After the climatic end to Matto3, Jack Carver is back and out for revenge against the man who shot him. Matto4, the next mod in the series by the Mattomedia team, picks up where Matto3 left off in an all new action adventure. Taking full advantage of the powerful Cryengine, Matto4 includes: A feel good, fast-paced and gripping storyline. New characters brought to life with fresh voice acting and custom animations. New weapons: Walther P99, Benelli M3, Steyr Aug, H+K mp7's and a few extra surprises. Fun game play ideas such as the shootable fire extinguishers which blind AI and launching gasbottles like rockets! Detailed and atmospheric level design which takes you from swamps to high tech labs, sunny beaches to thunder storms, underground sewers and old mines. Typical Matto humor in the form of hidden content, cheesy dialog and gimmicks. Mattos world deviates from FarCry's in that Jack Carver is an agent for the CIA working on location, undercover. With some help from his friends...

Review RSS Feed Kilroy357 says
10 Kilroy357

Apr 21st, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent mod. Matto 4 contains some of the best work I've ever seen. Very nicely done maps, custom weapons, and cutscenes that look like they were done by professionals.

If you have Far Cry, this mod is a must-play.

Szczekus says
10 Szczekus

Jun 9th, 2009 3 people agree 0 people don't

What can I say. The authors made a long way from Matto 1 to 4, everyone should play all 4 pieces[ the story is in the 3rd and 4th part only tho ] to see how the series evolved.

The story is good[ humor ect.] and interesting, the environment is really beautiful and detailed. The animations look a bit stiffly but that doesn`t bother at all. The voice acting is ok, the hero`s voice can be annoying sometimes tho.

My note is 10/10 because it`s just the best mod for Far Cry[ way better than the overrated TDS ] and one of the best in overall.

100% FUN GUARANTEE!

///|WARNING|\\\
The slow motion effect can work in the opposite way sometimes[ the game becomes faster instead of slower]! It depends on your sys spec so you can never be sure.

flippedoutkyrii says
10 flippedoutkyrii

Dec 3rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Matto4 is easily the best in the entire series, bringing professional animations, humorous dialogue and plenty of surprises with great pacing, superb level design and remarkably decent voice acting.

This is a must play for anyone who owns Far Cry! and is easily the best Singleplayer mod for the game. :)

Vikom says
10 Vikom

Apr 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, great ideas, funny moments, lot of new objects, long story. Really amazing mod. I don't like Jack's new voice only.

Didjay says
10 Didjay

Jul 20th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mod for Far Cry. New weapons, new models of buildings and other objects. Very immersive, I had a good time.

Decent work in productions of Crytek. must try!

projektariel says
9 projektariel

Oct 19th, 2009 2 people agree 0 people don't

Pros: New story with a good sense of (black) humor, amazing maps and cutscenes that are up to par with the ones of the original game

Cons: Voice acting could have been better and the difficulty level is sometimes frustrating (at least it was for me)

Summary: Every Far Cry fan should have played this mod! :)

UBIsquash says
10 UBIsquash

Jun 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10 for me simply because I've not played a mod that delivered as much as this.
When the competition falls short, and something surpasses it so greatly, that means it at the top. Whats a better 'mod' than Matto 4? Can't say

ccl-sama says
10 ccl-sama

Sep 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Matto4 has blown me away. It doesn't feel like a mod anymore. New weapons, animation, voice acting and the epic level design makes it like a brand new game which I even willing pay for to play. Actually I have more fun with this Mod then the game itself! A must play!!

bradman500 says
10 bradman500

Jan 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

awesome

Nalike says
10 Nalike

Nov 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

its amazing. i mean the approach of the modding team is pretty mature. i was shocked when i first played matto 3 and 4. i thought it will be another stupid map with lot of mercenaries wanking around. but there was a story the Ai was behaving serious and u actually had to plan ur approach. the rambo way doesnt get u anywhere. good job ppl. i am looking forward to more work in future...

Community Rating

Average

9.8

78 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.