nature of Half life 2 and serve only as a hindrance other then anything else.

2) (THESE ARE OPTIONAL) The female HD models, especially Alex Vance look like a bunch of barbie doll latino prostitutes out of an Anime.While the actual work on the models is fantastic, they are a jarring contrast to the dystopian world the author has conceived. Also The Pulse rifle is just an MP5 with a holo sight on it.

3) There are a few minor bugs such as blood not appearing, obstructions caused from alterations in the level and the occasional texture glitch.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to any HL2 fan regardless of these grievances as they are probably fixable with some sort of cfg file, and the HD Models are optional anyway.

(Notes: This mod is enormousness, 9.6gb compressed 36.8gb uncompressed, but given the ridiculous texture quality, I would say its well worth it)

nashathedog says
10 nashathedog

Nov 19th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Outstanding work, Well done guy's, The only thing left to say is: Thankyou for making me still want to play this game in 2014. It's a masterpiece.

DahrRu says
9 DahrRu

Aug 7th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Here I will talk about the advantages and possible for someone disadvantages of Cinematic Mod. What let's begin. Cinematic Mod 12 - this is a remake of the game Half-Life 2 and its episodes from the German team FakeFactory changing the graphics component of the game, adding a modern graphics for games sample of 2004. It does not change the storyline, the developers added to the world of Half-Life greater gray tones and details, but the main advantage of not graphics, and game of light and shadows, as with their help, they always manage to make **** - candy, it all looks so elegant that you can put Cinematic Mod in one line with Battlefield in detail, although maybe I am exaggerating. It is visible that the guys really tried and their efforts were not in vain. Many do not like this mod and for good reason: the fact that in addition to playing the mod folder can be found thing called Character Pimper, he changes the skin of the characters in the game. You can choose other models of combines, insurgents or other characters, but for Alyx there is a separate "shelf", which from the frantic number of skins to choose any for every situation in the game where we meet with her and the reason Butthead are these skins and indeed on some skins at Alyx and in the truth face like a monkey *** that can not hurt, but there are pretty good, nice models, the gameplay is also suffered changes for example now have the option of targeting from sight for the RMB, Alt ERN fire now on MMB. One of the things that pleased me is improved artificial intelligence, now you will not be able just to kick out the work on a bullet-impenetrable rebels, now they are same mortals like normal people, and in addition to that, harvesters now working as a real spetsnaz! To me personally this mod like, though some things upset me but I, I can put this fashion assessment 9/10, because all he really stands.

GAMIR_GTA says
10 GAMIR_GTA

Jun 30th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Convert Half-life 2 intro a Movie in 3D

PD: I recomend to play black mesa source, after play HL2 with cinematic mod and enyoy the HD experience, if you dont want HD models put the old ones.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

378 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.