Battlefield 1918 is a total conversion modification for Battlefield 1942. The mod takes Battlefield 1942 into a whole new scenario, the first world war. Next to historically correct equipments and vehicles, we try to recreate the atmosphere of these WW1 battlefields as close as we can, keeping in mind the game we're working with. To achieve this, we've drastically changed the gameplay from the original game like so that you must now rely on teamwork, artillery, trenches and slow vehicles....

Review RSS Feed PdM-ArG says
10 PdM-ArG

Mar 30th, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

A WWI mod is an original idea, there aren't much games about that war and i think not everything should be about "unitedstateans" (i personally consider the english term "american" an insult to the rest of america being myself argentinean) and their sense of "supercountry" which is gonna save us from evil that shows every game of WWII.

supremw says
10 supremw

Dec 24th, 2010 8 people agree 0 people don't

Very nice community nice mod,developers are patient and make a interesting and detailed inovations in this mod.I don t know what more should I say.Its great :)

volchonok says
10 volchonok

Feb 4th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best things in gaming world ever created about WW1 ! Great job.

EITY10 says
10 EITY10

May 20th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

NICEEEEEE

Woozle says
10 Woozle

May 17th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod! OMG WWI! This mod will do much to further knowledge of WWI among gamers! The developers are nice and personable. Patient, will answer questions, and they make great content! The only problem I have with this mod is some of the animations are bad, but that is understandable animations are HARD HARD HARD HARD to make.

reptiledude says
9 reptiledude

Jul 30th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Battlefield 1918. When I bought BF1942, I was in no way interested in World War I. I purchased it off eBay alongside BF: Vietnam to play the original Forgotten Hope. Of course, I started taking interest in the war and now, it's the one I find more interesting than WWII due to its lack of coverage and media. As such, I had to try out Battlefield 1918.

Something I enjoy very much about this game is the mass amount of factions in game. WWI had its fair share of contenders and this truly documents that very well. You'll see your standard British, German, French, and Russian soldiers from a WWI game but the great part to me is it covers other areas too. You'll find the Ottomans, the Austro-Hungarians, the Belgians, the Italians. They've even included the Americans. It goes to show how much effort was put into what I feel to be a fantastic final project.

Now no FPS game got anywhere without maps and believe me when I say this game has plenty of them. You'll find them on all fronts of the war. Your standard Western and Eastern front maps are joined alongside your Italian, Dardanelles campaign, and Persian maps. Something that surprised me even more was the inclusion of Africa and Tsingtao. That impressed me a lot. You can really fight anywhere you want. Looking for a mucky trench storming map? Vitry is there. Urban enviroment? Krakau. Amphibious invasions? Helles Landings and there are more besides that too. Forests? Tannenberg. Plains? Tanzanian Plains.

Now every game has its shortcomings. I'd be lying if I said there was a game that couldn't improve on anything. I do wish more maps were nav-meshed and that other things could be done more accurately like how the 1918 water jacket on the Vickers is used for all times of the war. That said, with them modding a game as old as BF1942 and making use of it, I have to applaud this team for doing the impossible.

That is why it deserves a 9/10. I think some things could be improved but it's still lots of fun to play.

Turkish007 says
10 Turkish007

Jul 2nd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

THIS is the mod that made me buy BF1942. THIS is one of the few FPS's that concentrate on WW1, which is the biggest con. THIS is the mod that includes Ottoman Army! (:D) and of course THIS is my all-time favorite mod+game!

taintxs says
10 taintxs

Jun 15th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best battlefield mods, up there along side forgotten hope

GSmirlis says
10 GSmirlis

May 23rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic mod! Continue Guys!!!

THEnewMyself says
10 THEnewMyself

Jan 12th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

An excellent modification to an already outstanding game, as well as being in the vein of the main titles in the triple A series, it may as well be named an expansion pack, per se. And a hell of an expansion pack, for free! (One minor gripe is that you will have to adjust to the difficulty of securing a kill with WW1 weapons, especially the excruciatingly inaccurate machine gun)

Community Rating

Average

9.4

199 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.