Trine is a beautiful fantasy action platformer with a fairytale-like atmosphere, following the journey of three heroes - a Wizard, a Knight and a Thief - in a quest to save the kingdom from evil. The gameplay is based on fully interactive physics - each character's different abilities and tactics can be used to invent new ways to battle an army of undead and overcome obstacles, and restore the balance of the world.

Review RSS Feed Mendozacheers says
9 Mendozacheers

Mar 17th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't

Trine was fun, one of the few newer games that I actually completed =P. I haven't tried the co-op splitscreen mode yet, but I will during my second playthrough. It's a really beautiful platform game where you will solve different types of puzzles with different character, who has different abilities. There's some bonuses along the way that I like, find hidden items for example, gives you another reason to replay. Good Game!

jalex3 says
9 jalex3

Mar 23rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

visual stunning game with great music, nice characters and in gereral fun gameplay. Its a shame you will be doing pretty much he same puzzles the whole way through, also not much variation in enemies.

I would of liked abit more inventory management and rpg elements it it but its still great. I recommend you look at videos for the up coming trine 2, it add so much and fixes the few things this game did wrong.

BetaNium says
9 BetaNium

Mar 8th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Trine is just great combination of physics/puzzle/platformer, it's pretty, funny and it has a great story. And of course it's made by Finnish game company too! :D

The only not so good thing is the split screen multiplayer only, but hey Trine 2 will have network multiplayer!

Definitely one of my favorite games.

feillyne says
10 feillyne

Apr 13th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

A fine complex platformer with refined gameplay. The changeable character (3 to choose from) feature seems to be a very interesting and innovative addition, so does the design of intricate levels including a couple of navigational puzzles.

Lunaticraze says
10 Lunaticraze

Aug 17th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Graphics: ★
Gameplay: ★★
Story: ★★
Music&Sounds: ★★
Atmosphere: ★★
Fun: ★

*************************************************
Wow, my first 10/10 rating, but this game totally deserves it. It builds up slowly but steadily, increasing difficulty in a way it is playable but always challenging. The combination of puzzle jumping and combat against the skeletons is mindblowing, especially with the occasional change at the final bosses. One must be witty and clever, but also patient to complete the game, whileas the checkpoints are rather close to each other and if you fail, respawning is no problem and dying absolutely not frustrating. There are some points where you do get a bit impatient, but never truly ****** off. Being able to switch between 3 characters with unique skills is awesome, but the developers managed to implement this feature in a way it must be used and is totally amazing and super fun to make use of. The graphics are great for the type of game, and the sounds, voice acting and music always hit the spot. There is absolutely nothing negative about it, and I am glad I invested money in buying this. Totally recommended!

Cheeseness says
10 Cheeseness

Dec 3rd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's very difficult to know where to start. On one hand, I feel like putting some thoughts together regarding Trine is well overdue, whilst on the other hand, it's actually fairly daunting. Trine has appealed to me in more ways than I expected when I first sat down to play it, and even now, on my third or fourth playthrough, I still find myself swept away by the game's grandeur.

Trine's outstanding visual aesthetics and compelling soundtrack are just the tip of the iceberg as solid gameplay and well implemented puzzles expose the game's true beauty.

Full review with screenshots here: Twolofbees.com

forteller says
10 forteller

Dec 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Beautiful artwork, great gameplay!

HumbleLinux says
10 HumbleLinux

Dec 1st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

awesomness! The most beautifull platformer i have ever played, plus a very enjoyable experience.

almejo says
9 almejo

Nov 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It is a great game. In linux it works perfect and beautiful.

Pros

- Good puzzles
- Very beatiful graphics
- Linux version works great
- Great control

Cons:

- Are you kidding? the only enemies are skeletons?
- Characters seems to came from Clichequest :D

A great game, but it is kind of disappointing to find only skeletons. Is like Lord of the Rings and this Orcs fixation...

But a great great game

unlogic says
9 unlogic

Nov 22nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Beautifully drawn fairy-tale. The only issue is that the characters could be more balanced (particularly, wizard).

Community Rating

Average

9.2

377 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.