The mod you are trying to view has ceased development and consequently been archived. If you are a member of this mod, can demonstrate that it is being actively developed and will be able to keep this profile up to date with the latest news, images, videos and downloads, please contact us with all details and we will consider its re-activation.

Homeworld 2 meets Star Trek: Armada 2. Set in over all four Star Trek eras you will find three superbly balanced factions to face off against one another, the Alpha Quadrant superpowers! The versatile United Federation of Planets, the formidable Klingon Defence Force and the enigmatic Romulan Star Empire.

Review RSS Feed SwissKnight says
9 SwissKnight

Aug 20th, 2011 8 people agree 3 people don't

Fantastic mod, really does an excellent job of bringing Star Trek to Homeworld 2. Ships and weapon effects all look great and there’s a lot of little details that really make it come alive. Revamped hyperspace is a great addition as it makes combat and resource gathering much more painless.

Only downside is that most maps don’t have a colored skybox, making ships sometimes difficult to see against a mostly black background. Shipyard research also seems a little long, slowing down your midgame. Research is basic enough, which seemed like a plus to me, but if you like messing around tech trees you may be slightly disappointed.

Overall; well worth the download installation is easy enough, so there’s nothing preventing you from playing this right the hell now.

casojin says
10 casojin

Aug 20th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

The graphic is very nice and the gameplay is fun.
You guys have surely put a lot of efforts into this magnificent mod.
It feels like being in Star Trek.

Aliah says
9 Aliah

Sep 13th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very interesting mod that probes new areas in Homeworld 2 modding, and seems to faithfully recreate Star Trek battles(not a huge Star Trek fan, and even I liked the mod).
Highly recommended, if only to complete the sci fi collection.
Only downsides are the slowdowns caused by many heavy FX crossing the screen at once, mostly explosions.
Worth a download!

whip_it says
10 whip_it

Aug 21st, 2011 4 people agree 3 people don't

Okay first off I last played HW 2 like 5 years ago. Last week I was on youtube and i was searching plastic models of klingon bird of preys. Ironicaly on the side I saw a link for bird of prey Homeworld 2 mod. I clicked it, and Bam!, it fully got my attention as i loved how every part of it looked.

ON TOP of how coincidental that was, I was also confidentially on this specific mod's profile page A DAY before the release. So I interestingly joined the 'download authentication wait bandwagon' refreshing every hour.

Anyways the next morning it got released so I downloaded it. I also dloaded HW 2 off piratebay (lol). I was on vista and I had HW 2 @ 1.1 and installed the ST mod. At first it didn't word and would crash bcuz i selected shader 2.0. After putting it at 1.0 it finally worked.... and boy o BOY what a beauty. I had a lot of fun with it... so far ive prolly played like 5 skirmish games.

Now after playing all those games I can obviously mention a million thing but i do know this is 'ST Mod Alpha' so i know there will be many thing to come.

Just to mention some aspects tho.... (1) yes the warp works great once the skirmish starts, but then becomes very buggy after, to the point where clicking an area to warp in just stops working and im forced to reclick the warp but to get outta that 'warp mode' (2) once ships warp in it makes 10 seconds to select them?!?!?!!! (3) After playing so many times (i only played fed) i noticed the CAPITAL SHIPS were USELESS and i just started ONLY making ships from the small shipyard. It seems as tho captal ships have garbage FIREPOWER, move very SLOW, and their armour SUCKS. Whereas ships like the steamrunners and akiras have the same firepower?!?!?!!?!!!. PLEASE do a lot more work on the capital ships maybe give less time between shots, make em faster, give them more spots on their ship to fire from (even make them more expensive if you have to)(4) More ship types!

not many chars left but THANK YOU!!, wens beta out?

mmlee91 says
9 mmlee91

Aug 20th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Absolutely excellent mod - very impressive work! Well worth all the anticipation this week!

Absolutely love the effects of all the weapons and the ship rendering is extremely well done. I love the way ships manoeuvre around each other, phaser arcs and torpedoes are some of my favourite parts, simply stunning! Another excellent thing is the fact that warping around the map is actually a viable option, opening up the tactics a bit more than vanilla homeworld.

There are a few things that I would like to see changed, things which I assume will be addressed in future releases - Firstly, cloak effects are quite haphazard at the moment, though i gather from a previous comment that this is being looked into for the next version. Also I wonder if the shipyard mechanisms can be tweaked slightly so that ships don't simply appear out of nowhere. I also felt that the time in which it takes to build the shipyards should be shortened (at least for the first level shipyard) as it tends to slow down the game somewhat in the middle. My last little gripe is that the custom maps lack lighting, which i dont think does the ships justice. Certainly, its realistic for space, but I'd love to see my ships a bit more.

Overall, an absolutely brilliant piece of modding from a great team, breathing new life (and new frontiers) into an old game. I can't wait to see where this goes from here!

TrekkieStu says
9 TrekkieStu

Aug 20th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think this is a very good start to a fantastic mod.

sahmsnash says
9 sahmsnash

Jun 23rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ok, I played this mod back when only TNG era was playable and I really liked it, but now that all the eras are in game this has officially become my favorite HW2 mod. If you are a fan or Star trek you really must play this mod.

- The graphics and effects are superb. The shield effects are amazing and the phasers and photon torpedos all look and behave exactly like they do in the shows and movies. Warping a Sovereign class into the middle of a battle and watching phasers bleed off of it in every direction, hitting multiple ships, is pretty awesome.
- Ship selection is great for all races and the ships themselves are really detailed. Pretty much every ship seen on screen is in the game, The modeling is top notch, and the detail is great. Its just so cool to zoom in on a ship to see all the lights. My favorite part is the rotating red tip of the nacelles on TOS Federation ships.
- The atmosphere is great. The music and sound FX all make me feel like I am watching an episode.
- Multiple game modes that all are fun and work.

All that being said I do have a few gripes.

-Klingons and Federation are pretty equal balance wise, but Romulans are op. Their weapons seem more powerful across the board and the flat, bird-like shape of their ships make it hard for ships of other races to hit them with phasers when they fly head on. Ive had Federation ships miss every shot at a warbird.
- Strikecraft are op. This is my biggest complaint. Strikecraft do tons of damage and are hard to hit with bigger ships. Doesnt help that the AI spams them. I routinely lose battleships and cruisers to 2-3 bombers, especially in ENT era. Its almost pointless to research or buy capital ships when 5 bombers cost half as much, do more damage, and last longer in battle.
- All ships are squishy. This would be my second biggest complaint. Even capital ships in one on one fights seem to die in a few hits. Its hard to appreciate the awesome shield effects when every ship dies in seconds.

Nonetheless, this is a really well done mod. Its well worth the download, and I found installing and getting it to work really easy, even in steam.

flipdarkfuture says
5 flipdarkfuture

Apr 1st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

hey guys. first off, liking the mod so far. races are well made and the ships look great. that being said I have two real concerns about the mod.

Firstly, the turn rate of the ships seems woefully slow. Not sure if this is a limitation of the game itself or jus the way the ships have been modded in but it poses real problems in big ship fleet battles where a good chunk of your ships cant fire on enemies because there weapons are at the wrong angle and the ship takes forever to turn and face the right way.

Second, and possibly more importantly, why cant the federation use sensor ping? this seems to be a huge mistake with the abilities of Fed ships seeing as both the Romulans and the Klingons can do it. Gives the other races a serious edge over the Feds in multiplayer matches.

Other than those two problems the mod is going great so far and I hope the good work continues. You guys are doing an awesome job

QuoNiam says
8 QuoNiam

Mar 3rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good work.
Graphically brethtaking for a 12 years old game engine.
The tremendous effort in modeling the ships i awesome.
Battles are well rendered.

And having access to all Star trek eras is the ice on the cake !

The only setback is the minimalistic tech tree that somehow could diminish the interest one could have in the game, for those who are hardcore researchers !

hekto76 says
10 hekto76

Oct 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

OK,Preview???For this mod!?!?!?:D
That's my favorite mod ever,and one of my favorite games(if we look on it like a game)

So,the Preview...That game is about:Star trek,Strategy,Spaceship Combat,Homeworld gamemechanics, everything I like.Only one thing i didn't like in it:there isn't enough species I would like if there was more like:Vulcans,Andorians,The Qs(they would be in cheat mod :D) and a lot more.I vote 10/10 'cause i live the Star Trek series much better than all other.I think I'm a Star Trek fanatic or fan.I don't have a day without watching at least 3-4 episodes of Star Trek.I loved this mod so much.I never could defeat an easy enemy in Homeworld 2,but in STC I play very well...most with the romulans,with raptors,the sniper units :D.

"So,a thousand of ten."-hekto76,07.10.2014

Live long,and prosper! hekto76

Community Rating

Average

9.5

141 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.