Fast pace cellshading flying action. Soar the skies as you take on the most vicious enemies above the ground. Experience an airborne adventure in an all new art style that will take you to something different and exciting. With the possibility to add just about anything you can imagine into the game, the sky it's not the limit. It's just the beginning.

Review RSS Feed Wheaton_Adams says
10 Wheaton_Adams

Jun 26th, 2012 13 people agree 1 person doesn't

I am sorry I couldn't give it a 10/10 out of euphoria; but this is still an alpha; I am glad that such a ace combat pandora box has been opened; i was very pleased, really; and the only reason i cannot be more precise is the state of advanced sleep deprivation my brain is suffering from.

The musics seem sometimes to be out of place and we can barely see what the entire game will be; but...... This is a godlike game. Really. I have never been so hooked on a game this "young" since years. Not even Metal Gear Solid HD did it so fast. Wonderful work, TimeSymmetry, you made several dreams come real. Thank you.

Hazawa says
10 Hazawa

Jun 27th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

If you hate Hawx and want an Ace Combat Game on your computer, then get Vector Thrust.

Alpha Version, but already a good game.

NoZoner says
10 NoZoner

Sep 11th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Vector Thrust is a ballin' title in the atmospheric combat arcade flight game sub-sub-sub-genre. It is difficult for me review this game in contiguous paragraphs, so I will make lists instead.

The good:
+ The mix between arcade and realism mechanics is refreshing
+ It's going to test your situational awareness and your ability to gain the upper hand against your opponent as much as it tests raw skill without having a terribly steep learning curve
+ Features a large (and still expanding) collection of aircraft, ground vehicles, and weaponry
+ Great modding support
+ Cel shaded graphics work very nicely for this game and makes it stand out amongst the crowd (which thinks poop filters can make anything look good, strangely enough)
+ Did I mention that (at the time of this review) it's still in alpha? Even with what the developer has achieved so far there's still loads of potential for this game.

The bad:
- The AI could be better (The problems are marginal and I'm sure this will be addressed as development continues)
- Menus could use more polish (I'm sure improvements will come in time for menus as well. This isn't even all that much of a con because they still look nice and function as they should, with a few exceptions.)
- It doesn't cook my meals for me
- ???

I am hard pressed to find bad things to talk about this game. Even if there were more problems there's a plethora of time between now and the full release for these things to be addressed and polished. Timesymmetry has done an awesome job so far and one can only look forward for the things to come in this game's bright future.

Final verdict (AKA tl;dr): This is a great game with incredible potential. It's fast-paced, fun, has a nice balance between arcade and realism, looks great, and is relatively easy to pick up and play. If you're interested in getting a flight combat game and you're a fan of the Ace Combat series, Vector Thrust is definitely worth your time and interest.

Mtrooper says
9 Mtrooper

Jun 28th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Vector Thurst managed to impress and leave a good impression quickly. The controls take some adjusting to but are intuitive and effective. As it is an Alpha, I was not expecting altogether much content- and I was (for better or worse) not surprised. There is only one campaign and a survival mode in the alpha, but they were fun and challenging. I won't critisize the lack of content at the moment since it is only day 2, but some generalities that I can comment on focus mostly on the sound.

First, the music. I know that indie developers do not have access to an orchestra or professional synthesizers, but the music right now is highly repetitive and uninteresting. Furthermore, I hope that some of the ingame sounds, especially the missile lock-on tone, are tweaked to sound more viceral and realistic. The missile, cannon, and engine sounds are very good already, but the explosions could use some extra attention.

I encountered some glitches (including a looping mission 2 and lack of ability to save sound setting changes), but knowing it is alpha, I don't feel that I can really count it against the developers.

What most impressed me about the game was its style- the cell-shaded models and environments look great and very unique. The models are also excellent, and the AI and physics are spot on. It feels great to play with mouse and keyboard (after adjusting to it).
I eagerly await new updates to this excellent game.

phoenix88188 says
10 phoenix88188

Jun 9th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

This game is essentially Ace Combat on the PC, something I have been waiting for for many a year. The art style is distinctive and clean with high quality textures and lighting effects, however what really sold it for me was the potential for modding; I can't wait to see the planes and weapons that both Time-symmetry modders alike put into the game, so far this is the only game I have been interested enough in to buy whilst still in alpha. Great job Time-Symmetry keep up the good work, looking forward to future updates.

XN-Sigma says
10 XN-Sigma

Jul 8th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

At first I wasn't sure I should get this game, but I decided to get it anyway and I'm glad I did, the level of customization is so high and EASY to do that I was already modding the game 5 minutes after downloading without any help, this alone makes it worth. You can mod absolutely everything, from the models to the hud to the music and sounds to the campains, everything.

The controls are great too, feels very smooth and polished already and it's just the alpha version!

Also, gameplay wise, the game can be extremely challenging during some missions, which is great.

10/10! :D

Corax06 says
9 Corax06

Jun 28th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

That game is awesome! And it's just a Alpha! The game can be modded entirely, from simple sound to missions and planes! What else? There are just some tweaks to do like change some sounds (alert missile, weapon change), or description for planes/weapons (but i think that come from that version is a Alpha). Great job!

Astor says
10 Astor

Oct 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Reminds me of games like Ace Combat and Deadly Skies, I loved them.

The customization and amount of aircraft is great, keep up the great work so far. This is a must have for me!

thatguywiththeshovel says
10 thatguywiththeshovel

Jun 23rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

After the disappointment that was AC:AH, this is exactly the game I needed to scratch that nostalgic Ace Combat rash.

The game is still in Alpha, but even so, this game shows tremendous potential as a PC equivalent of Ace Combat, and also as a platform to showcase many peoples modding skills. The cell shaded art style is a refreshing change from Sir Grittygrey McLightbloom, and everything is very visually appealing as a result.

The jets handle beautifully, and are all richly detailed, with a nice assortment of weapons for choice.

It's not a bug free game, (Like I said, it's still in Alpha), like certain functions causing the game to crash to Desktop, and crashing in game, but I'm willing to overlook all of those by its early stage in development.

Overall, an excellent game that I recommend to any fan of Arcade Flight Sims.

Fighterman says
10 Fighterman

Nov 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I gave it a 10 because of its aircraft list:

F-15J Kai Plus / Improved "Eagle Plus", F-16 FSW, P-42, XF-104...

OMG

I never thought there would come a day when I can fly all these concept/prototype/fictional aircraft in a flight shooting game.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

172 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.