Microsoft XNA is a set of tools with a managed runtime environment provided by Microsoft that facilitates video game development and management. XNA attempts to free game developers from writing "repetitive boilerplate code" and to bring different aspects of game production into a single system.

Review RSS Feed atsebak says
9 atsebak

Jul 14th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It's not an engine, its a framework basically a template to directX. I really like it because it allows you to develop for 3 Microsoft platforms and can port them easily.

Jdawgg25 says
10 Jdawgg25

Dec 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

XNA is a great tool and I am currently using it for my game projects. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to develop games for the Xbox, Windows Phone and PC.

MrRatermat says
10 MrRatermat

Apr 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

XNA is glorious. Its very fast and easy to use. I feel the framework has much to offer in gaming, as it is free to use, and is available to all developers.

Toolkitz says
7 Toolkitz

Dec 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I've only used it for 2D games, and for that, I really like it. I used it to submit 2 (and soon to be 3) games for the Xbox 360. It takes a while to learn but if you look up tutorials online, learn why each command does what it does, and practice a lot, you'll soon learn how to take advantage of it and make a great game.

One thing that I don't like however is the way it saves games. I've had trouble using the code for it because it's pretty complicated. I had so much trouble that I only used it for a single game. Now I only used this feature on the Xbox 360 so I don't know about Windows Phone or PC.

In my opinion, it's a fine product once you know how to use it.

TitaMation says
10 TitaMation

Jul 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

4.5 please?

pizzatime says
10 pizzatime

Mar 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

XNA is a very useful game development system, and though I personally have never used it, I have played many good indie games for the Xbox 360 that utilises this system. K. Lim.

(Please note that I am a friend of the owner of this account, and my opinions do not necessarily reflect his views.)

Mr.Buizel says
10 Mr.Buizel

Mar 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love it because it supports a lot of 2d games (:

amanojakugman says
10 amanojakugman

Feb 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Epic

gamepopper says
10 gamepopper

Jan 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very well built and optimized 2D and 3D programming framework. While some parts are restrictive, this is the most suitable platform for anyone wanting to make games and learn programming.

87Sergiy says
10 87Sergiy

Jan 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good C#/Framework engine

Community Rating

Average

8.9

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.