You are Gordon Freeman, formerly a scientist at Black Mesa Research Establishment, now reluctantly employed by a mysterious organisation as a troubleshooter. (They send you out looking for trouble, and when you find it, you shoot it.) You are contacted by the Man in Blue. He seems strangely worried; something has ruffled his normally impenetrable character. "Mr Freeman, we need your help urgently. It seems that somebody at Black Mesa has been experimenting with ... unconventional applications of the dimensional gateway technology. They have developed what appears to be a working time machine. "Unfortunately, the scientists who were working on it disappeared before we could ... persuade them to turn it over to us. It appears that we were not the only ones following their work from behind the scenes. A renegade organisation within the US Marine Corps got to them before we did, and used their technology to travel into the past.. Gordon Freeman against Naziz. Author: Ross Smith

Review RSS Feed VladGuardian says
10 VladGuardian

Apr 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10
Fantastic voyage.

Qwertyus says
10 Qwertyus

Feb 20th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Classic stuff! Be sure you've played it.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jul 10th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pretty damn spectacular series of mods.

UCeNSHNOW says
10 UCeNSHNOW

Jun 23rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the best mod series I have ever played.

DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

Oct 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

First one was average but the last one is incredible. Very interesting series with numerous fights, funny cutscenes, and you fight nazis and Hitler himself, so well... Good!

bfrheostat says
10 bfrheostat

Jul 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I found that at last! Occasionally i remembered the icy scenes of this mod and i wondered everytime what was that mod in my mind.

I can say this mod was really great even after many years later. I played on my old and faithful Celeron 400MHz PC circa 2003. Maybe time to play it again on a new one.

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Dec 22nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Timeline 1

+It’s quite got some real challenging gameplay, good variety in environments, a decent premise for the storyline, long length.
-Some areas are just so big and box like, alot of corridors and places with tons of crates, Xen part was way to short & theres no aliens to kill.

The ending was pretty neat and I liked the idea of how you handled the, eh problem ;)

7/10

Timeline 2 Iced Earth

Theres so much to like about this one.
First off its better than its predecessor by a mile, It's got everything going for it.

+Excellent level design, Unique environment thanks to new textures, Good pacing, Challenging, Some great set pieces, Very long
-Tough boss battle in a way people might not appreciate, One tough unintuitive puzzle, Story was rather simple

10/10

Timeline 3 Heart of Darkness

This I feel is a rather disappointment considering how great a improvement the previous timeline mod was. Here the Nazi’s are actually still alive because they have solidified them selves into many timelines so they still exist (eventhough their timeline was destroyed… shouldn’t it have wiped out whatever they did afterwards?) The mod gives some weird explanation of how they have a temporal distortion device blah blah, what ever the explanation we get to fight the nazi’s again.

+Some very unique environments in the future
+They all have some very unique texture work
+Quite a challenge
+Very long

-A bit to much running around! When you blow up a generator you have to run all the way back... hurts the pacing.
-Obscure puzzle that requires you to back track and open a door with a key card that has no key card slot
-One of the future places was rather short and simple with that pyramid.
-London was extremely short, less than 5 minutes... I was so excited for it only to be taken into the future again.
-One area has infinity spawning grunts, a bit annoying if you don't realize you have to run back to the teleporter room.
-A sad Deus Ex Machine ending.

8/10

Gary_McTaggart says
10 Gary_McTaggart

Dec 19th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

So nostalgic... Great series!

mystery8 says
10 mystery8

Oct 23rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Over the years I've played many Half-Life SP mods. Ross Smith's Timeline series is one of the two most memorable (the other being Neil Manke's They Hunger) and that I like to replay.

It's an old series (1999ish?) so the graphics might not be up to par with what most people expect today, but it excels in delivering a fun adventure through time and imagination. You visit the height of the Roman empire, the Egyptians, go far into the future where the Earth is a fiery cinder and even further when its a cold dead rock.

Looking for a fun SP mod that'll make you wonder where the hours just went? You've come to the right place.

poisonheadcrab says
7 poisonheadcrab

Feb 16th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.5

46 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.