The Blender Game Engine is a component of Blender, a free and open-source comprehensive 3D production suite, used for making real-time interactive content. The game engine was written from scratch in C++ as a mostly independent component, and includes support for features such as Python scripting and OpenAL 3D sound.

Review RSS Feed Tsukigames says
10 Tsukigames

Apr 23rd, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I have used before many engines, such as Dark Basic, game maker, rpg maker, Blitz3D and Panda3D. The Blender game engine has an excellent workflow(inside the 3d program), has a easy, acceptable fast(not fast as C++ thought) and largely supported programming language(python); is free; packed with features; is still actively maintained(more by the community than blender.org devs thought); has many kind users and exports the game to Windows, Linux and Mac, and maybe in the future Android.

I constantly check if I should use a different engine, and I always end up seeing which the BGE is still fit for my needs.

Førseti says
10 Førseti

Dec 6th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

One Awesome piece of software, I just wish they would have kept the dual licensing for the game engine.

TheDiddyHop says
10 TheDiddyHop

Mar 14th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pros: very powerful and free Cons: hard to use

SolarLune says
9 SolarLune

Feb 3rd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The BGE is actually quite good - the advantages of being easy to code in and having possibly the best workflow in a 3D game enine far outweigh the fact that it isn't extremely fast or powerful. The fact that it is free and open-source also makes up for any lacks in its capability.

2/14/11 EDIT: @AndrewIsGreen - The screenshots are fooling you. Check out the newest images uploaded.

3dslider says
10 3dslider

Nov 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Blender with 3d engine and OpenGL + modeller integrated + Python make huge powerfull and fast making games, all in most interactive in visual so it can make better prototype as well.

Happy Blending !

on1ondevelopment says
10 on1ondevelopment

Mar 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simple to use, many features, lots of good games, great GUI... The best part is that you get a good program for free, also you don't need other programs to make models and textures because everything is already in Blender. Try it now!

RandomPickle97 says
10 RandomPickle97

Jun 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The greatest game engine ever made in the world

The_chaser says
9 The_chaser

Jun 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing motor, with lots of possibilities and quite easy to use, comparing with others.

SWN_Matt says
8 SWN_Matt

May 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Besides the fact of the Open Source and public domain (: . The way blender mix a whole bunch of tools allow us to make everything we want. But the thing I love the most, is for now so basic that maybe no many people thing about that; but the way Blender Render works with BGE its just awesome!

Cheers!
*my bad, for the poor english*

Spade230 says
10 Spade230

Feb 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love the Blender Game engine and I've learned to use it for quite a few things. I'v also found that it has A LOT of online tutorials and resources.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

82 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.