Stargate Space Conflict is a mod developed & published by Phoenix Interactive wich aims to recreate the universe of the Stargate Franchise into Homeworld2

Review RSS Feed Aliah says
3 Aliah

Nov 29th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The mod is uninspired and unoriginal. The updates created by the mod team are often hollow pictures re-done in Photoshop so the mod can be placed at the top of ModDB listing more often, ahead of many times, better Homeworld 2 mods.
Actual game-play from the mod is heavily bug-filled, textures are low quality, maps often have 'fake resource asteroids' to frustrate gameplay, English translations are pretty much French poorly-translated into Engrish. Most of their maps and materials are cannibalized from other mods(Star Wars Warlords, Star Trek Continuum, Battlestar Galactica), the interface ingame is dark and cluttered, being almost unreadable on the even darker maps contained in the mod.
A single good thing is that the AI attacks and moves aggressively, and seems to know what it's doing, but since so much is taken from other mods, I have to wonder if that's not entirely original work.
Once the novelty of playing with Stargate ships wears off, there's not much left to lift the mod up over its much-better peers such as Star Trek Continuum(and I'm not even a fan of Star Trek), Path to Victory, or even against older mods like Star Wars Warlords.
This is what happens when you try to turn the modding scene into Electronic Arts strategy sessions.

880Zero says
3 880Zero

Nov 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Quality of graphical work put into the mod is very poor. Languages are poorly translated, textures aren't very well done, gameplay is really laggy and a lot of assets such as planets (Warlords mod) and backgrounds (BSG mod) are not made by the team unless it is Stargate specific (ships/stations). The UI is really hard to read, and the loading screen looks like it was ripped from the Star Trek Continuum mod.

The mod has potential, and would be a lot better if updates were more actual game footage and not Photoshop paint edits from the show.

Also the fact that their "company" logo is stolen from Ubisoft, and the game HAWX specifically shows that this group of modders are uninspired and willing to steal content to pass off as their own. If this mod was comprised of fresh ideas and not ripped content from other mods or games, or poorly photoshopped images from the TV show, it would be a lot bettet.

Hiveship says
10 Hiveship

Jul 29th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

awesome

HarperZeroHour says
10 HarperZeroHour

Nov 29th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I have to admit...
Your Soundtrack is awesome ! Thanks KillerTracks for this !
The new gameplay is just awesome, i play the old version since the 0.31 and it's such a good work. Thitest, i know that the hw2 scripting takes a lot of time...

Good luck for all releases and for your game ;)

mapayne says
9 mapayne

Feb 7th, 2012 3 people agree 3 people don't

An impressive project and whilst I don't play Homeworld myself, from what I've seen the visuals are very well done and model/texture work is impressive.

Rackna says
10 Rackna

Jul 14th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Le meilleur mode que j'ai vue a ce jours!!!!

Graphiste superbe!!!!
Modele SUPER!
Les song on quelque petit défaut mais sa je crois que sa vien du jeu original comme il faut vrm étre la vue proche du vaiseau pour entendre le bruit de sont arme xD mais bon who cares!? XD jdoit étre le seul a l'avoir remarquer xD mais j'ai rien a dire j'ai pas tester le jeu original XD j'ai acheté le jeu seulement pour votre mod XD!
IA:SUPER! les niveau de difficulter sont bien calculer et sont pas démusurer comme certain mod chapeau pour ce coter la !.
bug: pas bcp de but sauf un majeur dont je ne trouve pas la cause mais je crois que c'est a rapport du coter attaque car il arrive juste lorsque j'attaque l'ennemie (parfois pas toujours) le jeu ferme et sa écrit absolument rien il fais juste fermer xD (je save souvent depuis pck apres 3 heure de jeu c'est chien en maudit tout perdre xD mais bon 1 bug dans un jeu Oo c'est rien XD si je regarde certain jeu déveloper apr des compagnie ou je se sius capable de trouver 50 bug sans me forcer (bug majeur XD je parle pas des bug mineur jen aurais une trop longue liste)

le seul coter que je trouve plate c'est la forme des bouclier sur les vaiseau de la tauri est pas sencer étre toutafais ronde mais je crois a voir le générique que vous avez sortit que sa été arranger pour la prochaine version j'ai hate de voir!!!!!!

bref magnifique mod! si je serais une compagnie de jeu je vous engagerais sur le champs!

blaze3114 says
10 blaze3114

Jul 3rd, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

the best homeworld 2 mod i ever played

EITY10 says
10 EITY10

Jun 19th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

awesome!

Atlantis.56 says
10 Atlantis.56

Jun 3rd, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Realy Good mod :D

p2thewind45 says
10 p2thewind45

Apr 30th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is by far the best Homeworld 2 mod EVAH! The ships are all realistic and the battles are amazing. It still needs work though like adding the Ori, Replicators, and Ancients.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

89 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.