The Dark Times is a Star Wars Battlefront II mod with a heavy single-player focus. It adds many new features to the game, including (but not limited to!) wave modes, randomized units, heroes, and skyboxes, and AI hero support. Its sequel, Rising Son, adds more of the above as well as several new maps and scripted missions.

Review RSS Feed DarkWolfV says
10 DarkWolfV

May 23rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

well done, love space battles, really brought fun back into the game!

mirak373 says
10 mirak373

Jan 12th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

great

Executor-64- says
10 Executor-64-

Dec 4th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

no flaws whatsoever...
although I prefer the "starkiller" model from the "battlefront project" mod

Rampsquatch says
10 Rampsquatch

May 9th, 2009 2 people agree 0 people don't

I loved the campaign in this mod. The class system was greatly improved by having different special classes on different maps. My only problem with this mod is when you have to escort the Mon Cal engineers on the Mon Cal level, they will kill each other if you have FF on.

My Absolute Favorite part of this mod is the Mon Calamari Space map, I have oodles of fun on that map. I recommend playing it with a Flight sim joy stick (I use the Logitech Attack3).

CrazyOldTeenager says
10 CrazyOldTeenager

May 17th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod rocks!!! Space Mon Calimari is the best custom mission I've ever seen!

Awesomium says
10 Awesomium

Oct 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great Mod!

moddinman says
10 moddinman

Mar 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I downloaded this mod and it is flawless. I failed to locate any moderate and\or major inconsistencies. I havent't found any bugs yet and that makes it well over impressive since I've had it for a while. The maps are a labor of love. Nothing seems out of place or dull. This mod is among the best and should have a place in the history of battlefront 2 modding, nay, modding in its entirety.

nbatman117 says
10 nbatman117

Jun 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is fantastic. The custom levels are spot-on and everything feels like an actual part of the game. The new game modes (especially Wave) are absolutely awesome and everything is worth playing over, thanks to the random heroes and villains. Speaking of heroes and villains, They are one of the highlights of the mod. There are LOTS and they are each different and cool in their own way. One of my personal favorite maps is the Coronet Rail because being packed into a small, high-speed train with a blaster rifle feels very exciting.

brolee says
8 brolee

Nov 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Focusing on the positive side it adds new content, characters, maps and gameplay modes. Plus a personal buzz, I get to play as Starkiller.

Reqieumthefallen says
6 Reqieumthefallen

May 24th, 2011 1 person agrees 3 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Dark Times may add more content, but it often does not feel like it fixes a great deal of the present problems in the vanilla game. While the mod does provide a new campaign, the difficulty is turned up about 50 notches (starting with only 32 reinforcements while having to run across an entire map to grab about 50 holocrons, is not exactly a realistic difficulty. The only way you can complete some missions is by falling back on 1.3 Patch, which thankfully is at least included). Like wise, some features, such as the lack of units reloading most standard weapons (with also most weapons also not ever running out of ammo) is rather unbalancing, and when in the hands of the AI, can be quite frustrating. Lastly, the space battles seem less entertaining than even before, and I barely played the space maps (aside from one) more than once.

On the positive note, there were some times I was impressed. Frankly, the Millenium (or however you dang well spell it) Falcon level is quite challenging, and there were -some- campaign levels worth revisiting (primarily ones that involved Force users, and the initial droid mission). Some new units actually fit in better (such as a medic), and the attempt to incorporate other units (such as Dark Trooper Phase 1) are well done. It really depends on what you're looking for in a mod.

Community Rating

Average

9.7

80 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.