Half-Life 2: Short Stories is a team working on a group of modifications that take place in the same realm. A lot of the focus is on the story and gameplay, new innovative set pieces and puzzles. After the release of the first episode of Human Error, the team is planning to release more episodes and expand the characters and the world.

Review RSS Feed Fantasmagory says
10 Fantasmagory

Nov 26th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

the best mod!

zck2020 says
10 zck2020

Apr 26th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Few mods pull of what this mod does. I have yet to play a mod that has combine gameplay better than this one. I love the section where you get to use the APC. Not to mention the multiplayer, which has new and original game modes. On top of gameplay I enjoyed the story. Though a few of the characters were less that pretty, it didn't really bother me all that much. It was also fun to get to see some enemies from Half-Life 1 reiterated in the source engine.

MartiansinUranus says
8 MartiansinUranus

Aug 8th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The awesomeness in this mod canbe summed up in one sentence: You get to drive an APC. You get all the badass weaponry a combine CP should have.

It has very few problems, but still some. Anders' girlfriend's character model is just horrible looking. The gameplay is solid, excpet for it's biggest problem. It was too easy. I didn't die once in the game, even when I changed the difficulty from normal to hard towards the end. Vortigaunts, grunts, and the super weak rebels all died instantly with the power of my shotgun.

chopper587 says
10 chopper587

Jan 31st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

is the Opposing Force of Hl2.. Great work!

bennytschet says
9 bennytschet

Jan 28th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great mod, perfectly made, and just a blast. I love it comepletely, but there are some glitches that need fixing. No glitches that get in the way of gameplay, but they're still there. Still a great mod though.

NOW GO AND CLICK THAT DOWNLOAD BUTTON!!!

VB says
8 VB

Dec 27th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nice mod but it needs some server.

[MC]Pimpão says
10 [MC]Pimpão

Apr 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

+FULLY DRIVEABLE APC WITH TARGET TAGGING AND ROCKET CANNONS
+CONTROLLABLE MANHACKS
+COMBINE PORTABLE SNIPER RIFLE
+THE SATISFYING FEELING OF HITTING A REBEL WITH A STUNSTICK AND MAKING HE FLY OUT OF THE WINDOW

anything else you need to know?

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Jan 31st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is probably one of the most on the fence mods I've played so far, its got everything you'd expect for a winner. Its got a good setting, good concept, some great scenes, and new enemies, new combat elements, but it ends up feeling lacking by the end. First lets start with the good. Story is pretty decent for what we've gotten, its got charm, good voice acting, except for the song at the end (Phillip barlowe BLUEAGHHH!) characters that you can care about. And when I say good concept, you get to play as the combine but instead of something bland they give us human like personality. Apparently the civil protection employ citizens who are willing to work for the combine without needing to lose their "instincts" and become mindless drones who take orders. We instead got a rag tag bunch of ruffians, you as usual the faceless/voiceless protagonist and a tough minded gal, Phillip as the punching bag, and the egotistical one who blames everyone else for his blunders. Hard not to get into it. We even got some memorable out of story lines "I need to get laid" the tough gal snarks, and my favourite "you don't stop, your like a robot" which gave me a wry smile seeing as its a reference to our expectation as to what we thought the mod was going to be like. We aren't all mindless drones. Unforuntely the level design doesn't ever get great, its alot of corridors sectioned off into little manhack puzzles (using them to knock out the generators that the rebels have taken over, in order to powerdown the forcefields), realistic obviously for a university but not great to play. The first section in the streets was as expected, the 3rd section with defending the base, and last base is basically what people should have been expecting.

This is a multiplayer/coop mod first, singleplayer second. So naturally base defense is what your really in for mostly. It ends rather abruptly giving us scene that didn't really add much to the story. Whats worse is that its been 5 years and it still isn't finished & from what I hear, not going to be.
Its moderately long but it still feels like the potential for something really great was here. Level design and story possibilities, are just left to the imagination I guess.

NightFuel says
9 NightFuel

Dec 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mods for half-life 2 on this website. Most mods you play as Gordon or a rebel but this one let's you play as the civil protection. Now this mod has new weapons, enemies and items. I won't say what they are because you should try this for your self, now this mod is short about 1-2 hours long but its so good I would replay it again

_EviL says
10 _EviL

Oct 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very nice

Community Rating

Average

9.1

485 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.