SCENARIO In "Get a Life" you embody Alexander Zemlinsky, a subway technician suffering from leukaemia. Alex is not, unlike the protagonists in most games, an invincible super-soldier. But you wouldn't call him normal either, because there is something in his past that connects him with the events that are about to happen in the course of the story (we want to keep the suspense, so nothing more on that...). FEATURES * GaL will run on the latest version of the Source Engine, so that means you'll see HDR and the enhanced shadow system (as seen in HL2: Episode 1) in "Get a Life" as well * To give the player the best gaming experience possible, GaL will offer a custom HUD, an innovative healing system with several damage zones, drugs that will trigger a "bullet-time" effect, upgradeable weapons and enhanced enemy AI * About 11 hours of gameplay * 24 maps with varied environments * 61 characters * 13 weapons

Review RSS Feed robofork says
10 robofork

May 24th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best HL2 mods I have played to date. The gameplay is fun, never really getting tiring with the ever-changing enemies, combat environments and features which kept me interested every step of the way. The introduction of features like bullet time had me worried at first, but proved to be fun to use and balanced out. The level design is extraordinary, with constantly changing environments that ensure non-linear gameplay. The use of Hl2's physics engine also creates an enjoyable level of interactivity, helping to immerse the player in the world. The combat was reasonably diverse, with scenarios evenly switching between fights between the suited agents and the walking dead, at a rate which ensures neither gets old. The atmosphere was also extremely immersive, from the wide open areas where the player fights the soldiers, to the dark, smoky alleys and streets in which the player must fight the infected citizens and monsters, almost all areas deliver the intended atmosphere which helps gameplay a great deal. The new hud and damage system are well balanced and easy to figure out and maintain, also adding a certain realism that is usually lacking in most mods these days. Namely the addition of critical damage to certain parts of the body which result in different effects, like bleeding, dizziness, shaky aiming and limping which result in the player wanting to ensure that they take care of each body part, as well as always having a medkit available just in case. This mod is one I have never been able to become bored with, instead having a relatively new experience every time I play it. It is truly worth your time

Dr.PstPat says
9 Dr.PstPat

Jun 15th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Personally, i think this is mod is my favorite. I love how good you modeled everything. I would recomend for people who are good at games and mods.

sharktamer says
3 sharktamer

Nov 8th, 2010 11 people agree 9 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I'd heard great things about this mod, but after playing I've been left extremely disapointed.

It starts off pretty strongly. The story is good from the beginning, different from the many "you are a nameless rebel" or "you are Gordon Freeman" mods. The action is broken up by interesting cut scenes, which progress the story as well as explaining the additional mechanics in the mod. It also introduces some nice new elements, including a very interesting health system, where you must heal different parts of your body that are damaged, as well as some nice custom weaponry.

These are really the only good things I can say about this mod. The common grunts are reskinned combine, which keep the combine voices, despite being unmasked. Friendly units have custom voice acting, which is frankly awful. However, these are minor problems which I could have easily dealt with.

It is very buggy, with the AI scripting of the enemies often messing up and different light sources throwing solid blocks of light that prevent the player from seeing anything beyond them. Even the custom health system is extremely tedious to use, if an enemy hits you and causes you to bleed, you will continue to lose health until the bleeding is stopped using a bandage. If you don't have any bandages, you're dead. This means you can be killed by a single bullet.

Once night falls, another shortcoming and very strange design choice will become apparent. For a while, you'll be left without any flashlight, which would be fine if the developers chose to remove it to help with dynamic lighting and a fear factor, except there are no fixed light sources and the most common enemy at this point are black spiders which are impossible to see in the dark or even dim lighting. A flashlight is found later on, but for some reason, the developers thought it would be a good idea to have the flashlight as a separate weapon. This means that you are unable to fire your weapon and light your surroundings at the same time.

da7thspartan says
9 da7thspartan

Jun 12th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's a pretty good game but you die fast and you have to heal your arms, chest, eyes, and whatever but it doesn't heal your health you got to do it sepret you can heal your health bar, i like the game and all that but not the healing part.

ritcheu34 says
10 ritcheu34

Jun 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

um jogo muito bem bolado e de boa dificuldade, eu gostei muito porque juntou mortos vivos com acão e tornou algo esplosivo

SalesKital says
10 SalesKital

Jun 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is one of the few mods I keep returning to, The story always captivated me as well as the balance of fear and action to make it so I don't get too scared but at the same time not too calm either.

Plato3 says
8 Plato3

May 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I have heard that this mod will be great, And for what i have to say for it is it is ok, I loved the NPC's skins, But evrything it it is hard! i will give you good and bad resons of this mod
GOOD: Great Story, Great Wepons, Great NPC's, AI are very "Playful", And, The maping was great
BAD: Random Crashes evrywhere i looked, Very Hard, Sometimes mussleflash whoud not work, And the citizens or to rude! this guy said to me when i walked up to him "Get your dirty hands of me you ******" I mean, WHO SAYS THAT? And, Last but no least, The voice acting is just ****** gay, I mean
As this mod had Inventory, Blood Stoper, And Bullet time, I need to say....

is.. this mod is the Cry of Fear for Half-Life 2, And if have no goddanm idea what Cry of Fear is, Google it or look it up here ******, NOW

Adachi1924 says
10 Adachi1924

Apr 1st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This was beautiful

king_jessum says
10 king_jessum

Nov 24th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Tämä modi on nniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiin täydellinen ja ihaana ettäs se tiiät moddb

Barno says
9 Barno

Nov 24th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

that difficulty vas a little bit hard

Community Rating

Average

8.4

395 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.