Resourceful Protagonist is a mod all about being smart and thinking before acting, you play as a regular citizen in a non-named city under combine control however things are about to take a turn for the worse and obviously you have to get out of dodge. The aim of the mod is to make an enjoyable experience that challenges me as a level designer to push myself to the edges of my experience and beyond!

Review RSS Feed jeremydog says
7 jeremydog

May 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

hmm. this is pretty good, just needs some polish. the maps where great, and the custom sounds where nice too. i found myself wandering around without a crowbar a lot of the time and had to activate cheats to get it.

but the maps don't really seem to have much flow or connection. and it would be nice to see some daylight and friendly characters.

it's worth a shot though.

Skizzo says
7 Skizzo

Apr 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice map design, but just average gameplay:
- exploration is seldom rewarded (even when it's dangerous)
- few weapons (I missed grenades)
- despite being named "Resourceful", the gameplay seldom invites you to strategy
- linear most of the time
- ending is just "meh"
- NPC are often dumb
- NO Gravity Gun (it's HL2, for God's sake! Without GG it's like a cake without frosting! :-)

GMassacre76 says
7 GMassacre76

Apr 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good game for good people :-)

medve says
7 medve

Mar 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

not bad, needs polishing and testing

Hezus says
4 Hezus

Mar 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

As a small HL2 mod, this would be a passable piece. The level design is ok, monster placement is ok but it doesn't really excel at any level. It's also quite short. At this point I'd say 6/10.

But what drew me to the mod was the title. A mod where you have to be resourceful seemed really cool. In the sewers, suddenly a CP voice sounded. My expectation: CP's will patrol the area and I have to carefully sneak past them or trick them somehow. But: No CPs, I could just walk through the sewer.

Then in the prison. Armed with only a pistol and limited ammo, I encounter 3 heavy armored combine soldiers with shotguns. It's a completely unfair fight, so I imaged: now I have to be resourceful! I pile up the boxes and carefully block their views so I can sneak past and try to find an alternative route. But: no alternative route. I actually have to engage those soldiers to get past them.

Later I'm in a city. Up ahead I can see a combine outpost but it's far out. Where I'm currently at, there's a bunch of zombies which pose no immediate treat. Maybe here I have to finally be resourceful. Maybe the mapper wants me to use these zombies to distract the combine. So I lure the zombies up to the outpost waiting for the firefight. But: there's no-one there. I can just walk straight through the city and the combine outpost. There is some howling from fast zombies, but they also do not show up.

After that I just literally ran past every encounter and finished the map within minutes without firing a bullet.

I realize my review tone is quite harsh but none of my expectations were met giving the single goal of this MOD: being resourceful. Currently the maps are just empty shells of 'what could have been'. However, this can be remedied. If the maps get a visual update they are good enough to be used again. But this time: think outside of the box! Come up with at least 3 ways to beat the encounters in these maps and make sure the player has the opportunity to use those alternatives!

middledee says
8 middledee

Mar 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's short and simple, but it is good. Also, it doesn't quite live up to the name though.

Dysprogue says
5 Dysprogue

Mar 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is decent. The goal seems to have been to make a less linear set of levels as in the levels are linear but there are a whole bunch of areas that are available to explore but almost all of these are dead ends and generally it is not particularly rewarding to explore them. It feels like the author ran out of ideas for these areas as they did seem to be quite formulaic. It just feels like it's spread quite thin.

Still, it's cool that the author tried to do something different, the lack of health makes encounters quite tense although some auto saves need to be changed so that they don't reload to a point one second before the player gets their head blown off by a shotgun.

In this release the mod is distinctly OK I think if the authors put some more work into story in order to add context and better rewards for exploring side areas it could be good.

ChromeAngel says
7 ChromeAngel

Mar 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A nice little exploration mod, with some improvements to the stock HL2 rolled in.

Theevina says
8 Theevina

Feb 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was fun and well designed. The details and atmosphere were good, but in some places a bunch of boxes, bottles, and other crap were placed unnecessarily. This lags my PC when there's too many of them. Also, I felt it was kind of easy, but that may be because I normally examine every nook and cranny before doing anything.

geoffegg says
6 geoffegg

Feb 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Resourceful Protagonist is a decent mod that has exploration as one of its aims. The level design is simple but effective and I like that they used some custom animation for the weapons. The use of exploration is used well as the player is able to go off track to find some more ammo and weapons and occasionally the odd hazard. I also enjoyed exploring the forest at the end.

However, I feel the mod was too short and an example of this is how quickly you can finish the 3rd map. I also feel that some of the level design could have been thought out better to provide more of a feel and background to the city as well as further enhance exploration, an example could be the player finding a secret route that lets them bypass a level.

The hazards you face when you explore weren't very challenging and it was something I could easily deal with.

I think it would be good if more levels are added to the mod and the design is partially rethought so exploration is more interesting to do and each level provides more length. I would also like to see some more fights with the combine added in and the story told slightly better. Perhaps some levels could take place during the day?

All in all, this is a decent mod that still has room for improvement. I hope to see if more is added in a Public Release 2 as the mod is currently on the right track.

Community Rating

Average

6.7

18 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.