Nuclear Winter is a single player mission for Half-Life Opposing Force. It comprises 29 new maps plus a ton of new scripted scenes, models, artwork, character voices, sound effects and music. Nuclear Winter was recently re released with Steam support. Opposing Force is no longer required. In the early 21st century the U.S. fight several anti-terrorist campaigns in the Middle East. Bickering in the world community over the morality of these campaigns eventually leads to the withdrawal of China and Russia from the U.N. Even NATO is divided and it soon becomes obvious that America's only real support comes from Great Britain. In 2009 the league of Arab nations invade and occupy Israel. The U.S. and Britain come to Israel's defense but it is a struggle that will eventually be lost. China and Russia are supplying arms and troops to the invaders. Tactical nukes are used in the offensive marking the first time nuclear arms have been used in war since WW2. Six months later, India...

Review RSS Feed Elitesse says
10 Elitesse

Jul 10th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome! The locations are amazing, especially the city! I can't understand why the enemy is using the Black Ops models, that doesn't make sense, is my opinion it lacks friendly soldiers since it's a war! It should have some civilians, too, since you fight in a city! But the mapping is very nice, and the ending was funny.

HLWATCHER says
10 HLWATCHER

Dec 23rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Well, overall I liked the concept, it feels like a total conversion mod, without getting out of the OpF and HL environments, the story is clear and neat and is pretty cool to see how it evolves from the beginning to the end of the mod.

Combat is nice and very strategic, which is a thing I love in this kind of mods. Also the OpF weapons are perfect to do clever combat to the end, actually weapons are my favorite thing in OpF, and here is pretty well applied to the mod.

Also the puzzles were clever and all of them pretty good, though I know that some inexperienced gamer could found them kind of hard, but nevertheless they are perfectly beatable.

The cutscenes were pretty nice too, and voice acting though it had his mediocre parts and some kind of cool ones it was well applied too.

The whole maps were medium to big size but always got me exploring and battling so that’s also another detail I liked.

I know this mod it had some buggy glitches, like sometimes faulty triggers or so but that’s rather a common problem in many HL mods, so it didn’t bother me at all, besides all of them could be solved via noclip.

And at last that final escape added a perfect ending to the mod and always got me pretty well entertained as action didn’t was down a bit, so yep I can say this is a very good mod every real HL-OpF pure gamer must play!

Xylemon says
6 Xylemon

May 5th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

A classic, and one I grew up with. Although the overall quality of the mod isn't that great (mainly just a mediocre mappack) it still provides a good number of fun.

soldine173 says
10 soldine173

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Nuclear Winter is very amazing.
Storyline: The plot of the Mod was great. It starts of normal before it becomes horrifying, just like Paranoia. Because Radiation is my best favourite hazard, it's a very interesting way to involve Radiation or Nuclear based events in Mods or Video Games.
Voice Acting: To be honest, The voice over's are great but some of them are a bit hard to hear.
Voice Effects: Vlad (while speaking in the microphone) sounds great but it's a bit hard to hear on what He's saying.
Locations: Because I'm interested in Video Games that contains Zombie or Mutant apocalypses, the maps that are infested with Mutants are very great. The Locations that contains Black Operations is great.
Scenes: In the part where You first confront Black Op Tanks, The Black Soldier's death was a bit laughable. In certain scenes of the Mod, it shows a photo of a black-haired Woman named Xena. Because I can't hear anything they're saying, It's a bit hard to understand how they pronounce Her name. Not to mention, these scenes are a bit laughable also.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Apr 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

One of the most rare gold source mods out there. But very fun, cheesy; but unique voice acting. Overall, classic and obscure mod that should be played. :)

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Dec 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

As I'm writing this I'm deliberating as to what I should give it, the mod has something I love, and that's a good use of urban level design which we don't get to see very often (like poke 646, Black Ops, Fate Reversal).
It has a very short section in the beginning where you fight along side team mates which is something well want out of a opposing force mod, and you get to do that for another short section towards the end.
I think it does way to much solo fighting but then again Opposing Force did that mostly to, I know the AI are untrust worthy and can't climb ladders, crawl through vents or jump over stuff but they can fight and move fast through areas on their own & I would love to see have seen more of that.

Theres puzzles to if anyone likes to have to think but theres a few that are to easy and require a flick of a switch.
The storyline is good and the voice acting was funny and sounded good to. I don't appreciate the Opposing Force lines in the Osprey (deja vu in a bad way), but the mod did give you, was well made eventhough the zoo was a little silly and lacking in detail.
The ride on the user controlled cart was a bit lame (on-a-rail anyone?)
The tram ride and run through a dark section in night vision was intense.
You had to escape from a pursuing helicopter and track through a sewer section and by the end your going through a nuclear facility and your liking its length.

I would say its one of the best mods I've played if you can forgive one or two mishaps.
Excellent pacing and great level design for the most part.
If your only interested in fighting with team mates then this mod doesn't really deliver on that.

andrea89 says
7 andrea89

Apr 2nd, 2014

No review provided

flamingcrows says
5 flamingcrows

Mar 18th, 2013

No review provided

Adsa22 says
10 Adsa22

Feb 6th, 2013

No review provided

Hgrunt|Chub says
8 Hgrunt|Chub

Feb 3rd, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.7

40 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.