The standalone version of the popular Crysis singleplayer modification Wreckage is available for download. Wreckage offers an action-oriented presentation, professional execution, complete dubbing and Crysis-level graphics. Developed by the team who brought you "Rainy Days".

Review RSS Feed OrangeNero says
9 OrangeNero

May 6th, 2012 8 people agree 0 people don't

Endgeil! Wow that was a hell of a campaign, to the WRECKAGE team I'd say Mission Accomplished!

The maps were great, I didn't get lost, the environments are beautiful, the triggers create action all around the place.

The gameplay is fluid, and really enjoyable. Theres also a lot happening on the field, unlike crisis where you are the action in WRECKAGE the game delivers you action all around the place, stuff exploding teammates fighting **** raining down from the sky, I could just sit there and watch the action play its fantastic.

The difficulty is well done, you are still a powerful force on the field but the enemy is a great threat and you will have to play tactical to get through. Also the really fast walking is a great thing, makes no sense but its awesome being so fast.

The Music is really nice to listen to, the voice acting while it does sound amateurish is very well done, lip sync and believable. It sounds like a mod and its good. The dialogue really stands out, when you are in the later parts where you go alone in that harbor hearing the (I didn't get who I am or what I am doing) player talking about the Snipers being pussies. Or the Marine motivating his troops, its really well done and stands out more than the ordinary stereotype BS.

Now why did I not rate it a 10? The mod suffers from replay value, it is a campaign mod so I have to be generous towards its replay value but you play WRECKAGE once, then another time, if you're a diehard fan a third time but then you wont touch it for as long as you wouldn't touch your favorite movie.

There are also still some minor problems, some visual errors and moments where there should be sound but there wasn't. Also the second helicrash was one big clusterfuck of error. Massive screen tearing, clipping, objects vanishing. These errors are however few and they don't harm the game experience much at all.

WRECKAGE is definitely worth the time, suggest for everyone who enjoys Shooters. Wished it never ends.

FallenĀ Angel says
10 FallenĀ Angel

Dec 22nd, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

One of those best Crysis single player mods. This will take to an awesome, breathtaking experience and adventure. This is a must have for Crysis fans and action lovers.

maroon83 says
10 maroon83

Jan 29th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

Legen.... wait for it... daaary!

Reborn:X says
9 Reborn:X

May 9th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Simply magnificant.

Although Act I wasn't that unique and IMO, was a normal "kill-anyone" mission, Act II and III really showed WRECKAGE's gameplay.

I was stricken and very impressed on how this changed Crysis from a benchmark graphic testing demo to a real action game on par with such classical titles as CoD or MoH. Creating those maps, setting up scripts and triggers along with voice acting must have a been a very tiring work indeed.

The best two things is this standalone game were the suprising element of realism between the relations of officers and Marines and the dialogues. The story itself was a bit confusing for me at the start but near the end I realized how selfish the main heroes purpose was. The fact that the two commanders are pretty much acting on their own and the Marine force is being besieged and overwhelmed by the KPA also added to the game's originality. Something that is sadly rare in today's games. It's sadly uncommon to see scenes of infighting and personal agenda between soldiers and even rarer to see scenes where the USA is losing a battle.

WRECKAGE IMHO, has one of the most interesting and unique stories which is lacking in today's gaming industry. Saying this, I hope the WRECKAGE's dev team will someday create another fantastic title.

The only "bad parts" of the game that I've noticed is the appearance of small collision and control bugs during both helicopter rides and the final Korean jeep ride. One game breaking error to me was near the end when to chopper crashes and the game fails to change the weapon from the mounted MG to the rifle. This makes it impossible to change any weapons and basiclly forces you to be a walking Blackhawk. The last major bug was when everyone is preparing to enter the jeep and Jackson seems to always mount the MG even thought Major is saying to have Captain manning it.

Ending this long review I hope you guys will try to make another mod like this, only with the Korean perspective.

masternerdguy says
8 masternerdguy

Jan 20th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I start this off by saying that when they say "action oriented" they mean it. There is no downtime and no stealth element, just battles between you (and typically your many reinforcements) and hordes of various enemies. While this is fun, it does get kind of predictable after a while (uggh, ANOTHER helicopter gunner scene with ANOTHER alien exosuit).

I don't consider it a spoiler to say that a simple mission becomes completely foobarred in only a few minutes. You are immediately in the action, and get the chance to play as both a "normal" (he must be an Olympic sprinter) marine and a nanosuit soldier. This is an interesting transition, and unexpected.

The mod is extremely cinematic. Lots of camera angles are designed to provide the best view of the action, and there are entire sequences of interactive cutscenes where you have minimal control of the situation. The ending is the most impressive of them all.

There are also some graphical issues such as missing textures and a shader bug that causes the screen to go flicker black if shaders are set too high. The AI is also less than bright, often starring at you for a minute before moving to engage.

The biggest issue is the level design, which is extremely limited to the point of being a railshooter (the opposite of Crysis). Sometimes you lose your turret in a vehicle if you die and reload, but fortunately your team is competent enough to kill enemies themselves eventually.

Having made a single player campaign myself (for Freelancer, but still) I have to say I am impressed by the amount of work that went into this mod, and I think that despite these issues I enjoyed it. After the Crysis 2 dissapointment this story feels more connected with the events in Crysis. This mod is well done and deserves an 8/10. Making entire new campaigns isn't easy, and the mod is very much worth a play.

A refreshing experience.

MahtXL says
9 MahtXL

May 10th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best MOD ive ever played, These guys are offering something unparalleled for the PC. I played for 10 minutes and got hooked, i am determined to beat this. Great job on the translation to English and thank you guys for doing so. Helicopter intro was great, and the ground action after was perfectly balanced, not to many enemies where im overwhelmed, and not so little that im bored. If your on the fence about this, GET OFF THE DAMN FENCE AND CLICK DOWNLOAD ALREADY.

fiercebreed says
10 fiercebreed

May 10th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is amazing A+

Hawk0032 says
10 Hawk0032

May 7th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I'm too amazed to say anything :o

feillyne says
10 feillyne

Jan 31st, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, professional quality.

KEVLAR60442 says
9 KEVLAR60442

Dec 22nd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Wreckage is one of the greatest, most fleshed out Crysis mods to ever see the light of day. It's true AAA quality stuff. It packs in a whole new story, excellent mapping, and enough crazy set pieces to make Call of Duty and Battlefield blush. Unfortunately, it suffers some design issues that force me to not give it a perfect 10. There's a portion of the game where a Marine will follow you around. He has zero sense of personal space, and the instant you stop moving, he'll be right at your heels, blocking your movement and sometimes preventing you from being able to shoot at enemies, thanks to Crysis' friendly fire lock with an absurd dead zone. Mapping is also painfully linear for a Crysis mod, and ammo caches are hidden as out of the way as humanly possible, though only they will contain the ordinance necessary to move on in the mission. Wreckage tries to be explosive and adrenalin packed, but there are too many "defend this site until a tank shows up that you have to destroy" moments that boil down to an exercise in tedium. Voice acting is also a tad weak, especially from the main supporting character, but damn, they put in so much voice acting, I can forgive a slightly half hearted performance. I can't even understand German anyhow.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

103 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.