This mod fixes what Ubisoft left unfixed. Dylan's Realism Mod changes Far Cry 2 from an Africa-based sedan and pickup truck simulator into a (semi accurate) African conflict simulator. Realistic weapon damage, recoil, realistic ammo loads and weapon reliability have been added, along with a more effective stealth suit, and revamped AI weapons. (No more SPAS12s and AR15s for militiamen). Checkpoint AI has been tweaked as well. Checkpoint guards now have a 60% chance to chase you after passing through, as opposed to 90%-100% in vanilla. Militiamen also communicate more frequently in combat, and use suppressing fire more often. However, you are now as vulnerable as the AI. A single burst of rifle fire can kill you, so you are probably going to need that extra ammo and stealth suit.

RSS feed loner85 says
10 loner85

Jul 16th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Very good mod! Much more realistic death/kill balance.

BaerkeHinnGauzki says
10 BaerkeHinnGauzki

Jul 15th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Dylan's realism mod adds just that, realism, to a game that sorely needed it. Amen.

Rohan15 says
10 Rohan15

Dec 8th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

I just fell back in love with Far Cry 2. Freaking hard and much more fun now :D

agentdoublesc says
10 agentdoublesc

Jun 16th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

finaly something that make me play far cry 2 again

Thank you for that nice mod

Just one question: is it posible to tweak the vehicle speed (like making the quad a bit faster) if yes how?
thank you again

pet131 says
10 pet131

Apr 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

In-depth user review by Noob for Noobs:

Far Cry 2 in 2013 Part 1: WHAUW!
Far Cry 2 in 2013 Part 2: Tech-talk

Ty for sharing your most excellent mod.

HrZmassimow says
10 HrZmassimow

Mar 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

it's just greatly done all around and i don't want to play the game without it. :)

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Mar 3rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Well hes done everything he can to fix this game.
Theres still invisible walls on those canyons you should be able to hike over if your serious about avoiding checkpoints, enemies still respawn quickly once you leave the area and the machete does not do silent takedowns.... But weapons can actually kill enemies so no more wooden bullets, AI use grenades more often, communicate more often, and more likely to use flaregun to call for support when they spot you from afar. You also seem to take more damage yourself, and recoil on automatic weapons is more realistic so the bandolier and stealthsuit are more important than ever before (the stealthsuit also works alot better) and shotgun manuals improve range/accuracy making them more viable.

To combat the repetition: its takes you significantly longer before you need to get Malaria pills, and enemies are alot less likely to chase you if you drive past their checkpoint or when they see you from afar. Weapon manuals aren't as necessary as before, because weapons generally last longer.

KahunaKB says
10 KahunaKB

Nov 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great Mod!
Thanks for adding the extra ammo!
The Suppressed MP5 & Suppressed Pistol ROCK!
I look forward to 1.4 and I hope you are able to change the weapon
catagories so you can select any 3 weapons combinations of your choosing; ie: Assualt, Sniper Rifle, Shot Gun all at the same time.

Warhead77777 says
6 Warhead77777

Aug 18th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I started this mod up and did an assassination in it.

The weapons sound the same, the recoil feels the same, the ammo is just as unrealistic, and well it felt the same. There was a few changes.

Yes, everyone talked more. That was good.

Yes, the range and damage of weapons has been increased. The silenced Markov is actually pretty effective, you can clear out eight guys with just it now.

However, on Normal it only made the game to easy. The enemy doesn't have increased damage and range. I was picking them off with a pistol or shotgun with increased stats, but they couldn't hit or hurt me with the same weapons.

Everything picked up still jams very quickly and they still all have weapons they wouldn't be able to afford. The G3 still has 30 rounds and still feels like an HK-33.

People talk more, weapons are cheaper or more expensive for no reason, and I am overpowered with weapons now. The mod isn't a realism mod, it's an easy-mode mod.

KalypsoAirsoft says
10 KalypsoAirsoft

Mar 28th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

A great modification. I love FC2 and its immersion and with this mod it even gets better! Looking forward to the next version! It would be very nice if random fights between the AI itself could be implemented (for example road patrols attacking an outpost or stuff like that)...

Community Rating



65 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.