Re-enter the Half Life Universe and revisit City 17 in the time before Freeman, in this fan made single-player mod. The Resistance is threatened by a decisive Combine assault, and as a wanted Resistance member you will need to fight to escape from the Combine's clutch. At the same time, a mysterious force is working towards ends unknown...

Review RSS Feed MCGONN says
10 MCGONN

Mar 29th, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is absolutely fantastic. It's wonderfully put together, with Valve-like quality. Truly one of the best Half-Life 2 story tie-ins since Dangerous World.

I hope to see more from this team.

sarevokh says
9 sarevokh

Mar 29th, 2011 8 people agree 0 people don't

Overall, a CLEVER mod with nice puzzles to advance through the maps, good battles in various environments.
Some fantastic parts with the train ride or the "enhanced" Hunter. I was clearly pleased overall!

Held says
9 Held

Mar 29th, 2011 8 people agree 0 people don't

This mod fits into the half- life universer very well. The level design is good and the fact that a flashlight is missing can sometimes scare the hell out of you. The gameplay is various and the mod has diffrent locations (indoor level as well as outdoor level). Over all it's a very nice mod which entertains you for 1-2 hours.

oversoul says
9 oversoul

Mar 31st, 2011 7 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Very good mod, one of the better hl2 mods I've played. Good balance and all, but (the reason I didn't give it a 10) there really is nothing new to experience here for those who have played the hl series before (besides a regular baddy modified to be an end boss). Still, a very pleasant run through that I highly recommend.

Galahaut says
8 Galahaut

Mar 31st, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The design of the mod is solid (mostly), although there is not much innovation. The train ride was a nice touch but a bit disappointing that it was only a ride and you didn't really have to do anything. The final Hunter battle was enjoyable and unique.

Puzzles are rather simple but in the same way as HL2 itself. Levels were for the most part very linear. Lack of flashlight and gravity gun were a nice change of pace. The pacing between combat and non-combat was good.

The story is intriguing but only barely fleshed out. Voice acting is good enough. G-Man sightings were a nice touch.

zonbie says
8 zonbie

Mar 30th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

This is one of those rare mods that captures the essence of Valve's games. However, it is somewhat inconsistent. The brushwork is all solid but the locations feel uninspired. The combat is difficult but sometimes feels tedious. I am also disappointed that the custom weapon was removed.

Still, this is probably going to be on Top Ten lists for a while.

True_Life says
10 True_Life

Mar 30th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Just finished Playing the mod, What a brilliant mod!! The levels have clearly been carefully thought out to lead the player through the maps, Engaging story line, good variation of combat, well though out.

Overall, a spectacular Mod 10/10!!

Polar_Berk says
9 Polar_Berk

Mar 30th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent mod with nice mapping, good voice over work and a good mix of combat/puzzles. I would point out that the map layout was very linear with no real alternative routes, this is both a good thing ( it never got confusing or unclear as what to do) and a bad thing ( I got through the game quickly due to a lack of exploration).

Highly recommended.

Hezus says
10 Hezus

Mar 30th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

I hardly give 10/10, but if you're making a HL2 singleplayer episode, this is how it should be done. It made great use of all assets of Half-Life and combined them seamlessly and certainly long enough for a mod.

If there are plans for a sequel, I'd like to see more various puzzles and action. Many things were direct copies out of the Half-Life series which, as a seasoned player, I saw coming from a mile away. However, the battles were more challenging than Valve dared, which was a big plus for me.

TribalBeat says
10 TribalBeat

Apr 7th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Even though this mod last only about an hour, it is one exceptionally high quality hour. The environments are beautiful and fit right in. The games shortness is due mainly to avoidance of unnecessary areas. All of the firefights are exciting and extremely memorable. One would think that this mod was headed by Valve secretly as the levels are of such a high quality. If I had to dock any points it would be that during the ending hunter battle, I ended up sprinting past all the combine in my attempt to kill the hunter before it got away. Still, this is an amazing mod and I would recommend it to any fan of Half Life.

Community Rating

Average

9

371 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.