Slums 2 is episode 2 engine`s mod. Nine maps, dark and creepy. Nothing innovative in gameplay, but still good regular shooter. Slums 2 was created by only two men, who were inspired by Silent Hill, Condemned, FEAR games. Mod does not provide new weapons or some special features.

Review RSS Feed isaktamin says
9 isaktamin

Nov 6th, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

Slums 2 is a fairly short, yet incredibly detailed mod.

Gameplay mostly revolves around generic shooting. This may seem boring at first glance, but the general gunplay is from tried and proven Half-Life 2. AI placement is great, considering the cramped setting of the slums.

The lack of a story definitely hurt the mod. Adding a simple plot line to explain the strange intro dream, and why the character is fighting his way out of the slums, would greatly increase the immersion.

Atmosphere in this mod is absolutely fantastic. Crawling through grim, dark tunnels, just to climb out into the large, ruined cityscape shows the modder's attention to graphical detail and artistic design. The post-processing effects never felt too harsh, and largely influenced the shady art style.

The sounds and music quality is excellent. The new gunfire sounds are top-notch, sounding entirely natural with the default HL2 weapons.
The music was what caught my eye (or ear). Obviously designed to fit the retro style, the music is a fantastic mix of soundtrack and electronic. Timing of the music was impeccable, and usually ended perfectly after the firefights.

Sadly, the levels suffer from some rapid change of pace. One minute, you're fighting Combine in the apartments. A few minutes later, you're slowly heading through zombie-infested tunnels. Again, back to Combine. The style of play changes far too quickly, and I believe it would have been better to have two or three major play-style changes.

For strong atmosphere, solid and proven gameplay, beautiful sounds, and graphical excellence, I give Slums 2 a 9 out of 10.

LegioN_20 says
10 LegioN_20

May 1st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod is just great it has all those things I like about a mod
Atmosphere, Horror, Good story and Nice locations.

Dim-Dantist says
8 Dim-Dantist

Apr 15th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Мод неплох. Понравился дизайн, но геймплей сделан плохо. Баланс ужасен. Если больше не во что играть, советую, а так оставьте на второй план.

Theevina says
9 Theevina

Mar 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Excellent mod. It focuses on portraying a slums area very well. Battle is well paced and overall gameplay is fun.

.:NiGhThAwK:. says
9 .:NiGhThAwK:.

Jun 20th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I really like the feel of this mod. Mostly because it's so dark, and depressing but in a good way! I really love how it looks aswell! The graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is pretty much standard. All in all, if you're looking for a short but awesome campaing, then try this mod!

strykzone says
10 strykzone

Jun 12th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Top notch action in this, Loved how the shottie was the main powerhouse gun in this. Good stuff XD

Alvar_Hanso says
10 Alvar_Hanso

Jul 23rd, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I liked this. The color-correction isn't overused, and you always have barely enough ammo and health to survive. Some parts were a bit tacky, and a few parts weren't that well-optimized, but these flaws were largely overshadowed by the otherwise flawless state of the mod. A fantastic sense of atmosphere and a great little experience overall. Had a blast playing through on hard!

Sharkken says
5 Sharkken

Oct 4th, 2009 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

At first i found this mod quite interesting, nice level design, good atmosphere, but after the 5 minute mark I got bored there's no true mission, only shooting combine people like 'Painkiller'.

Even then, with 'Painkiller' there were still interesting thing to do like find hidden collectible or get weapons that are interesting I mean, guys who developed Slums 2 you can at least put some new weapons or interesting scripted events which would have blown mind away.

Overall it's derivative in nature even with the new extended edit which still feels the same, but I'm extremely disappointing cause this mod had lots of potential and I'm giving it a 5 cause you've put effort in just not ideas.

VladGuardian says
7 VladGuardian

Mar 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very not bad.
Very playable.
Though, lacks some mapping beauty...

xXdraky says
7 xXdraky

Jan 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Big improvement over the first one. A nice, short, combine filled extravaganza.

Community Rating

Average

7.8

278 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.