Episode One follows scientist Gordon Freeman and his companion Alyx Vance as they fight in humanity's continuing struggle against the transhuman race known as the Combine. When the story begins, Gordon wakes up outside the enemy's base of operations, the Citadel, after being left unconscious from the concluding events of Half-Life 2. During the course of the game, Gordon travels with Alyx as they attempt to evacuate the city.

Review RSS Feed X-LAyer2 says
9 X-LAyer2

Nov 21st, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

Good a little short and the gameplay wasn't as good as HL2 nor Episode 2 but still a great game.

boredgunner says
9 boredgunner

Aug 6th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

A necessary expansion. Don't spend too much time looking for mods though, as most of them are made for HL1, HL2, or HL2 E2.

TrashCan-Man23 says
8 TrashCan-Man23

Jul 17th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Just like Half-Life 2, Episode one is awesome, some epic eye-pleasing chapters, overall just kicks ***.

But, the one thing I hate about Episode one, the one and only thing...just when you're getting into it - it ends. That and there's not much for new weapons or enemies. That is why I'm giving it an 8/10.

Be sure to buy this (or the Orange Box), so you can continue on with the Half-Life 2 experience, you won't regret it!

JX6 says
8 JX6

Feb 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Weakest part of HL2-trilogy... but it doesn't mean that it isn't good

HeadshoT_0 says
8 HeadshoT_0

Oct 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Deserves an 8.

The game itself was pretty small, but it's still pretty good.
I advise you to buy it. Like. Now.

Mawnstah says
10 Mawnstah

Jul 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

this is one of my favorite games ever!

LegionIscariot says
9 LegionIscariot

Apr 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I think releasing these as episodes was a bad idea. There should have just been a Half-Life 3.
The last episode (episode 3) isnt even out yet.
But its still a fun game.

Starting to feel less like Half-Life though. Some changes i like, some i dislike.
Having a lovely companion follow you throughout most of the game is good. Fighting aliens can get pretty lonely.

However i dont like how most of the first half of Ep1 I was stuck with the gravity gun. I kept wondering where the hell is my crowbar.

MWSoapMactavish says
10 MWSoapMactavish

Oct 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Ahhhh old times i liked this.

DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

Aug 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Short but sweet, and the interaction with Alyx is just great.

0ktober says
7 0ktober

Aug 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Same as Half-Life 2, rock-solid game with minor AI problems. A refreshing game expansion, even if it's a bit short one.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

202 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.