The sequel to F.E.A.R. continues the supernatural suspense story of a powerful psychic named Alma, whose rage against those who wronged her caused her to begin an escalating paranormal crisis that threatens to devour and replace reality with her own. Players will encounter Alma as they explore the city that was annihilated by the cataclysmic explosion of the previous game. Instead of playing as the Point Man, the game's protagonist is Michael Becket, a special forces operator whose squad is sent in to arrest Genevieve Aristide approximately thirty minutes before the ending of F.E.A.R.

Review RSS Feed ScreamScreen says
9 ScreamScreen

May 22nd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I voted 9, because it's one of the best fps games out there :D This is the best of the F.E.A.R. series :D (in my opinion) I chose 9 because of 5 things I focus on when reviewing, it's Quality, Scares, Lag, Length and Story (atmosphere and stuff like that is included in the Quality!)

Quality: I like the graphics in this game, good, and that you can interact with most of the things around, tare down paintings flip things over to take cover behind it, all in all good :D Creepy atmosphere! Scares: in my opinion with or without lights on or off, this game isn't "scary" in itself, a few scares here and there but, I grew up with horror games/movies and I dont get easily scared that's all :P But the game is really good eitherway :D Lag: I experienced a little lag but that was because of my GFX card a very bad one, but after I got a great and new very well working new one, it went so smooth I couldn't ask for more :D Length: Haven't quite finished it yet, but I have seen it's like around 30-35 episodes long, in my opinion, it's very long, but as most fps games, it's long :P But I have nothing against it anyway :D Story: A great story, still I dont know all of it out of this game yet since I haven't come very far in to it yet, but it's Alma wanting to turn the world paranormal/haunted or something like that, make the earth a living Hell if you can say it like that, I really like that, that's something you dony usually see in many games these days :D

Quality: 9 - Scares: 7 - Lag: 9 - Length: 8 - Story: 9 So as you can see all in all pretty good, but I have never really loved fps games that much, but this game is interesting in both ways :) Worth the money I payed for it :)

LegionIscariot says
8 LegionIscariot

Aug 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

8.5/10
A very fun game.

Instead of Playing as the Point Man from the first game you play as Sergeant Michael Becket.

The first problem i had was playing with a new character who also has super reflexes (slow mo). That was what made Point Man unique. But too many people have this ability, im including the FEAR Sergeant from FEAR Perseus Mandate.

But because of how great the game was i grew to like Becket.

The gameplay is good, weapons are good and interesting, the sound is good, the game looks good, the enemies are good and interesting, levels are good, you even use mechs or turrets at some points.
And the plot is better than the first FEAR.

However, like FEAR Extraction Point, FEAR 2 follows a very similar road as the first FEAR.
By that i mean it feels very similar, too similar, right down to squadmates, communications, who dies, when they die and how they die.
So the game is predictable because it follows the first FEAR so closely.

Also, throughout the game you gather 'intelligence': information through text that explain certain things, i think.
I say "i think" because i dont actually read them which is a shame, it would have made the story better. They should have put it in the form of audio diaries.

I think mainly what makes FEAR 2 so great is Alma's obsession with Becket, which also gets me interested in Becket, and makes him such a great character.

Its too bad in the 3rd game he is treated with no respect and they screw it up, what they do to him.
****** me off.

+DLC F.E.A.R. 2: Reborn
Although very short, its also very sweet.
You play as a Replica soldier. Paxton Fettel summons you so he can be reborn in you.

AudioGhostX says
8 AudioGhostX

Oct 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Love this game, it's pretty fun, level design in this game is very very good, graphics are nice, overall pretty fun.

Rick_Dagless says
8 Rick_Dagless

Aug 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Most negative reviews I've seen for this game are written by driveling idiots and this site is no different. Seriously, complaining about no walking mechanic in a relatively fast paced shooter? I'm guessing that guy wrote his review during lunch time at the mental asylum. Anyways, if the only thing you liked about the first FEAR was the horror, then yes, you'll probably not like FEAR 2. If however you loved everything about FEAR then you'll most likely enjoy FEAR 2.

The story isn't quite as good but it has its moments and still beats out the stories of the majority of FPSs out there. The AI is noticeably worse but again is still more than you'll usually find in an FPS and on the plus side the enemy doesn't randomly give away their positions by screaming "****". The solid gun mechanics and weapon variety are still there, along with the fantastic graphics and effects and level design. Also the mech section of the game is actually fun and doesn't make you want to stop playing the game forever, like the one in Quake 4.



****

adfjkndjklnhdfs says
9 adfjkndjklnhdfs

Dec 30th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game! My favorite FEAR game, pretty scary at some parts!

Headstrong says
10 Headstrong

Nov 29th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is pretty good, got the DLC for it (free)

DAB9595 says
10 DAB9595

Nov 7th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

If i could say one thing that was improved from the original FEAR, I'd have to say the mapping. I personally feel that they improved a great deal on that. not that the original had bad map design, cause it didn't, FEAR 2 just had so much more detail within its hallways instead of the long bland corridors the 1st FEAR put us through. I feel some of the highlights of FEAR 2 was the parts where you had to fight your way through the ruins of the city, the destruction and attention to detail was beautiful. It helped make my experience in the game fast paced fun.

I give this game a 10 cause it took what FEAR did and made it better, i'm not just talking about the mapping now, i mean everything Game play, story telling, level design, all that jazz.

flippedoutkyrii says
8 flippedoutkyrii

Jul 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

FEAR 2 is certainly a great edition to the FEAR series :>

However, the scares are not as intense as they were in the original or Extraction Point, but the atmosphere sucks the player in and the intense firefights are as fantastic as ever, even going so far as to give players the chance to jump into the Mechs we all fought in the first game.

It lacks in some areas, but makes up for it ten-fold in others :)

l0p says
10 l0p

Dec 29th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is nice, fast pace and at times scary, there is a nice arsenal of good weapons and beautifully detailed levels. It gives you some good abilities like bullet time, iron sights, sliding and being able to hit your opponents with your weapon. You can tell as you go on through the game that it gets harder as in there are less medkits, ammo, etc. I dont say the game is very hard as it only took a couple of days to complete but is fun and what makes it fun is that you get built in Achievements/ Awards within the game, most of which are obtained through multiplayer. BUT you get awards for completing chapters, killing enemies in a certain way and stuff for people who like to be tactical. Overall i give this great game a 10 for its amazing gameplay, levels, weapons, characters and scaryness mainly from Alma, the people who have played F.E.A.R. 1 & 2 will know what/who im talking about. Basicly a brilliant game.

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nowhere as good as the original, but still a good game.

Community Rating

Average

7.9

84 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.