Station 51 is a single player mod for Half-Life 2: Episode 2. You are on the run from the Combine closing in on your outpost. Can you escape?

Review RSS Feed Hezus says
7 Hezus

May 10th, 2013 6 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I was pretty impressed at the start. The mod jumps right into the action with snipers, combine, dropships, etc. No tedious learning curve, since MOD-players are experienced players. The good design puts monsters below you, under you and make them flank left and right.

After that the MOD sadly starts to decline. Before the zombie part you have to shoot the energy ball to unlock the door. There is no reason for that advanced security to be there and what makes it even more strange is that the gravity gun is on the floor right in front of it. Why not just make a regular door then? If you add gameplay elements, they need to be functional.

The placement of the zombies wasn't very good either. You just slice your way through them without any interesting fights. Also, the combine placement gets more predictable after a while. It's you versus 5 combine soldiers, then restock and do the same thing over again in a different place. There should be more variation. Let players use gameplay elements! I wanted to bring some of the surviving rebels along with me but you immediately block off all ways to do that. The same goes for the hopper mines. They can really influence the battles, but you made sure that bringing them along is a tedious job. Reward innovative players instead of punishing them for not following your predetermined paths.

Visually it's pretty well done but the design also becomes more blocky and repetitive after a while. It felt rushed to me. The ending is probably the best example: Pushing a button to blow up some device and then teleport to an unknown location. It's quite an anti-climax and it doesn't make sense. During the entire game I had no idea what my objective was.

More variation would make this MOD a lot better. Remove some of the combat phases and add puzzles, story elements and nice sequences instead. I experienced severe combat fatigue while playing this. Down-time to relax en enjoy the design is just as important as combat.

Theevina says
7 Theevina

May 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Set in the HL2 universe, this is a typical combine killer mod. It is pretty difficult in some places.

Generic mapping, although pretty good, hoards of non-stop enemies, not much of a story, no good puzzles, but still fun enough.

Beez-one says
7 Beez-one

May 11th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

7/10 good fighting experience not without flaws, can be tedious sometimes.

Needs more unavoidable fight situations.

I mean I won most of the fights by corner ninja method - stay out of battle area if possible and shoot behind a corner. Good example is a small cabin with glass windows in a first fight - I just waited for Combine soldiers to go up a ramp and meet my buckshot into face.

Needs more calm moments in between fights.

I mean come on this non stop action is not good for HL based mod. Good example is a first hunter battle - casual players will probably ragequit at this point. Where is exploration moments?

Needs more reason in map building.

I had a feeling of playing series of rooms connected together. I discovered rebel soldiers in Combine locked area (?). I discovered gravity gun occasionally just to remove an energy barrier and later discovered there was no containment for zombies from other side at all.

flippedoutkyrii says
9 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 18th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent layout and splendid attention to detail, Station 51 is a nice, short romp through familiar locals with a nice touch of decay and secrets to find.

The combat is quite tight and the enemy placement is sensible. While it ended too quickly for me, I believe the pacing made it more worthwhile, and seeing your objective from afar in the last level is something not a lot of HL2 mods do :)

Give this mod a gander, it's a blast!

medve says
8 medve

Jun 9th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

not bad. not too creative ideas, lot of those " lets drop down here and fight soldiers in a big area" which becomes kind of boring. but defently good mapping. needs more colors and enemy types defenetly.

Meki says
10 Meki

Mar 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome mod. Great map design, feeling for details and well thought out situations. A mod does not need hard puzzles or complicated story to tell to be fun. This is pretty simple, run and shoot most of the time. I wish there were more mods like this one.

ghostings says
9 ghostings

Aug 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

You have talent for this, keep making more.

I really like the environments I got to fight in throughout the game, especially at the beginning. Wide areas with numerous avenues for attack and retreat. The mod was also legitimately challenging on hard mode. By far one of my favorite excursions into Combine land.

Gerugamesh says
8 Gerugamesh

Jun 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The mod is really good for the people who love the action of HL2, this short mod has more action then more of HL2:EP2 combined. The prop placing and detail was also great. Though, at some points the mod got very unfair, for example, when you have to open the door into the base, and the Hunters and Combine come out, I felt that was a little overkill. And also when you have to destroy the ball, the influx of guards was insane. Warning to people trying this out, set your difficulty to Normal and below, Hard is insane, and will definitely make it feel more like a grind then actual fun. All in all, pretty good mod.

jerrykuld says
10 jerrykuld

May 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's very interesting! I like it very much!

ZeroPie says
8 ZeroPie

May 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have to say a good mod in general.
Why I give it an 8/10 is because:

Pros:
-Good detail in most parts of the maps
-Straight-into-the-action type, no need for tutorials
-Overall fun experience

Cons:
-Repetitive gameplay, same enemies in the same kind of environment
-No story, wich makes your efforts feel useless in the end
-Lack of puzzles and/or events that take time

I personally like to see much custom content into mods, for example custom guns, vehicles, sounds etc.
Anyway, I say 8/10 and great job on this!

Community Rating

Average

8.1

43 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.