Duke Nukem will bring his signature brand of babe-lovin', cigar-smoking, beer-chugging and ass-kicking action as he once again saves the Earth and our babes from hordes of invading aliens...next year.

Review RSS Feed griffjoshua says
8 griffjoshua

Aug 3rd, 2011 6 people agree 2 people don't

Remember Duke Nukem 3D with its fun gameplay and humorous one-liners? Well it's like that in Duke Nukem Forever.

Despite the harsh criticism it received from the likes of Gamespot, as well as other reviewers out there, this isn't the best, nor the worst game out there this year.

Reviewers have complained that it's terribly outdated, too difficult, has bad AI, amongst other things. But that's the whole beauty of it. While games such as Crysis, Battlefield and Call of Duty are going for a more realistic approach, Duke Nukem Forever takes you back to the good old days of the FPS genre.

Fans will enjoy this game, but remember to get this game on PC unless you enjoy long loading times.

MahtXL says
8 MahtXL

Jun 25th, 2011 7 people agree 3 people don't

All the reviews are jokes and i now read them as such, i read them and laugh because they missed the entire point of this game, not only is it a nostalgia fest, but a great throw back to when shooters were longer then 4 hours, and when multiplayer was about blowing **** up, not killstreaks and attachments. Ive been enjoying this game since i bought it, and im glad i did buy it. Probly the best game on my Steam list right now, as for that LONG LOAD crap, thats consoles only, and even Gearbox themselves said this was made to play on a PC. hence why PC was used to showcase it. Dont like the load times? Get it for PC? And if you cant take it as a chance to go chug a beer then go back sit down and shut up. The loading if i had to sit through it would still be worth the content i get to experience when i hit my spacebar to start a level. The king is back, and its a shame most of you dont even realize, this is no more mature then Duke 3D was. So dont complain its juvenille, of course it is ITS DUKE! what the hell did you expect? Play it before you judge it, heres looking at you IGN. You failed us all review sites. Tons of content, worth the full price. and it was in 12 years of development hell, not, i repeat NOT BEING DEVELOPED FOR THE WHOLE 12 YEARS! So dont even try and use that as a complaint, this game was better then what i was expecting it to be, im happy with my purchase and i highly recommend this game as a nice break from all the modern war games. Long live the duke. And lets hope for another duke game, one made from scratch this time, Gearbox did a great job with what they had cant wait to see a game made fully by them added to this series. Good job Gearbox.

Pablo-- says
10 Pablo--

Jul 2nd, 2011 6 people agree 3 people don't

This game is really underated. I mean, what do people search in this game? Graphics like GTA IV? Then for them this is the wrong game. For me, I don't need the best graphics, most of the time I play with the lowest. Why? Because FPS is better! GRAPHICS IS NOT THE ONLY THING THAT COUNTS! Gameplay is important. I enjoyed executing enemies, (freezing them and then executing them) taking a leak and transforming the enemies into an action figure and stepping right over them. This game has it all that the first Duke Nukem games had, Violence, Sex and Language. I really enjoyed it and I think you should too.

Mikko_Sandt says
8 Mikko_Sandt

Sep 18th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Disappointing graphics, clunky controls, terrible lag online but Duke is still a badass, the game's got tons of adult content and there's quite a bit of refreshing variation in map design and content.

lilcipi says
10 lilcipi

Jun 18th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Hail to the king baby!

GarrettTheQuiet says
8 GarrettTheQuiet

Aug 21st, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I just finished the game and i wasn't disappointed at all. It's longer than most new FPS games and i say that there is still plenty of fight left in Duke Nukem.

czerniu1996 says
10 czerniu1996

Jul 20th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I like this game.

Rhidgev says
8 Rhidgev

Jul 17th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good game, i dont understand ppl, from metacritic.

NinjaBunny says
7 NinjaBunny

Jun 29th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

DNF truly isn't a bad game as many critics are saying, but it's not the best by any means. The gameplay itself is pretty awkward, it kind of combines newer style (cover based, 2 weapon system, regenerating health - er, "Ego" in this case), with some elements of older games (huge, fast enemies, it's more fast paced than shooters today, etc), and while it is awkward, it still works. While the gameplay is still good, the tech is definitely dated, it feels like you're playing an Unreal 3 game back when the engine was first released. But with any complaint I might have, DNF really has the Duke feel, unadulterated humor, the occasional one liner, the atmosphere, everything is still there. Overall, it's still a fun game to play, maybe wait a year or so for the price to drop unless you're really itching to play as Duke Nukem one last time. It's still an enjoyable game once you get passed all it's flaws.

Also, I suggest getting the PC version. I played the demo on my computer, and I own the game on my 360. Let's just say the loading times were good on my computer, but I wanted to smash my 360 every time it needed to load. It's almost as bad as Quake 4 loading time wise, at least for consoles (with my experience, maybe my disc is just faulty, all I know is for me they took for-bloody-ever.)

george92_stefan says
10 george92_stefan

Jun 18th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

Super game 10/10

Community Rating

Average

7.4

100 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.