Modern Warfare Mod brings World in Conflict from the Cold War into the Modern Age. It also ups the ante on realism and authenticity in every role – Infantry, Armor, Support and Air, while trying our best to keep everything relatively balanced for fun and interesting gameplay.

Forum Thread
Abrams vs. T-90 (Games : World in Conflict : Mods : WIC: Modern Warfare Mod : Forum : General Mod Discussion : Abrams vs. T-90) Locked
Thread Options
Sep 4 2012 Anchor

Hi Guys, new guy to these forums and the mod so I'm still learning it.

Is it just me though or is the T-90 somewhat underpowered versus the Abrams?

Survivability / Armor seems to be poorer.
Regular main cannon shots seem to be less effective (T-90 uses heat versus armor piercing?)?

Coupled with the second the Abrams's offensive ability seems more usefull. You can use the ability and still attack effectively through smoke. Whereas the T-90's AT missile seems to have little range advantage unless you have a "spotter" and is disabled by smoke?

I did a quick dirty test with the bots playing only the armor class. It seemed like you could have allmost twice as many russian tanks and the US would still win albeit so slowly that they wouldn't be able to finish a win on attack / defend maps.

The differences might be based on real life differences I'm not "military techy" enough to know that I just think it seemed a bit unbalanced. Or maybe I just need to learn to play. :)

Thanks in advance
78stonewobble

Sep 4 2012 Anchor

Russia has some underpower units like T-90, but also has superior units like supersonic cruise missiles.
Altogether it makes game balanced, they say.

Sep 5 2012 Anchor

Aaah... Another explanation for atleast player vs. bots is if the bots doesn't use vehicle crews. :)

Hadnt noticed that the russians had supersonic cruise missiles. Thx.

Sep 7 2012 Anchor