You play as Thomas Redgrave. A scientist working in Area3 Research labs. The story is parallel with the events in Black Mesa, the same day when Gordon Freeman and Scientists in Sector C started the whole event.

Review RSS Feed TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Dec 24th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Every mod has its level design leave a flavor particular to its designers tastes. This one is alot like valve's Black Mesa, theres even 2 areas where you get to revisit.
The beginning was a little on the hard side as you had to deal with aliens with a axe. And it stays that way for a little while before you finally find a ammo room which makes alot of sense to me.
Most mods give you guns straight away with the crowbar and I've never thought that realistic, weapons and ammo should be in storage or on a dead guard. Thumbs up for that.
Most fights are a little to easy but Half-Life was like that mostly.
Most areas are all broadly lit I noticed and its a shame to see that lighting wasn't really used well.
Some unique scenes like a prototype vehicle and a falling elevator where nice, other people have had issues but not me, no glitches or bugs of any kind.

Some areas could have had more detail but its length is decent so I guess it would have required a fair bit of polishing. And I have to admit I cringed at gman talking in the end :D

Elitesse says
6 Elitesse

Aug 9th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I'm surprised by all the high votes here: it wasn't THAT good. It was very mediocre. The initial part during the Tram Ride and in the research labs was quite good, but then it goes downhill. Bland level design, easy combat, an Axe instead of a Crowbar (The Crowbar looks better). Also you mainly visit the Ventilation/Sewers and that's disappointing. At least you visit some familiar areas. When you begin fighting on the Surface it becomes a little better, especially the tank part! And the ending was quite good, too bad he didn't escape. But the the maps before the Surface deserve a 6. Also, weird Voice Acting but that's not a big problem!

felipe1355. says
10 felipe1355.

May 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

54/10 Awesome mod!!

badsniper365 says
10 badsniper365

May 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

At first I did not like it but once I got further I loved it

DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

May 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was a very good and long I especially liked that the first tier was with only the axe and the Glock with virtually no ammo, it was some challenge until we got to the HECU. The intro is really good with the tram ride and then the Hazard Course being messed up, and it was intelligent to make the journey parallel to HL1 (we see the ending from a different POV, like in Sweet HL), and Opposing Force (the ending, like in HL Black Ops... Oh god, so many mod's characters nearly crossed paths, in fact!), and there was some good action and puzzles, and of course the minigun sequence is pure fun.

Overall, a pretty good mod.

red-bear says
10 red-bear

Mar 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good oldschool mod. I liked it.

killller150 says
9 killller150

Oct 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very nice mod with some cool bits in it. The "vehicle" portion was awesome. I liked interweaving previously visited areas with new ones. A tad bit on the easy side but quite enjoyable. The axe was cool as well.

I did encounter one bug though. At the top of the flooded lift, the barrels are supposed to be moveable; mine were not. I could grenade jump into the vent but still...

HalfFarts says
8 HalfFarts

Oct 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I LOVE IT!

Tonxy says
10 Tonxy

Sep 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

a nice mod for HL very awesome!

poshgaloo says
7 poshgaloo

Aug 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I must start out saying that this mod did a good job at returning to areas. I even loved the one vehicle part. Really was a killer. Otherwise, this mod is just okay. Pros and cons:
Pros:
-cool returning areas
-awesome vehicle scene
-nice ax model
-some fun areas
-and overall a clever idea for a mod.
Cons:
-clunky level design in places
-way too easy battles
-way too predictable puzzles
-awkward texture choices in places
-foolish voice acting
-and overall Brave Brain gets an average 7/10. It really was a disappointment for me and I really was expecting much more from this mod. But at least it does have its moments of awesomeness.;)

Community Rating

Average

7.8

40 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.