WWI Source: Fight in the rain soaked trenches or charge over No Man’s Land to battle in the War to End All Wars. Use authentic weaponry to conquer the enemy, call in artillery strikes to take out enemies en masse, or use chemical warfare to disable your opponents! WWI Source is the first and only World War I game to be developed for Steam. All the current WWI mod teams (‘The Trenches 2’, ‘Fields of Horror’, ‘WWI Source’) have united to develop the best World War I game to the Steam community, using the latest Source engine. Please visit the official website for more information on WWI Source and the team.

Review RSS Feed HonkeyTheBear says
10 HonkeyTheBear

Nov 26th, 2010 7 people agree 0 people don't

It's simply AWESOME!

gamefreak42 says
7 gamefreak42

Jun 27th, 2011 9 people agree 4 people don't

no servers :/

minmi96 says
10 minmi96

Jun 15th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

This is a mod that should be on steam.

xXGrangierXx says
10 xXGrangierXx

Mar 25th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, lots of people should be playing this stuff!

solouplay says
10 solouplay

Dec 8th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

I´ve played this mod for a time now and i am not very happy with it´s development. Models, Sound, Weapons and Voice.

The models is good. They are nicley formed however i new that you could do it better. The Enfield is the most suceéded modell i think.

The sounds are... ok. But there are situations they dont fit at all. When you prone forward it will sound that your solider runs very fast. Very strange. Dough the weapons noice have been well done. Artillery sounds good.

Weapons: There are very few weapons. I dont like it. Plus that the Lewis machine´gun have way to much bullets than what is possible. I think 47rounds would be standard... well in ´the mod you can run around with almost twice as much. Also the Machine gun Cooldown is very annoying. You can fire maybe 10-15 shots and then have to coodown... it was not like that in the war was it? No. I dont think so...

Voice: The voices are ok. As a Jerry player he speaks Deutch so it is very good... Sounds normal I´d say, too. The brits are a bit worse... When saying a command, like Go. ... Well they just don´t express it like they´re in the first world war. Maybe they need more acting.

This mod was very funny in the start, but many of the maps have their "easy to spot" bugs. To give the devs a little helping hand I´d tell them to seperate the grenades from the riflemen. Often there were assault troops that would carry them in the first hand. 7/10, almost 6/10

HeadClot says
10 HeadClot

Nov 26th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Extremely fun game play especially when running through an arty barrage or gas attack.

TG12 says
8 TG12

Nov 26th, 2010 4 people agree 3 people don't

It's one of the only WWI games you'll ever find, it's not the best game ever, it is based on a war that was markedly unfun, but nevertheless is able to pull it off. Generally balanced maps, nice Classes/weapons, and the community is great. Only downsides are bugs/glitches, and not-too-appealling graphics, these will be fixed though, since it is currently only in early beta.
When 1.2b comes out, this mod will really launch into greatness (and become the new Red Orchestra).

PlanMan says
9 PlanMan

Sep 17th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A excellent game in terms of realism, however I'm afraid it fails at being playable due to the lack of regular players.

WWI: Source. One of the games for a era which there isn't much of a demand for in terms of entertainment, although it seems to be a potential market for anyone bold enough to snatch it up, albeit this mod is free it still could be better.

It's main shortcoming is that there is a large lack of players who partake in battles on it of which is a regular basis. Despite this, even when a few players get around, it can be very fun. The main of the game involves charing towards the enemy, the officer providing support in the form of artillery; gas or otherwise. The purpose of the officer isn't really as the name says though, but rather to give support like the machinegunner class. That being said, the system is something like a rock paper scissor system, where the rifleman beat officers, who beat Machinegunners, who beat rifleman. That being said, it is overall a very enjoyable game, just when you can find a lot of players. But don't take my word for it, try it yourself.

CWPGaming says
10 CWPGaming

Jan 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome!

Tony15Groce says
10 Tony15Groce

Dec 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best game ever.

Community Rating

Average

8.8

533 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.