Cthulhu is a single-player modification for Half-Life. It contains 65 maps, 21 new monsters and 14 new weapons. Aeons ago, Earth was ruled by The Great Old Ones, beings so alien and terrible that merely seeing them would drive most people mad. Before man's ancestors climbed down from the trees, these being were defeated in a war with The Elder Gods. But their alien nature meant that they could not be slain in any way that we would understand, so they were imprisoned. And so they wait, patient and potent until the stars are right and they shall walk forth once again and wipe mankind from the face of the Earth. You play Ranulf Stafford, an occult investigator in Arkham in the year 1928. Drawn into a nightmare chain of events, you find yourself the only thing standing between mankind and the return of Cthulhu, one of the most dreadful of The Great Old Ones.

RSS feed to-der-trenches says
10 to-der-trenches

Nov 9th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't


flippedoutkyrii says
10 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 7th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't

An incredible mod from start to finish.

Among my favorite half-life mods of all time. :)

ReNeGaDe447 says
10 ReNeGaDe447

Feb 27th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing.....just...amazing o.o

griefmaster_00x1 says
9 griefmaster_00x1

Aug 23rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I have to say that this is a very good mod. The story is engaging and kept me playing. But the only thing that made me sad was the fact that the mele weapons you use deal barely any damage and the enemies kill you in two hits.
the story and environment compensates for it


Sep 5th, 2015 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Where do I begin? Back in those haydays, Many modders were trying to manipulate the Gold-Source engine to work differently and this Mod is one of the Many that shows it worked.

Cthulhu is about the alleged legends surrounding the "Beast", The mod is hard but it is easy to remember that Cthulhu, Like many of the mods made from 1999 to 2009 were built around the idea of Ambushes and group stacking of enemies.

This mod has a large amount of weapons, Possibly even more than any mod before it.. Though the mod is hard to see
(due to the realistic lighting) This mod is one of those that should be a model for future Modders.

doccarnby says
8 doccarnby

Jun 21st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

To start off, this mod is quite awesome. It has atmosphere, some cool effects, new monsters, mostly well designed levels and a fun, Lovecraft styled story.
Using magic is an interesting experience, since using it will drain sanity and if that hits zero, will kill you. It is absurdly powerful though, so there are times when you have to use it (and times you just want to make cultists explode). The weapons are fun, and look pretty good too.
The monsters are, for the most part, pretty good. Some, however, are merely reskins of Half-Life monsters, and I seem to recall there being some normal Half-Life monsters in there too. Nothing too serious though, just it can take you out of the experience a little sometimes.
The levels are a bit of a mixed bag. For the most part, they're awesome. They're nice to look at, have an interesting design, and are fun. However, a couple levels are rather annoying. I enjoyed Innsmouth, but it was easy to get lost in there. The Ghoul Caves were a cool idea, but it's not too fun to wander around in the dark with the honestly not too good Half-Life torch, and the big puzzle was kind of annoying. Mostly though, the maps are good.
I did notice some graphical glitches though, however, I'm not certain if that was the fault of the mod or my computer. With some weapons (the rifle and the pistol, mainly) sometimes when the cross hairs go over an enemy, the cross hairs are replaced with a black square. A little annoying but nothing too game breaking.
Story-wise, this is nothing too spectacular, definitely feels like a Lovecraft fanfiction, but it's a well done and fun one, so that's no real problem at all, unless you are a fanatical Lovecraft purist.
All in all, it was an excellent trip, that aside from some moments of checking the walk through (helpfully included in the download, props for that), some Half-Life enemies, and annoying maps, is well worth your time and effort.

Elnakadiaz says
9 Elnakadiaz

Feb 27th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Best mod. No words to describe-

Half-Rats says
8 Half-Rats

Oct 30th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I finally played this game. I'm a fan of HP Lovecraft. I couldn't help but notice a lot of similarities between this and my own mod! There are a few bugs that are game-breaking, some cut-scenes can actually get a player killed, there's a few cosmetic errors here and there, and the mapping's not the best...but all-in-all, I enjoyed this mod. It can be quite difficult in some areas. I played it on easy with Godmode on. Aside from the flaws, a lot of thought went into this game.

VaderG says
9 VaderG

Sep 20th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Sure, this mod contained annoying mazes and not enough light, but the gameplay and the immersion were fantastic. This mod introduced me to the world of HP Lovecraft and I had a very good experience with this mod.

haywan says
9 haywan

Sep 17th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Remarkable and highly atmospheric total conversion. Beware however, for this is one of the hardest high profile HL mods out there.

Community Rating



95 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.