You wake up in the world, what is being called world between life and death. It is up to the people themselves to fight for survival. But this world isn't empty, it is magical world and it is owned by someone who is being called death. Apparently he isn't god of this world and can only manipulate everything. So you escape from him but at the same time you go through your dark past, so you would understand, why and how did he end up there.

Review RSS Feed triadtimes says
7 triadtimes

Jan 21st, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty good, not the best one out there but it has a certain charm to it. Certainly some nice variability with puzzles (not the same old key/door puzzles over and over).

Overall, the main flaw in my opinion is that it isn't presented as serious as it maybe should have been (death continuing to say "Epic" and "Awesome" or when he says "by the way" it is shown in the subtitles as "btw"). Also (when you play as the detective) you're missing some welders on the stairs and the detective doesn't have subtitles when he speaks.

tl;dr Good story but some errors (probably from rushing it out to meet a deadline), get past those and it earns itself a 7/10

The_Furfather says
4 The_Furfather

Apr 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It needs a lot of work, as there seem to be many bugs, such as dresser drawers through walls, programmed events not executing correctly, wall and floor anomalies, etc. The autosaving is a bonus, though. Necessary, I might add. The voice acting is...Terrible. Well, the male voice actor, anyway. The female actor was livable.

The biggest problem I had was the plot. It makes it seem like you're trying to avoid death, or consequently, you ACTUALLY die... However, there were two instances where you are forced to die in order to progress. :\

I would highly recommend throwing a 'bad end' upon death, if feasible, and taking out the forced deaths, if the plot is sticking with the whole 'you die, you DIE' motif. Additionally, you may want to 'clean' your map of bugs, etc. Should this happen, I could probably grit my teeth at the voiced dialogue in the next chapter and play it, if it is released.

I look forward to the improvements, should they happen.

Vyzor says
7 Vyzor

Jan 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I must say that am impressed the work you got into this one, I really liked the voice acting!I enjoyed the well part, somehow it reminded me of the ring :p
The negative side: well some events seemed to force the player to choose the path like the house in smoke I felt forced to lock the door breaking my immersion. Aside from that it was a rly good custom story :)

Nalcarum says
5 Nalcarum

Aug 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Gosh.. Where to start? I gave up with this custom story. First level, the jumping puzzle, was well made. The Grimm Reaper(?) was amazing as character. Russian dictionary.. Great.

Second level, the home, made me feel that the way to play this custom story was:

1. Open the door
2. Get stuck
3. Get killed

There was a bug in the beginning. Where you had to remove the painting. I found out what to use by chance, and the fact that item did not go to players inventory made things difficult. Especially, when the chisel had a bad habit to sink trough the wall and disappear for good. Using a monster as the mother was brilliant idea, but the way the story was pushed forward was frustrating. Using the players death as transition is an old trick, but it was used way too much. And more, player was not given even a smallest chance to survive. Standing still and waiting for dying is annoying. When the player gets "grounded", it's only natural use candle stick, as it was only item in the room that was heavy enough. But carrying it with you to brake a window? When there is boxes and chairs everywhere? If the window was not bullet proof, the execution of the puzzle was odd, at least.

The forest. The sky was well made, and I'm sincerely grateful that the maker had made sure that player could not go wander in the woods and crash the game. But. It was quit easy to navigate trough the map, at the cost of atmosphere. Then I get stuck in the graveyard, wander around, and suddenly die. No monster, no chase music, nothing. My invisible mother just appears from nowhere and kills me.

After using way too much time trying to get trough that (and the solution is probably ridiculously simple..), I gave up. I didn't want to, I would have loved to learn more about the story which seemed to be well made and interesting. Sadly, the gameplay itself made it too difficult.

So, now I have intelligent and interesting customstory I can't play.

PuerNomine says
3 PuerNomine

Mar 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really didn't go for this one. Confusing and frustrating with poor voice acting. It's super unique, but it didn't work for me.

sarahholmwood says
4 sarahholmwood

Nov 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I usually give high notes even if i experience problems, bugs, and such. but, no, i did not enjoy playing this custom story, I give 4 points for the poem, that's it.

MrsBE says
5 MrsBE

Aug 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I hate to give a rating this low, but I didn't even ENJOY playing this mod. The use of custom music was fantastic, and the voice acting was a nice touch (albeit annoying at times) - but the sheer lack of direction and overall buggyness of the game ruined it for me. I had to reload probably 8 or 9 times just to finish the game, due to getting stuck behind things just from normal exploration, or key items getting stuck as well. Reloading the game would sometimes prevent events from triggering, causing me to have to restart from the beginning.

The last portion of the game where you're in the woods basically made me quit and not finish it for a few days, because I was BORED. Please, add some better direction in the next mod. I wanted to like this! Great imagination behind it, meh execution.

Stalyn says
10 Stalyn

Jun 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I liked it! Had a good mesh of comedy (from 'Death') and scariness/creepiness (The lady is a brute!?) to keep me satisfied. Also, WTF was with the random statue flying in the forest? lol

SpikeAndXan says
9 SpikeAndXan

Apr 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

My review is a 9 BECAUSE it was so short, and numerous bugs, but besides that, my brain is impressed.

Skyfrost says
10 Skyfrost

Apr 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cant wait for chapter 2!! 10/10

Community Rating

Average

7.4

94 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.