The Worry of Newport is a two part Horror/Mystery built upon Crysis 1. It is an interactive narrative and story built upon the first person perspective around immersion, story, and atmosphere.

Review RSS Feed Igloogreenhouse says
8 Igloogreenhouse

Jan 25th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I played this mod through in one go, and reviewed it as an "8" heres why.
The install instructions were incomplete, so that was a bit annoying. The mod itself, however, once it works, is great. story's excellently written, well designed levels, except for the fact that it was easy to wander out of rendered zones, etc.
I found the game to be genuinely scary at times, HOWEVER, there were parts that ticked me off, in particular the slow walking cut scenes, (Why???) and the unskippable french lady books. (WHYYYYYY??) Minor complaints though.
I'd love to see more stuff like this, but please...don't grab the controls away from the character every five seconds, that's NOT good design philosophy.
Great job though.

Sclera says
9 Sclera

Mar 31st, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

bricks were shat

bobsbarricades says
10 bobsbarricades

Jan 15th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

I would say this was a great exploration in narrative. The setting was superb, and it almost felt like playing a book. It was a great experience for me, and I'd love to see this story fleshed out. I was a little confused by what was going on, in a similar way as what happened in the beginning if Penumbra:Overature. A bit too much reading in the first part and a bit too hard to follow in the second but I hope to see more games like this (inspired by Dear Esther?) in the future!

Great work!

medve says
10 medve

Feb 17th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

art

ShadowFaIIs says
10 ShadowFaIIs

Sep 23rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Amazing atmosphere and story!

Megalolpronoob says
10 Megalolpronoob

Jun 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The best!

ltegg says
10 ltegg

May 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Wow. Just wow. It takes a good few hours (or, it took ME that long), but it's so worth it.

I did find it easy to get lost in the storyline, a journal of sorts, so you can keep track of all the books/dialogues, would be cool.

But otherwise, one of the best games (i've promoted it from 'mod') I've played in a while.

Bravo!

Angerfist219 says
9 Angerfist219

Oct 8th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A few small bugs aside, this mod is very immersive and great for any fan of HP Lovecraft.

Taraska says
10 Taraska

Sep 24th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Just played part1 and it was so good i cant put it t words. I installed crysis again for just this mod and im really glad i did. Off to play part 2

Dr.Doozer says
10 Dr.Doozer

Sep 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great narrative mod. One of the few I can say gripped me on the concept alone. Well-executed mapping, if not a few minor glitches, which are always present in any map, especially in CryEngine2. Voice acting was better than what I could have done for this mod's purpose. I definitely will be downloading Part 2 in due time.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

82 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.