This is a remake of the original Half-Life mod The Challenger Deep. This re-designed mod has been in development for more than 7 years. It follows the same storyline as the original.

Review RSS Feed TheUnbeholden says
10 TheUnbeholden

Sep 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

+Level design, its top notch. Way better than the first challenger deep.
+Difficulty is fairly middle of the line.
+Quite long, took me about 3 hours.
+Great use of oxygen tanks
+Probably the best use of long jump module I've seen in a mod.
-Ammunition a bit to ample
-Bad performance on some of the maps (I counted 3)
-some bugs like managing to get the scientist to come into the room with me (when he supposed to be on the escape pod). Breaking his script that was supposed to make him open the door for me.. after running around a bit.
-Fight with the giant alien spiders was also a little to middle of the range difficulty wise. Should have doubled their health.
-Ending was a bit to easy. But hey, endings where never great for the mods I've played.

flippedoutkyrii says
8 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 30th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A VAST improvement over the previous mod, with greater level design and firefights!

The mod is also substantially longer, with great atmosphere and a better focus on the story and just what the scientists in challenger deep were doing at the bottom of the ocean.

It does come with it's hitches, however.

There are frame-rate issues here and there, and the larger open areas make fights overwhelming at times and hard to navigate.

However, it is a great remake of the original.

Give it a go :D

WyldStyle says
10 WyldStyle

Jun 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Such an amazing mod.

Forsete says
8 Forsete

Jun 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Could've used some additional testing as it suffer from a few bugs. A few levels are also poorly optimized with some very varying framerate especially the big open rooms.
Otherwise this a very good mod with some great and open level design. Pretty much blows away the original which was the definition of quantity over quality.

Most disappointingly however, the ending is extremely short and to be honest quite weak leaving you with a few unsolved questions.

Qwertyus says
10 Qwertyus

Apr 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Truely epic :) Some minor flaws don't affect the tremendous work in overall.

Aublak says
7 Aublak

Feb 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Classic Half-Life gameplay. Most of the puzzles are ripped straight from Half-Life with some new ones. You better master crouch jumping before you consider starting this. Its a mod that is mainly aimed at Half-Life veterans. The levels are huge and the mod maker is really good at catching the player off guard. I was playing on hard and I admittedly found myself save scumming more then I usually do. The mod's length is considerable. Its very good at capturing the feeling of the original Half-Life. It is more Half-Life gameplay, but it is very good Half-Life gameplay. If you want more Half-Life, but grow tired of the original campaign after playing it for the 100th time this mod is for you.

masquedios says
7 masquedios

Oct 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really enjoy this. Thanks for the hours of fun.

ciba43 says
9 ciba43

Jul 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

There are some minor issues like the start where you have to go to aquatic training you can easily lost the way. But in total - The Best mod of 2013.

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jun 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Okay this mod was somewhat of a let-down for me. I really did overanticipate this mod but I really thought this mod would feel like a new expansion to half life. The new textures were awesome though, and the level design was actually quite amazing. There were some ridiculously wide open rooms I feel. But the worst thing in this mod that ****** me off the most was the scientist. He glitched out near the end of the game. So I actually never got to finish the mod. Overall, I think if I tried again then I might be able to get that damn scientist to follow me. One more thing, I did like the presents you could find. It really sets replay value on this mod. Anyway, pros and cons time:
Pros:
cool new setting
slick textures
replay value
not too difficult
clean running with no crashes
Cons:
buggy situation with the scientist that needs to follow you in the end
empty wide open rooms
a little too short
overall, 8/10.

Hgrunt|Chub says
10 Hgrunt|Chub

Jun 26th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.5

15 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.