Losing his parents during the holocaust to a mad man of a doctor. You're to play as Grobuskna Vladinov, 20 years after the incident that changed his life dramatically. Grobuskna receives an unknown phone call that'll start a journey that'll twist your mind...

Review RSS Feed Alex2the3gr8 says
2 Alex2the3gr8

Jul 16th, 2011 18 people agree 2 people don't

The forgotten ones was a horrible mod. It was very bland, empty and boring. The size of the mod was 2GB with 90% of them was unused models and textures. The length was a mere 30 minutes game play at most. The only positives I can say would be the ideas implemented into it.

The game play was a basic run and shoot broken up by badly made cut scenes and voice acting. Whenever you pressed the use button on something that wasn't interactive you would say annoying lines and if it was you'd say "hell yeah". View bobbing proved to be annoying as it shook the screen as if you were on a pivot. However bad the maps did look they were very interesting to search around excluding the "scary moments".

The visuals weren't anything new. The maps were bare and repetitive. They were in no way realistic as the heights and dimensions were way off. When a horror moment appeared the screens colour would turn green and orange; annoying and in no way "scary". Although the maps didn't seem to have any errors

Overall, this is a very boring mod. It could be used as a test but nothing more. I rate this a 2/10 and recommend you avoid playing unless very VERY drunk.

My advice for the creator-
-Stop being so lazy and take your time.
-Learn more about the source engine
-Playtest HEAVILY and practice on a single map.
-Make it more of a survival mod with less ammo since it's too easy.
-You could combine all the maps into one with good optimisation as it would be easier and less distracting from the atmosphere because the loading ruins it.
-Remove the bobbing, I cannot stress this enough!
-The maps seem very repetitive, try adding different props

I understand this is a Beta and understand it can be improved heavily.
Also, sorry for the harsh review D:

Cpt.Steel says
6 Cpt.Steel

Oct 24th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I've been looking forward to this mod because it looked interesting. Yesterday I was happy to see it released, so I spent about 2 hours downloading it.

The first thing I found out was the fact that the game always resets my controls settings which is bloody annoying. After many tries I finally managed to force my own settings by editing the config file.

The next thing I noticed was the horrible voiceacting with strong fake Russian accents. As such I'd be expecting Russians to be listening to Russian songs rather than German songs. That's just a detail though.

The design of maps sometimes seems quite strange for some reason. For example, the city at the beginning looks very unnatural. The second map is much better.

Now that I mentioned the second map, I can describe my experience. Driving is quite fun, I admit. But the fact that the game already crashed at those public toilets was annoying. Thankfully, it wasn't so far from the beginning.
So I started again and avoided the toilets, just in case. I reached a small house with some items and a savebook inside.
I saved my game in case the game crashed again. And it did, because I changed my video settings to lower AA since the mod suffers from bad FPS.
I launched the game again just to find out my saves were gone. I thought it was actually the crash that had caused it, so I got to that point and saved again.

I restarted the game to make sure it worked. It did not. The saves simply aren't there.
That makes me assume that I've got to beat the mod in one sitting, which is in no way appealing to me.

EDIT: Settings, saves and the bathroom crash seem to be fixed. The fix came out quite fast too, which confirms that the author really tries to make it all nice and smooth. Carry on like this and your mod could be a gem one day.

Flapjack286 says
2 Flapjack286

Oct 23rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Hi predator, i appreciate the time you took in this mod, and all the new textures and such, but their are still big problems.

1. No directions whatsoever- I literally walked for 45 min. not knowing where to go.

2. voice acting- voices are tough to understand,so subtitles are always enabled for me :(

3. Ai trouble- So many Ai spawn on the streets, it gets laggy and they all cluster together, looking awkward.

once again,i think this mod is fine, it just has some things that need to be sorted out;)

to-der-trenches says
5 to-der-trenches

Nov 12th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

sorry it was not too long there was only no joke 5 fast zombies and 4 normal zombies not too much for a zombie game the voice acting could be better. and the fact that this is a Nazi well you could work on that it took 30 minutes to beat. sorry for if it is too harsh but the next one V2 LOOKS SO MUCH BETTER

Predator009 says
10 Predator009

May 10th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Real good mod,you have dialogue choices,good story,good gameplay,scary jumpscares,spooky enviroments,good sounds,good songs,nice maps,cool weapons,awesome easter eggs,in the end is a pretty good game in my opinion

thedeadcamper says
3 thedeadcamper

Apr 14th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I played the Steam version of this mod, and I hate to say it, but I had a really bad time while playing it.

It feels like the entirety of the game was rushed and that it needs much more playtesting than it got before release.

From extremely-fast, bobble-head zombies, to near moon logic puzzles, to enemies that will kill you from full health within one second (this is no exaggeration and this is almost every enemy in the game), this game seems to do so much wrong that it's hard to pinpoint what went right in the whole thing.

It tries very hard to be similar to the original Resident Evil, giving the player a limited inventory, limited save spots, even a very similar looking mansion to explore near the end of the game. However, when weapons are so ineffective as in this game and zombies can kill you in less than a second, I found myself pretty much using every exploit in Source just to survive. And still, this game will kill you by unpredictably spawning enemies from the middle of nowhere.

The voice acting is not particularly great here, but I can let that pass as the highlight of this game was the bad acting (everyone talks to each other in English with "ze German Accent"), though it was probably also unintentional. I feel like this could have been more tongue-in-cheek with the dialogue and I would have had more fun with the cutscenes.

The mechanics are the real killer here, though, with weapons that are extremely weak, to certain tabs not pausing the game even though they completely cover the screen, to binding keys in ways that aren't familiar (I died so many times trying to use the health kit because I would accidentally hit tab and couldn't get out of the menu in time.)

In the end, I had to give up, just before defeating the big bad Nazi boss, and the walkthrough I ended up using even acknowledged that getting past him boiled down to pure luck, hiding behind a wall, and just hoping to get a headshot with one of the rifles.

I feel bad and I wish this thing had more feedback before release, but it's at version 2.4.0 now and it still feels unplayable.

Wobba says
6 Wobba

Feb 6th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Incoming wall of text.

This mod is a real mixed bag; it has some cool features, like a quick-medkit ability, dynamic (3D) scopes, and a limited inventory.
On the other hand, the level design is awkward, the NPCs are annoying bullet-sponges, and in general many things feel half-baked. The quick-melee key is literally just a macro that equips your melee weapon, attacks once, and switches to your previous weapon.

There's an inventory system, but it's awkward and unneeded. Everytime you find a lock, you have to open your inventory and select your boltcutters. Why not just pick up the boltcutters, and from then on then press the use key on the lock?

Again, the enemies are annoying. They're usually spawned behind you when you complete an objective. When they attack, it's rarely, if ever, scary. Despite the zombies having two heads, they appear to be using the HL2 zombie's hitbox, which means you have to aim at the empty space between their heads to headshot them. There are about two-dozen enemies in the whole game. It seems that this was intended to make the game suspenseful. To borrow and completely change the words of Roger Ebert, "The creator has learned from better horror games that creators sometimes make enemies sparse, but they have not learned why." The game would benefit from making the enemies much weaker but far more common.

The map design is decent, but often confusing. All the rooms are very homogeneous, which makes it easy to get lost. For some reason, you can't just open doors. You have to sit through a short LOADING SCREEN to go through. Why is this necessary?? This shouldn't happen outside a PS2-era game. You even have to deal with the loading screen when you can see into the other room!

Onto the weapons. Your sidearm, a P38, is worthless. It has okay damage, but a delay of about two seconds in-between each shot. The only time I've eve actually been able to kill anything with it was finishing off an enemy I had just emptied my primary weapon into.
The primary weapons are slightly more interesting. There's some variety; there's a scoped Gewehr 98, a Gewehr 43, a scoped SVT-40, and an FG 42 with infinite reloads. The scopes are useless since enemies always jump out at you.

There are several boss fights with named characters, but the story is so confusing and cryptic I have no clue who they are. The bosses also only have as much health as standard enemies, which makes them pretty pointless. I walked over to a door and a guy named Edward (according to the HUD) kicked it in and charged at me. I get a message on the screen saying "RUN!" I just shoot Edward in the head twice and he dies. I do appreciate him breaking the door, so I don't have to deal with the loading screen to go through it.

I don't really understand the setting of the game. It says it happens 20 years after the Holocaust, which would mean it's set in the mid 1960s, but you exclusively use WW2 weapons.

Also, the game is crammed with Pewdiepie references for some reason. At the start of the game, I turned right outside my office and saw a note on the ground. I examined it and a crudely-made picture of a pokemon card with Pewdiepie on it appeared and started screaming loudly at me. I'm not kidding; you can't make this stuff up. If you want to put Pewdiepie references in a game, fine. Please, just don't have one every five minutes.

TL;DR: Weaker, but more frequent enemies, clearer story, buff the P38, give the bosses more health, remove the loading screens on doors.

DeathVice says
10 DeathVice

Jun 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Whether or not the mod is actually atmospheric or as engaging as we had all hoped it to be does not matter, as I am more impressed by the ability of one man to develop an entire mod by himself for over 2 years just for the entertainment of others.

Tordiff says
10 Tordiff

Jun 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

cool-meatball says
10 cool-meatball

Jun 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

it's a good game sadly i must play the old version 2.2.0,
caused by my ******* HDD is in low space so i can't download the
Source SDK 2013, but i think this is a good game
fantastic animation, creative bobbing, *****ng creepy sound
i know that SSDK 2007 is **** old engine but i thing u should do the update for the Source SDK 2007 release, and get some inspiration from
Cry Of Fear a GoldSrc game, for your next release

Community Rating



106 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.