VVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, and reuniting your friends. VVVVVV explores one simple game mechanic: you cannot jump - instead, you reverse your own gravity at the press of a button. The game focuses on playing with this mechanic in a variety of interesting ways. The game is designed not to artificially gate your progress. In VVVVVV there are no locks, no power-ups, no switches, nothing to stop you progressing except the challenges themselves.

Review RSS Feed infinateeff says
10 infinateeff

Nov 26th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Challenging, frustrating, and insanely evil...Yet probably one of the best games I've played in a long time. It will kill you over and over again, but without leaving you with the feeling of lacking in accomplishment that most repetative deaths do. My only complaint is the controls can either be too sensative, or not enough.

Otherwise the game is fun and simple, the way games used to be. I generally dispise gravity runner type games, but the scenery, simple yet fun plot, combine well with the challenging puzzles with excellent music and graphical presentation.

A must buy!

TheYeIIowDucK says
8 TheYeIIowDucK

Nov 20th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

A game made by arcade lover FOR arcade lovers.

gmh_michael says
8 gmh_michael

Sep 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

When I say retro I mean 2 things here. One, The visual style & simple mechanics & 2. it being very hard. VVVVVV, or i'll call it V 6 times isnt that long of the game but the game does take a bit getting used to. If you're not a fan of hard games this isnt for you. Though there is a god mode that nulls any damage taken so I guess you could play through it.

What I love about V 6 times is that it allows you select where you want to go & explore most of the time. This allows you to challenge different levels first then come back when you're ready. The pace of the game is pretty fast which I like & keeps you learning about the worlds vast environments. The game comes with an amazing chiptune Soundtrack which is well worth the purchase. You can find it on the game's site or if you bought this game in a humble bundle then go to the soundtrack tab & download the Music.

The Only complaint I have with V 6 times is that sometimes it feels that your character slides a bit making it annoying at times when you accidentally slip off the side. Though I sat down with some friends & they argued that This adds to the difficulty of the game I dont know how strong this point may hold up to some people.

VVVVVV is a wonderful experience & is available on Desura for 4.99. This game is defiantly worth it.

Aro says
9 Aro

Aug 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

VVVVVV is a masterpiece and one of the best platformers I've ever played, there are many acheivements and game modes / trials to keep you coming back to play more and more after you have completed the game itself and have gotten the tunes stuck in your head from the brilliant soundtrack that comes with it. There are lots of areas to discover and things to collect, there are also in-game "Trophies" to acquire too if you're feeling up to a tough challenge.

This game is brilliant for so many different reasons, one of the main reasons is because It has the ability to create a great atmosphere while using extremely simple graphics, said graphics are also one of the primary things that gives this game it's charm.

While it's a difficult game (but by no means impossible), it has a nice frequent checkpoint system that keeps you from losing too much progress at one given time, as it is likely that you will die a LOT on your first run. People who have posted negative reviews of this game by saying "It's too hard" are most likely just bad at it. The game is hard, yes, but it's not hard to the point where it takes hours to get through a certain area. The balance is just right, in my opinion.

Overall, a great game with a great soundtrack. Definitely add this one to your collection, whether it's on sale or not! I'm really glad I picked this up in the sale and took the time to try it. You won't regret it.

Goetten says
10 Goetten

May 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

So damn good game! First: The history is simple but very nice, second: The soundtrack is one of the best I've listen in a while... third: The puzzles itselfs are really good!

b3nderz says
10 b3nderz

Apr 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good platformer.

Renusek says
10 Renusek

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great adventure, nice plot and awesome soundtrack.

AymericTheNightmare says
9 AymericTheNightmare

Nov 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cute old-fashioned style game, but too hard.

andreihaiducul says
10 andreihaiducul

Nov 7th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's surprisingly difficult, considering the simple controls, but extremely satisfying. Loved it!

NormanPL says
9 NormanPL

Nov 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good game which is not easy at different times. :)

Community Rating

Average

9.2

327 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.