The Hazardous-Course 2 is a spoof of the original "Hazard-Course" from Half-Life, which resembles the first player training levels. In contrary to this, the Hazardous-Course, as it's name let's suggest, is much more dangerous. Although it's a mod for a first person shooter, the player can only wield a weapon at the designated target range. So it plays more like an adventure. The difficulty is quite challenging, but the rewards are accordingly. The Basic Training is peppered with hidden Secrets, which reveal tools, shortcuts, control rooms, and other features, to ease almost all challenges. There are two Secret Levels and one Bonus Level to discover, and to complete to access the final part of the Hazardous-Course. Help can be found on the page in form of a FAQ and a complete walkthrough. Unfortunately these are all in german. But to be translated soon. But be aware, that these helps may spoil some surprising Easter eggs, insider gags, and a lot of the actual game play of the HC2!

Review RSS Feed AUG_DUDE says
10 AUG_DUDE

Aug 10th, 2012 7 people agree 0 people don't

One of the most challeging, punishing, cunning, rage-inducing and funniest mods I've got my hands on.

GNU/Hurt says
10 GNU/Hurt

May 4th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

awesome mod

ELjanoCZE says
10 ELjanoCZE

Apr 4th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Just awesome...

angelo12mx says
10 angelo12mx

Jul 15th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

cool mode I love those mods. I hope for part 2 of this story ;)

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jul 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A real hair pulling mod. But i can't criticize this mod because it's meant to annoy the hell out of players. So i give it a 10 because of the i wanna be the guy feel to it.

Bl@cK says
10 Bl@cK

May 13th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Quality of this mod is unbelievable! Its hard to imagine - how much time and energy invested in it!

Flash_CSM says
10 Flash_CSM

Apr 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Awesome!

nopushbutton says
10 nopushbutton

Jun 23rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Frustrating is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this mod. Awfully, awfully frustrating. Why in the world would I rate it a 10?

It's frustrating, you see, not because of bugs, not because of poor or confusing map design, it's frustrating in its genius, in its mind-bendingly intricate levels.

Very little feels unintentional in this mod, unlike an unfortunately high proportion of other mods. To the contrary, Hazardous Course 2 is a beautiful homage to Half Life, Black Mesa, and the GoldSrc engine, and everything seems to have been knowingly and meticulously placed.

The mod seems, in its entirety, a reference to all of the little moments of Half-Life where you see an inexplicably dangerous structure or feature of Black Mesa and wonder, "how the heck did OSHA let them get away with this?" In Hazardous Course 2, these moments are exaggerated to a ridiculous, gratuitous extreme.

I don't want to spoil too much because every little gag in this mod is golden, but one section had me busting up with laughter. Anyone who has played a lot of Half-Life singleplayer mods most likely starts groaning in pain upon recognizing an NPC escort section. Upon seeing the section I am thinking of, any such player is liable to fall silent before uttering a faint, hopeless "No..."

However, owing to the mod's great design and optimization, this escort section, along with almost every other part, LOOKS much more impossibly difficult than it actually is. This is the greatness of Hazardous Course 2.

OneGamer2 says
3 OneGamer2

Jun 19th, 2015 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is sucks!

AI_COLONEL says
10 AI_COLONEL

Jun 2nd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best Half-Life mods I have ever played! The mapping is superb and the scripted sequences are very well-executed. The mod idea itself is very imaginative.

Community Rating

Average

8.8

96 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.