Probably the most popular mod for the original Mount & Blade v1.011 - now also for Warband!

Review RSS Feed Lueii says
9 Lueii

Nov 1st, 2011 22 people agree 3 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod is utterly incredible! Everywhere I look I see the four years it took to make this world. From the orcs to the elven armor. The detail is staggering, every scene lovingly crafted, almost every armor textured to perfection. +5
The mod is well balanced and the immersion is total and complete. It immediately reminded me of an Elder-Scrolls Lord of the Rings game. +5
Now sadly there are the bugs. Several quests are broken and some of the enviromental textures (elven bridges and Gondorian stone work) need slightly newer textures or shaders and the solid green in some of the elven scenes need to be fixed. -1
But the experience itself brought me into the heart of Middle-Earth as no Lord of the Rings GAME ever did. 9/10

Also_known_as_Peter says
9 Also_known_as_Peter

Nov 1st, 2011 12 people agree 2 people don't

One of the greatest masterpieces I've ever seen.

Immersion 10/10
All of the areas, armors, weapons, characters, enemies, everything, is perfectly crafted, making the world feel alive. Furthermore, the sheer perfection of fighting against hordes of orcs, trolls, uruks, etc. is one of the greatest ever made.

Polish 8/10
Although the textures and models are perfect, there are still some bugs and crashes. However, I put my faith in the developers to fix all of those.

Magnitude 10/10
All of Middle-Earth, except Eriador, is depicted in this mod and made so in perfection!

Homoeructus says
10 Homoeructus

Mar 29th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

TLD is without a doubt one of the best mods aot there, and I'd say the best for Mount&Blade.

It's not just the art, the gorgeous scenery, the inmersive new quests and the new gameplay features (and that alone would be enough to stand out), it's the incredible ammount of detail put in every bit of the world, in every line of dialogue. The kind of things that show the developer's deep love and knowledge of Tokien's work. And I am a victim of the same love, so I can't be impartial at all. TLD is not only an amazing mod that is incredibly fun to play, it's also a tribute that appeals to the memories of the time when I was reading LOTR for the first time and couldn't stop reading until late night.

That's why I give it a 10/10

Belend0r says
10 Belend0r

Nov 30th, 2011 7 people agree 2 people don't

Don't ask such thing from me, it is simply not possible. I mean c'mon, 10/10? I hardly think that really fits in, more like i would give all my bananas for this project. Really, kinda cofused when seeing such a limited voting options. Anyways, best possible yet not what my heart truly tells of. :)

assumadre says
10 assumadre

Feb 16th, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't

The best mod EVER!

RRCM says
10 RRCM

Nov 18th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

The developers of this mod did a fantastic job bringing Middle Earth to Mount and Blade. You really feel like you're fighting the War of the Ring and there are many great moments to be had including epic battles at the plains right in from on Minas Tirith. The graphics, gameplay, music, and atmosphere are not only excellent in their own right, but all of that has made this mod more fun for me to play than the base game alone.

This is one of the best Mount and Blade mods out there and an excellent mod itself. Even if Lord of the Rings isn't your thing, you'd be missing out not giving this mod a chance.

GodHandApostle says
10 GodHandApostle

Feb 21st, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

Easily the best mod to represent Tolkien's Middle Earth

Anterias says
10 Anterias

Apr 27th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Very immersive, fun to explore, addictive, overall fantastic mod. :)

0-LSD-0 says
9 0-LSD-0

Apr 11th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The fantastic screenshots were enough to make me redownload and reinstall Mount&Blade after, what, 3 years? It's truly fantastic, though because it uses the old M+B engine, the combat isn't very good (a great sub-mod exists for Warband combat animations, though it has some animation bugs and doesn't fix the terrible sword combat while mounted).

I'd give this mod a 10, but twice now i've reached a point in my campaign where the game will just crash at a certain point. The game is kind enough to make backup saves, but using those would still result in a crash once reaching a certain point in time in the game.

The new weapons and armour look fantastic, the new enemies look great and have a nice selection of sounds to go with them (grunts and...stuff), and the great new system of earning rank (and therefore rewards) with different factions is great fun, if a little grind-like and monotonous.

It's definitely worth downloading.

Argeomer says
10 Argeomer

Aug 10th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Excellent mod, the only thing missing is the siege option :)

Community Rating

Average

9.5

619 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.