This is a slightly experimental mod with an unusual story. It is not set inside the Half Life universe and there are some game mechanics which have been subtley altered. The pace starts out slow, and builds up gradually. This mod is intended to be more of an adventure rather than a shooter. If you approach this mod as a pure shooter, then you will probably not enjoy it. There are some intense action scenes, but most of these come later on, much of the earlier parts of the mod are focused on adventure and storytelling. There are numerous cutscenes. I know how some people don't like cutscenes, so the majority of them collect together loosely to make the "introduction". There are a couple of short ones scattered around later, but they never really jerk you away from where you are standing. At any rate - once you have a weapon, the amount of scenes drops off dramatically and the game leaves you in control much more...

Review RSS Feed Theevina says
9 Theevina

Mar 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very interesting and sort of... random. That's the whole point, right? I enjoyed it.

pabo1 says
10 pabo1

Mar 12th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

VERY NICE

thedeadcamper says
8 thedeadcamper

Aug 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Random Quest still holds up after five years as an... odd sort of game.

I feel my only complaint is that I still can't tell if this mod has an alternate ending or not. It's not that I'm complaining if it doesn't, it's just very unclear because of how many alternate choices you can make and being unable to tell if they have an impact on the end game.

Rokth says
9 Rokth

Jan 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the better mods for HL2

AniCator says
9 AniCator

Mar 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

A solid mod. I liked how you had to make choices. The reskinning of some of the models was a bit unnecessary or at least out of place but most of it looks pretty cool.

The character being narrated by himself is a nice touch too.
All those displacements must have cost you some time to get right.

It's a shame it ended so quickly. I also wish that the pacing didn't change so quickly. I really liked how it started but as I progressed it became more of a Serious Sam sort of shoot 'em up instead of an interesting action/adventure shooter.

The fight in the arena with the Antlion Guards was rather unbalanced as well. You can barely survive it. I actually managed to glitch it so that I wasn't attacked anymore which saved my ***.

The end battle was hardly a fair fight. :p

I liked the beginning though. The intro was nice.

xXdraky says
9 xXdraky

Sep 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Absolutely bonkers, but outstanding at the same time. While everything was in fact "random", it suited the whole feel of the game. The voice acting was hilarious, the plot ridiculous, yet the gameplay immensely satisfying. Don't let your first judgement stop you from playing this mod, as it happens to be entertaining in all respects. While it is short, the varied environments mixed in with the random missions make this mod very enjoyable. You do everything from escaping a prison to fighting mutants in an arena, both technically unrelated. Honestly, what makes this mod happens to be its randomness. All in all, I was entertained. Rating: 8.9/10 (should have been longer)

DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

Aug 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod with epic maps (that castle! that arena!), unique ambiance (you'll see many weird people doing weird things), too bad it ends on a cliffhanger until RQ2...

Crazymonte says
10 Crazymonte

Jun 28th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

awesome

feillyne says
10 feillyne

Jun 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not quite 'random' as it at first appears. Marked by great voice acting and story.

Antumarin says
7 Antumarin

Dec 12th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.6

139 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.