The new action-thriller from the award-winning team at Infinity Ward delivers the most intense and cinematic action experience ever. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare arms gamers with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower and transports them to the most treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world.

Review RSS Feed Kastrenzo says
7 Kastrenzo

Jul 27th, 2011 19 people agree 3 people don't

I liked this game when it first came out, but it eventually spawned 99.9% of the morons who made MW2 their own personal middleschool religion.

And strangley I found MW2 To play a lot smoother than this, MW2 drew it's weapon damage and such off World at War, sometimes in COD4 I Couldnt even tell when I hit someone.

Also stop ******* hating on Russians. I was happy to see DC Burning in MW2, But oh no Captain America and Nigel the Chav save the day in the end.

Call of Duty 4 spawned a generation that's Braindead and Racist

also even more so, 13 year olds started talking about guns to the point that it was annoying. most of the time it was stuff they never heard of in their life until they saw it on Xbawks

7game says
10 7game

Apr 15th, 2009 14 people agree 6 people don't

Best CoD

ZoneLurker says
7 ZoneLurker

Sep 1st, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I know it'll be a shocker for some fanboys that I only give a 7/10 to "TEH GREATEST GAME EVAH!!" but let me just say that it is rather fun. However, there's no denying it will go down as one of the most overrated games I have ever played. Therefore, I will break down the review to separate points.

GAMEPLAY: The most distinguishing feature in video gaming - it's fun, it's polished, but it's nothing new. From the single-player, you are still led by the nose in often tightly linear pathways, shooting and killing with very little found variety. As for the multiplayer being innovative, well... Perks and customisation and (these) modes have existed long before this game, so it's hard to see what's really new here. That's not to say none of this works, and some of the levels and scripted set-pieces are impressive and enjoyable. It's just not deep or creative enough to deserve such acclaim.

GRAPHICS: Very, very pretty and runs smoothly. However, some textures are deeply lacking. Overall beautiful, but far from the best of 2007.

STORY: This really grinds my gears. Really, what is so special about this story? All I see is Middle East in turmoil, stolen nuclear weapons, evil Russian Communists, Good ol' USA stepping in as usual to clean up the mess... blah, blah, blah. The only notable features is the unique emphasis on the SAS, and the Nuclear Explosion scene, but otherwise nothing else memorable about the plot.

SOUND: Probably the most redeemable element. The music score is simply excellent, fitting each moment throughout the campaign perfectly. The voice-acting, while not quite at the same level, has some good voices. The guns, on the other hand, sound more like toys rather than sophisticated weaponry which further ruins the quality of the action.

Overall, COD4 is a fun game with addictive multiplayer and some excellent missions. At a cheap price, it's worth a purchase. Nevertheless, it stands as a prime example where hype spoils a game's quality.

smallcombe says
10 smallcombe

Jan 6th, 2012 4 people agree 2 people don't

10 outta 10. I still play this game Often and probably too much. I would say this game is about that same level as half-life 1 when it first came out and blew every1 away.

We need more games like these.

You can still buy a copy in store at for about $30 - $40 and you will need it for its legit key code for multiplayer ;)
Highly recommended!

neomax17 says
10 neomax17

Sep 24th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

top

Explov3r says
9 Explov3r

Jan 30th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good, but you know that BF2 was better. Muhahaha.

AudioGhostX says
10 AudioGhostX

Feb 24th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Best Call of Duty ever.

arjun31 says
10 arjun31

Nov 22nd, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

A truly majestic game with awesome gameplay,storyline & graphics.

Langz0r says
10 Langz0r

Jun 28th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

EPIC GAME USED LOT OF HOURS PLAYING THIS TO A LAN PARTY :)

PurpleGaga27 says
9 PurpleGaga27

Mar 30th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

This is perhaps the best Call of Duty game ever made but the gameplay is somewhat short and I am tired of the health regeneration part. The best COD game of all time also triggered some of the best COD mods of all time, Star Wars Galactic Warfare and PeZbot.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

684 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.