Rock 24 takes place on an abandoned Cliffside prison. The prison is situated on the side of a sheer cliff face meaning the only real way in and out is by air. The combine have moved in to the facility and are re-using it as a place to hold rebel leaders and other important Rebels. Gordon is required to infiltrate, free the Rebel leader and hopefully escape from the facility alive. Unfortunately the prison is rapidly deteriorating around him and there isn't much time. Rock24 was in production for 9 months as a spare time personal project by two guys who work in the games industry. This is their first mod and attempt at level design.

Review RSS Feed codefreak5 says
9 codefreak5

Jan 21st, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

So far, this is the best overall mod I have played. Whereas other mods have just one or two strong suits, such as Awakening's music or City 7's voice acting(to an extent), this one combines them all in a well designed, hour and a half game. The puzzles are challenging to a degree where they are still hard, but not so much as to make me pull out my hair. Voice acting is one of the best I've heard, apart from a few pronuciation errors(It's pronounced MAY-sah, not MEH-sah. Got it, Dr. Newell?). The storyline pushes you to see the game through to the end, and the gameplay keeps you entertained throughout its length. No Half-Life 2 fan in his or her right mind should pass up this mod.

flippedoutkyrii says
9 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 21st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A marvelous mod from the early days of Half-life 2 modding.

It really felt like the whole place was coming down on my head as I progressed further and further through Rock 24, with impressive mapping and plenty of nifty details and voice-acting.

Apply a fix, and give this a go as soon as possible! :D

markic92 says
8 markic92

Mar 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really good mod!

[MC]Pimpão says
8 [MC]Pimpão

Jul 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Well, it was extremely painfull to get this mod working, but at the end it was worth it.I spent a whole saturday testing all possible solutions to make the npc animations on the mod work, after 9 hours of research when i finally found the fix/patch in a buried steam forum for broken mods i still had to deal with the fact that the first chapter of the game would necessarily crash as soon as the second chopper fall down and you would have to load the second chapter from the console, so it was another half hour of search until i find the damn command. However i won't discount the mod score because of the huge effort the author spent on fixing the mod after the HL2 Engine update. Anyway... the mapping on the mod is very innovative and filled up with minuncious details, things like starting the mod in a ship in the middle of the ocean or electrocuting a prison guard with the charged cell bars compensated the fact of the poor employment of the freeman character. The thing i mostly liked about the mod is that although mostly of the action occurs in a prison, there's not a single resemblance of Nova Prospekt in it, it's a underground prison with a complete new visual that offers a great experience to the player. The gameplay can very hardly be improved, there's a perfect employment of combine fights, and offensive creatures encounters, there's also a fair distribution of health kits and supply boxes that turn the game very balanced in terms of difficulty. The voice acting is amazing and the interactive events will blow your mind away. Environments are also pretty creative, i never imagined see elite combines being crushed by a giant rolling rock in the middle of a cave full of stalactites or finding a box full of PSPs in the middle of a strider fight.
My final score is 7,8 but please provide a fix/patch link in the mod page :)

JT00 says
10 JT00

Mar 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

More please!

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Dec 3rd, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

It had a good setting, a large prison that has some good sections. It ends up with a great climactic ending and produces good level design. Although some people may think it can get boring because theres no variety in its location, and I think it had just good level design but nothing else. Its difficulty was average and it lacked custom content and storyline.

Savv says
8 Savv

Oct 13th, 2013

No review provided

Hgrunt|Chub says
10 Hgrunt|Chub

Feb 2nd, 2013

No review provided

Nihillo says
8 Nihillo

Jan 24th, 2013

No review provided

Gabrieljensen says
9 Gabrieljensen

Jan 2nd, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.1

193 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.