Gekokujo is a mod for Mount and Blade Warband set in the Sengoku period of Japan. The name is a term often translated as "the low-ranked taking over from the high" and was chosen because it was a running theme during that era: Oda Nobunaga descended from a clan of deputies to the nominal governor of their province, but the Oda usurped them and toppled their neighbors; Toyotomi Hideyoshi began his career as a cook and sandal bearer and ended up the ruler of Japan; Tokugawa Ieyasu was an upstart who probably fabricated a claim of descent from the Minamoto clan--the only ones allowed to be granted the title of Shogun. As a player of Gekokujo, you will start from nothing and attempt to gain control of the entire country, making the title fitting.

Review RSS Feed Commander_Synn says
10 Commander_Synn

Apr 24th, 2013 19 people agree 0 people don't

Why did I only hear about this mod now""
A really great mod, with many good features,
Anyone who like Japanese historical warefare(Samurai) should get this"!

ares512 says
10 ares512

Apr 23rd, 2013 14 people agree 2 people don't

After playing this mod for a few hours, I must say there's lots of effort on the details- such as katana animations, and text dialogs of named NPC characters and the unit upgrade tree. The mod is like playing Shogun Total War in M&B style, the clans are all here and their units have their respective skins.

ImBenJones says
10 ImBenJones

Apr 25th, 2013 8 people agree 0 people don't

It made me write a review... I can't be bothered writing a review... So there it is... 10!

FI2_Dev_Tak says
10 FI2_Dev_Tak

Apr 23rd, 2013 7 people agree 0 people don't

you are one of the most gernerous modders i have ever seen

yashasvi2 says
10 yashasvi2

May 23rd, 2013 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

the best

Oplindenfep says
10 Oplindenfep

Aug 10th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

Me gusta.

Craest says
10 Craest

Jul 18th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

Well Cheers for such a grand MOD!!

My reason behind giving 10/10 is simple.

The Game was overhauled and improved significantly, though there are still missing ingredients to make even even more interesting.. But its already perfect in such a sense that, it works 100% and is very very enjoyable!!!!!!!

STOKK-E says
10 STOKK-E

Apr 30th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

Most awesome samurai mod ever.

Shadowuzi says
10 Shadowuzi

Sep 10th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Most badass and accurate mod of the Sengoku period I've seen. Not that many variety in units(cept in name) but hell everything else makes up for the sheer monstrosity this mod is. However I think the other lord's armies could use a bit more Calvary units their armies because literally I just had all my retainers in my army be upgraded to Mounted units and they would literally steamroll the enemy and I had it on hard difficulty (sieging a castle a different matter but once ya have a crapload of Elite Nagintana monks and elite gunners and archers enemy is screwed either way).

ninjaace2012 says
10 ninjaace2012

Oct 13th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I love this mod so much, thank you for making this, I hope a small unique faction like the iga ninja clan is added so you can fight against the Oda Samurai for the defence of your territory. It would be so awesome! Since I'm too new, this site won't allow me to rate a 10 :(.

update:
now I can rate a 10 >:D

Community Rating

Average

9.5

220 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.