The L.U.R.K. team wants to provide the best possible experience from Stalker: Shadow of Chernobyl, we don't plan to skew the scope of this game, because I, like many others, fell in love with the game because of the story, the realistic gameplay, and the atmosphere. I plan to preserve and improve on that concept to the best of my abilities, and our team has vowed to do so as well. Which is why we took it upon ourselves to provide that experience. We want to fulfill a niche that's otherwise unfulfilled in the modding community. We want to bring as many features to Stalker without damaging or changing the original theme of the game. While improving upon that concept with features that were dropped off the development cycle from GSC, such as stealth AI, and a strong foundation for balance, as well as dynamic A-Life, and an unprecedented visual presentation that no other Stalker Overhaul can touch.

Review RSS Feed Doommarine23 says
10 Doommarine23

Dec 5th, 2010 15 people agree 3 people don't

I came into LURK 1.1, with no expectations. None what so ever. I thought I had played it all, considering I've played mods ranging from Oblivion Lost, to Super Mod Pack, to Stalker 2009/2010. To ABC, to every other minor mod under the sun. I truly thought I had seen it all, and I truly thought LURK would be another of those mods. Nothing, truly wrong with them. But, were they all the same? Were they all, after awhile, bland and easy? Yes. (Did not help that SMP's base is OL)

Upon starting this mod however, I found out? It was something special. The gentle hum and glow of the lighting and HDR effects were pleasing to the eyes, as I began my first mission. Upon walking outside. The ground, the sky, everything. Felt so smooth and detailed. Everything I look at, is pleasing to the eyes and feels "soft". Which is a very good thing.

As I got my first gun from Wolf. My expectations, lowered. As I remembered my gun was from Arsenal mod. Which, while decent. Had very bland, reused, stock animations and was in almost *every* mod under the sun. But once I began my raid on the bandits? My expectations or rather, lack of. Were shattered, the animations were crisp, realistic, unique and special. And the combat? Was simply intense. Without a hud, with only your skill and instinct to survive. It becomes truly an special kind of experience. The dynamic views on your hud to show damage work extremely well, and are very immersive. The one thing I enjoyed about this mod, is that. It gives you a sense of danger, as I peek down my PPSH's sights to my enemy. I desperately lean against a wall, hoping for him to miss, as I flinch, the bullets cracking the walls.

No mod, has ever in my life time of playing Stalker. felt so real, or so intense. Nor has it ever given me such a rush or feeling of danger and urgency. This mod is simply a joy, and I barely even touched the surface, both in my review, and for myself. For I have just gotten to the Garbage! I can't wait for more! I am impressed.

Clear_strelok says
9 Clear_strelok

Nov 25th, 2009 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

One of the best Mods ever made for the first Stalker With a perfect optimization,A lot of work on the weather and gorgeous animations.
Small problems detected on respawn points, but in contrast the new balance of fighting more than compensates. A great mod.

hardcoregamer24 says
8 hardcoregamer24

Jan 25th, 2010 5 people agree 0 people don't

when i personally tried this mod the main menu was great it had a nice dark atmosphere as it promised. and the weather and lighting effects made it amazing. it had no hud (heads up display) which brought it closer to realism and alot of the weapons had custom animations which was new for a change what i liked most about testing this mod was that the game had stunning use of textures. :) i hope i made a difference.

Sn1P3r_M98 says
10 Sn1P3r_M98

Dec 24th, 2010 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is a truly awesome mod. I love the total removal of the hud, even if it did take a while to get used to. The weapon selection is amazing, and would make any gun nut like myself scream with joy. I recommend this mod to anyone who enjoys S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

headcrap says
9 headcrap

Dec 17th, 2010 5 people agree 2 people don't

L.U.R.K. 1.1 is a good mod. The mod give SoC features it should have like the darker atmosphere and a wide range of toys to kill mutants with. Apart from flaws like a couple of NPC's AI and weapon recoil, it made SoC very re-playable. The atmosphere was very impressive since my game runs on a low spec. PC. It had a very good chance to become MOTY.

kjfytfkytfyt says
9 kjfytfkytfyt

Nov 27th, 2010 5 people agree 2 people don't

Extremely Good Mod, adds great new textures, tons of new weapons, great animations (I think there's some new ones) and bringing that original experience back in action with that all. I love this mod, and am using it right now (as of 11/26)!

[TZP]LoNer1 says
10 [TZP]LoNer1

Mar 30th, 2010 4 people agree 2 people don't

An utterly awesome mod, made by one of the best modders i know today. Holden, for the rest of my life you are craved into my head as a true hero, and as far as the Internet language goes, i can only give you a smiley :)

Farewell mate, and make something of your life :thumbsup:

Hope seeing you around though, could use much of your knowledge. And as far as the comments go, dont bother, life is full of obstacles(trolls) but then its full of points were you can be proud of yourself. And i admit, i have been in the same state as you, with just the monotonic feeling of doing nothing really useful, but few modders ever have really fought against it and won the battle.

Love L.U.R.K, and look up to you.
LoNer1

Le_Smee says
9 Le_Smee

Jun 23rd, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Shadow of Chernobyl is a great game, a milestone in Pc exclusive gaming, but(and unfortunately it's a medium sized but) there are many things that need to be improved, the core elements of the game are to be aspired to, but the game itself was left with many mediocre aspects, this mod adds maturity, realism, realism that comes with a outdated game engine that brings that special feeling of being a game with limits, but with those said limits tinkered with to provide chalenge and depth in its gameplay to give realism in a limited world, a great combination of old school and new school which has it's own lands, it's own rules, doesn't feel borrowed or stolen but something new and original, and it is that "new" feel of the game and/or mod, that creates something amazing, something unique, something that should not be missed by any gaming enthusiast or pc enthusiast.

If you are going to play this game, you should definately play this game in it's original context, not necessarily all the way through, but at least a few hours, just so you can appreciate the perspective these modders have brought to this game, not even their hard work(which i am sure is plentifull) but at least their perspective, because if they have or not hit the nail on the head, is a opinion left to the individual, it is their aim, and ideas which are nothing but a faithfull and respective improvement on an amazing game, that can not in my opinion be bettered but only equaled, the near perfect mix of story,(admittedly disjointed) horror and shooter combined, although an unbiased opinion will place you as some what a super solidier, the involvment of the game will make you forget this almost instantly, and you will see yourself as a character first and as a player controlled character, just so slightly better than every one else as necessary to progress through any game second.

Play this game, then play this game with l.u.r.k, so much more than the great but superficial Complete mod.

Cossack-HD says
10 Cossack-HD

Oct 20th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Here gave my mark only for old version of LURK, since v1.1 is too different and too far from "dream game" - it's main problem.
Well, lurk 1.0552 is one of the greatest mods. Stealth is awesome - i took documents on Agroprom at night and military did not noticed me :D I moved to broken fences, then sprinted to the mountain and then military found me and opened fire - that was amazing feeling... new weapons are nice, but i don't like rebalans this mod is making. This is kind of mods, i can't play (1.1 version).
Graphics - the main part of this mod... In 1.1 i spend a lot of time to disable that annoying bloom on r2, but gave up and run it on DX 8.1 render and calmed down...
If you want modern stalker - this mod is for you, if you want to play "old forgotten stalker" - this mod is hell on Yearth to you.

Streloker says
1 Streloker

Sep 5th, 2011 0 people agree 2 people don't

u should't delet arifact use and delet health u should put it no some extra suits but none shows health 1.52 was the best but when u picku up the stalker suit u found in stach or other armors it say sthat is leather jakc or bandit taht sucks

Community Rating

Average

8.7

402 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.