Your name is Alex Johnes. You're one of scientists caught up in the Black Mesa disaster. After being trained in a special Black Mesa self-defense course three months ago, you're unwilling to accept the sure death as your destiny. You will neither let the troops catch you, nor will they wipe you out. Make your way. Find Gordon Freeman. He is the last hope that drives you traveling on...

Review RSS Feed TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

Nov 24th, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The mod has some things going for it, the custom weapons, custom grunts with desert camo, and one that had a sugegasa (bamboo hat), custom snow grunts and some unique locals.

But unfortunately its not enough to save it from the invisible wall syndrome. Many places that seem like you can go, you can't... alot of the time for no real reason. Like when you go down a stair way thats broken on the end, you can't even jump to your death.
A place where there was a a fairly large broken hole in the wall, you couldn't get through. Yet another obscure part of the wall that had a smaller hole, somehow the game had expected you to know that you had to hit it with your knife to make it a bigger hole... WHAT ABOUT THE OTHER NOTICEABLY LARGER HOLE?
Even regular snow terrain is difficult to move over because there seems to be invisible walls all around it.

But if that isn't annoying enough the game also has divergent paths that go to dead ends, meaning that you also have to backtrack regularly. This is a big no-no. Valve didn't put any backtracking in their game because backtracking is padding, artificial difficulty and makes the game tedious faster than anything else. Anyone who did not learn that lesson from valve shouldn't be making mods.

Another part that's close to the beginning of the game is where you had to randomly find a invisible ladder to climb up that made the game just a tad more frustrating then it already is.

There where some good ideas though, the voice acting was a nice touch that I actually liked (even though it didn't fit the mood that the name of the mod seemed to suggest), a more serious tone would have been fitting. Silent protagonists are the lamest things in games IMO.
I would not recommend this mod. Only because a patch never came.

VladGuardian says
10 VladGuardian

Mar 29th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10
Thank you very much.
Great pleasure to play this.
Mapper is talented guy, with BIG imagination.
Unique athmosphere, thank you.

masquedios says
9 masquedios

Dec 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good enough, if you take in count when this was made.
I hope you make a second part for this, or even a remake...i just awesome, also ...the source code, any posibility of open source?

deleted111 says
10 deleted111

Oct 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

very good mod

poshgaloo says
7 poshgaloo

Jul 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

WTF?! I was playing and i accidentally fell and died; it started me in the train of half life. Okay mod BTW.

SpammingTanks says
5 SpammingTanks

Mar 5th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I am with what others have detailed about bugs, invisible walls, no auto-saves,and the like. All of this plus many dead ends made the mod not so enjoyable.

However I will give it a thumbs up for the new environments, they get you away from the usual Black Mesa. Very creative in that regard. The tactical display of your health and ammo is also different.

And finally the story... what little of it, was very um, how do I put it... WTF!?!?!? I made no sense.

If you can handle many bugs this is a pretty OK mod.

GoodGamePlayer says
10 GoodGamePlayer

Dec 26th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

one of best mods!

Qwertyus says
10 Qwertyus

Nov 6th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mods for Half-Life, in my opinion.

flippedoutkyrii says
6 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 7th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great level design and excellent use of custom content couldn't save this for me.

While the guns were great, they didn't behave any differently since they seemed to inflict the same damage. And the voice acting was like nails on a chalk board.

Fun, but flawed :(

the-middleman says
6 the-middleman

Mar 26th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just played through this mod. It was funny and the makers are very creative. I really liked being away from boring black mesa.

Unfortunately I couldnt really enjoy this mod because of the bugs und design flaws. Non of these errors was really bad but the great number of them kind of ruined the expirience. I couldnt walk 10 meters without walking into a bug or another annoyance.

It feels like the game wasnt really playtested that much. Right now I give it 6/10. This game needs a patch. With all the bugs sorted out I would give it an 8/10.

Pros:
- Very nice mapping/Beatiful scenery
- Creativity: No boring black mesa
- New content: Textures, sounds, models, weapons, enemies

Cons:
- Bugs! So many of em
- Getting stuck in the landscape all the time (something wrong with the brushwork or the compilers)
- Dead ends. (Either make it a linear shooter or make it a non-linear shooter where different ways lead to the goal. But dont make it a maze with different ways but only one is the right one and the others are bad ends)
- English. Is it so hard to find a native english speaker to look over your sounds?
- Music. Music that you like ≠ good soundtrack
- No autosave. You must have autosaves. Especially after long cutscenes.

Community Rating

Average

7.2

57 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.