AT 30,000 FEET... you are almost 6 miles (9.7 km's) above sea level. The human body is not made for these conditions. Temperatures can plummet to -60F (-51C), the brain is starved for oxygen and each step is a new experience in pure agony. It's difficult to breathe. It's difficult to think. It's difficult to move. And you still have to endure another 444 feet (0.14 km's) to get to the peak. So much for the good news. STORYLINE: SURVIVE the SUMMIT ...The rebels are losing the battle against the strider onslaught that keeps growing. To help turn the tide of war you need to destroy the source of the Striders. That source is at the summit of what the rebels call, StriderMountain. There is only one way to get into the mountain geography and it's extremely dangerous terrain. The danger proves to be too much and you are forced way off target. Now, you must fight your way through the Combine Mountain Base Camp because it's the only entry to the mountain...

Review RSS Feed Datastream says
4 Datastream

Sep 25th, 2009 12 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's slow and there are no clues to where the you have to go. Doors don't look like doors at times so you're just stuck trying to find the door while it looks like a ******* wall. And the sounds suck. Also it's trial and error a lot of the times and in the end it doesn't amuse me.

The mapping is supposed to lead whereas in SM its just the map and you can go everywhere and you need to be in one little place. Making it look like a jungle and you need to find that one square meter in that jungle.

The sniper rifle also makes no sense. At all. It shoots crossbow bolts and it still has that sound! Also it's left handed while all the other weapons are right handed! On the topic of the weapons, I think you guys just took some cs reskins and pasted them in the folder because some weapons have different sounds and others don't.

Event handling is also average in this game. In the propaganda mission I heard a citizen yelling at me (apparently) while I was recharging my suit. I had no idea where he was and then I heard an explosion. Apparently something happened and a lot of combines were spawning. That trigger was in the wrong place. What could've been a nice panic event became a fail by wrong trigger placement.

The music was nice but that's the only thing. Also it never stops. Music is supposed to add up to the atmosphere like Valve did in HL2. Whereas in SM it's just a playlist playing all the time.

The gameplay is also very repetitive. Run in room kill all combines before you can move on and then you go in other room kill all of the combines again before you can move on.
In the beginning it was a nice little thinking game with the turrets when you only had your hook. That was nice but then it became all repetitive combat.

This mod is FAR from completed and the way I see it, this mod is in alpha status. 4/10

randomparanoid says
4 randomparanoid

Jan 9th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Fights often have no pacing, with masses of combine rushing you all at once. In between these massive fights there is a lot of running around desperately searching for triggers. There is no particular indication of how to proceed, and often confusing routes that overlap and meander seemingly randomly are confounding. The best thing that can be said for it is the length and a few clever maps.

MCGONN says
1 MCGONN

Jun 27th, 2010 4 people agree 2 people don't

This mod is tedious, uninteresting and repetitive. The weapon models are stolen from various authors on FPSBanana (now Gamebanana), while some of the other textures were taken directly from Doom 3. This mod is painful to play through, and it seems to never freaking end.

In short, this mod sucks ****.

samitore says
6 samitore

Dec 10th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

For length, this is probably the longest mod ever.
However, I find some flaws.
Some of the levels are too hard to figure out what to do.
The visual cue comes in, but the level itself is disoriented, making player hard to figure out what to do.
Also, enemies are just outrageous. I'm comlaining about difficulty here.
Player is too often exposed by combine soldiers. On top of that, these combines attack from most unusual angles. For several times, I had to stay in enemy fire to figure out where they shooting from! Also, lighting of the map makes it hard to identify combine soldiers from walls, environments, etc... Talking about maps...The textures could use some help. There are lots of fun gimmicks and interactions though.
It would be nice if the game was more polished.
Still, incredible amount of work.

LonelyAmerican says
5 LonelyAmerican

May 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a half-decent Half-Life 2 mod. It starts out slow, but the action seems to build even higher as you progress further in the mod. The mapping isn't the best around, and you will often get confused or stuck. The sounds feel out of place, and can especially make the cutscenes feel awkward at times- even rushed. During it's time, I believe that the best thing about this mod was how brutal the combat felt. There are some pretty large chances of you running into (or away) from hordes of Combine NPCs. However, it does seem to me that the developers tried to put alot of work into it. No matter how unsuccessful it might have turned out.

tyrrelduckard says
5 tyrrelduckard

Jan 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Confusing.

This is the word to describe this mod's maps layouts: every map require stumbling around, often withouth any real indication about where to go or what to do, especially when you have to backtrack, and you'll have to do that a lot.

The weapons reskins were okay, even if the sniper rifle were completely broken as it still fired bolts, didn't needed to be reloaded, and appeared on the left of the screen.

The voice acting wasn't good but it wasn't orrible either, and there were very few new lines.

The cutscenes were awful, completely out of touch with Half Life, and one of them was repeated around 6 times.
To top that you could still get damage while blocked by a cutscene.

The bonus map is not worth the trouble.
You never get to fight the enormous red strider featured in the intro.

The gameplay gets boring soon, walk around, spawn combines, kill combines, repeat for the entire game.
Long, but not good or fun.

steveomack says
10 steveomack

Jan 11th, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

So much fun, and so much work went into it. It didn't look that great before I downloaded it, but it really is fantastic.

Triden007 says
9 Triden007

Nov 14th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod's a real adventure for those who like the Half Life 2 world.
Fantastic scenario! But the gameplay is not perfect, it lacks on cutscenes and interactions, looks like you are there to do the mission all alone, just because you're the hero and you can do it. Despite this, the mod is still a must play to HL2 fans.

mikedeliv says
7 mikedeliv

Jun 18th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This mod has both good and bad characteristics to point out.
GOODS:
+The maze-like level design. Today's FPS games opt for a linear design which I consider dull and not giving you the sense of having a task to complete. This game on the other hand offers you a variety of DOOM-like tasks each roughly one map long which might feature using an area in more than one way ( as a compat space and a puzzle ) and/or back-tracking
+The length of this mod. Not only does this mod have over 16 distinct maps, every map is also very long. As I said, the level designer did an excelent job using every bit of a map in a variety of ways all giving a bit of length of gameplay . However, apart from that and the fact that each map is of brobdingnagian scale, the developers also used some kind of ancient wichcraft not having the source engine lag throughout the game
+The music. Many of the tracks were original and did a great job ameliorating my experience however I feel some tracks were misplaced and could be used more appropriately
BADS:
-The cutscenes. Cutscenes only work in certain types of games like for example GTA. Should a developer utilize this feature in a Halflife-ish type of game, at least he should do it only when truly needed. On the other hand, this mod has numerous cutscenes which apart from some few, interrupt the action and the gameplay, add nothing whatsoever to the narrative and the story and consist of ungly (supposed to be fancy but they are not) bird's eye scenes of different places on the map supposed to indicate to the player where to go or some foes spawning. The best part is when gordon takes damage because he can't move away from the enemy until the cutscene is finished.
-The Narrative as a whole. Throughout the game I was not sure why I was to fight or why I had to collect these portal data and the few and far between dialog lines didn't help in the least bit
-The new skins. I my opinion they were unnecessary and are generally of a bad quality .

sunkenin says
10 sunkenin

Dec 12th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

it took me a long time to pass

Community Rating

Average

7.5

300 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.