Half-Life: New Life is a new version of The Unbelievable Graphic, fixed and contains more features.

Review RSS Feed 0b1der says
3 0b1der

Sep 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

meh.

RedFog says
10 RedFog

Aug 6th, 2012 0 people agree 3 people don't

Cool mod. This enhances Half-life alot. The best point is that it uses latest version of xash3d.

Magic_Nipples says
7 Magic_Nipples

Aug 5th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

For a beta it is pretty good. I have a bit of a glitch were parts of the textures are black, but when I walk up close to the 'black' texture it fades back to normal. -Minor complaint that could be an issue my on board graphics card for my laptop.

I also believe that Barney is on meth. -I laughed when I saw his face.

Also the voice for the female scientist hopefully will be changed from that robotic Microsoft Sam like voice. -minor complaint

Other little pet-peeves are the semi-not working iron sights could use some cleaning up in the code I guess. Also the mp5 fire rate could be faster.

Valkinsenn says
7 Valkinsenn

Aug 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Rough around the edges, but a good beta.

I like the inclusion of iron sights onto the Glock and the MP5, but the iron sights on the MP5 are buggy. Either the front ring gets misaligned, even when standing still, or it doesn't even put the bullets where the front sight is, in the case of reloading during iron sights.

The Glock is not so buggy, but it definitely tries to mis-align itself. And the Glock's iron sights are so close to the screen that it is difficult to tell where the bullet's going to hit, since the front sight blade is too big. Plus, when it fires, the recoil of the weapon causes it to snap up off of, and obscure the target.

About it being noticeably rough around the edges, while aiming outside of iron sights, the arms move around, more than they should. For instance, looking up at normal speed will end up swinging the arms WAY upward. Or turning around will cause them to swing hard in the opposite direction of where you're turning. While not game-killing, it can be a bit distracting.

Textures in the game can be a bit funky/strange at times. Being honest, I don't remember Barney being THAT terrified during the events of Half-Life (it's the eyes). Also, I was able to see Gordon's hands clipping through the HEV suit's arm plates, it looked like there was a red light constantly underneath the crowbar in places, and I could even see through parts of the Glock and MP5 (Glock was most noticeable).

I'm a bit divided on the addition of a "bloody screen" damage indicator. It seems like a fresh addition to a mod of this type for Half-Life, but when used in game, it can prove to be too distracting. So much so, that I was tempted to turn it off.

However, even with all the bugs, it is definitely a good proof-of-concept mod/game, and I would like to see more from it in the future.

:)

I give this mod a 7/10.

EugenefromZPS says
10 EugenefromZPS

Aug 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

cool

tehtiromusas says
1 tehtiromusas

Nov 2nd, 2013

No review provided

Knight_Ken says
10 Knight_Ken

Sep 9th, 2013

No review provided

noob_1991 says
10 noob_1991

Aug 20th, 2013

No review provided

super1372437341 says
5 super1372437341

Jul 3rd, 2013

No review provided

Ogdred says
10 Ogdred

Dec 4th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

6.2

27 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.