StarCry is a single player mod for the game Crysis with numerous references of science fiction well-known of the players. Explore new worlds and fight the threat of our planet! / Two modders for this project : Mick & Dark_Wolf / www.media-pixel.net / Languages : english & french subtitles

Review RSS Feed Alex2the3gr8 says
8 Alex2the3gr8

Oct 3rd, 2012 5 people agree 2 people don't

This mod is fairly well made and deserves a lot of merits. However, I was very fatigued with most of the mod; I would be running around maps looking for parts which I had "missed" to continue. The boss fights would be way WAY too long since I had no idea what or how to win(most of the hints wouldn't help).

I was also very disappointed that I never got to go through the Stargate more than once...I HATED this! C'mon, it's called Stargate for a reason. Anyway, I gave this mod a 8/10 for it being very enjoyable...mostly.

I'm too tired to give the positives... :D

zalez1 says
10 zalez1

Aug 15th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

my last rating was based on rage, now I think about you guys put alot of work into this, and this deserve a 10/10 from a true stargate fan. Still, I have two suggestions:

1. Jaffa easer to kill with P90
2. Metal particle effect when you hit the Jaffa metal armor plates
3. Loose the Battlestar Galactica ships, I love battlestar galactica, but let me give you my gamer perspective: I was exploring the base, feeling chills from the excitement of being in the SGC aaaaaaannd the BSG ship appears and the feeling is gone...

thib7861 says
10 thib7861

Sep 22nd, 2012 12 people agree 10 people don't

Special thanks to Mick & Dark_Wolf for this amazing work. This is in fact the most incredible modification of the game Crysis. The true potential of the Engine is revealed when we see how these two great developers have a very close attention to detail. Finally, we enjoy a spectacular Sci-Fi gameplay caught between action and adventure.
All the best, T.C

DevianXV25 says
10 DevianXV25

Jan 23rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Amazing mod with an isane gameplay ! One of best mod for Crysis !

ruhtraeel says
8 ruhtraeel

Dec 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod was very ambitious, and incredibly well made, considering that it is a user made mod. Being a Computer Science major, I can understand the difficulties in creating a game. It was long, it was fun, and boy was it unforgiving.

Pros:
-Gameplay solid
-Mechanics all work
-Game looks quite nice
-Surprising amount of variety for a user modification, from platforming to boss battles to other things.

This mod is what I would call a "rough diamond". There are certain little aspects that hinder this mod somewhat.
Cons:
-Placement of health imbalanced. In the beginning chapters (I played on Delta), I pretty much had to restart every time I got hit because I knew that I would not have enough health further on. In the last few levels, I had so many health potions that I couldn't carry any more (although I had to use quite a few against Ra)
-Somewhat imbalanced AI and weapons. It was frustrating at times when I'm forced to use alien weapons such as the Staff and the Zat (more non-bought human weapons please), however not being able to aim because the bullet has a massive cone of randomness in accuracy, while the AI can pretty much snipe you from 40m away with the same weapons. Other weapons such as the Longbow actually don't shoot straight down your sights, as I found I had to aim slightly to the right to compensat
-Walking speed is too slow. I found it very difficult to dodge when there is no cover and a lot of enemies, and numerous times I had to bump up my running speed to even the fight against things with splash damage. I found that 1.3-1.5 was the perfect speed for me.
-Some weapons sound plasticy, like the P90
-Not much backstory (Not having a Stargate background detaches yourself from the game)
-No voice acting (text does get a bit repetitive, but finding good voice actors is difficult)

Overall, this has massive potential, but needs to be polished a bit more. I believe more playtesting is required to make this mod more enjoyable. Keep up the good work!

brolee says
9 brolee

Nov 8th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Discounting minor bugs and glitches and the lack of voice acting. This mod recreates the Star Gate Universe in convincing detail. With the constant feedback by fans the Devs are just making this mod better and better.

deadrawkstar says
6 deadrawkstar

Oct 20th, 2012 5 people agree 4 people don't

I'll give this one a 6/10, to be honest so far from what i've played im not every impressed, what bugged me the most was the difficulty, im no noob, i've been playing crysis since launch, and numerous other fps games, but for some reason these Chinese bastards are killing me super easily. I wasn't impressed at all by that. Secondly, the fact that all the dialogue is all text is a big negative to me, It wouldnt be hard at all to get voice actors to play certain parts, it makes the mod about as half as immmersive as it could have been.

Those are my initial impressions and as they say, first impressions are the most important.

1Stargate1 says
8 1Stargate1

Sep 24th, 2012 4 people agree 3 people don't

Very nice mod but in the 1st mission the dead scientists arms are glitching all over.

Argoon says
4 Argoon

Aug 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Extremely hard even on easy, a zat gun on the series killed with two shots here it only kills after 4 or 5, the staff weapon is very inaccurate, much more them it was on the TV series, the human weapons are almost useless and run out of ammo very fast, you will spend a full magazine on a single jaffa and still he will not die, you will be using the jaffa weapons more times than not because of that, this game is a reload fest and that is a sign of a very badly designed and unbalanced gameplay. Stopped playing at the first boss, it is extremely hard, and that is because the tank you drive is very hard to maneuver, is slow and becomes unstable every time you shot the cannon, making it even harder to drive the tank, they also disabled kicksave on the boss fight, so if you spend half an hour trying to kill it and you want to save to not start all from scratch you are out of luck, is die start again die start again until you rage quit like i did.

johbowfor says
1 johbowfor

Jul 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Tell me how to install it and I will rate is appropriately. The install directions don't work.

Community Rating

Average

8

109 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.