In 2011 I started browsing the latest graphical/sound quake mods, putting together a pretty build using LordHavoc's darkplaces, rygel's ultra textures packs, the reforged packs and a variety of mods, to play quake original. Anyone can do the same, however the hassle comes when you have to browse the quakeone forums, stumbling to find the posts which detail what cvars and what configs/files you have to overwrite etc in order to get each mod to work. I literally spent as much time getting the mods working as playing the game. So I put together a nice-looking build of quake original and it's expansions called epsilon for everybody to get into, without getting into the hassle of config files and searching to find every available mod then getting them to work! The main quake build also includes the original shareware first quarter of the quake game - it is easily upgraded to the full game by dropping in the pak0.pak and pak1.pak files from the full game's id1 directory (more details below).

Review RSS Feed slipkid69 says
9 slipkid69

Sep 14th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Ace has me Quaking in my boots all over again.

Sir_Henry says
2 Sir_Henry

Jul 11th, 2014 4 people agree 3 people don't

You should ask for support at quakeone.com to fix all your glitches before updating a compilation with the same old files and issues again.

Mad_Max_RW says
1 Mad_Max_RW

Feb 25th, 2012 7 people agree 6 people don't

Way too bloated and untested with so much random stuff from all over the internet. Better off exploring Quakeone.com

Victor_Frankenstein says
8 Victor_Frankenstein

Jul 15th, 2014 2 people agree 2 people don't

This build lets us feel the old-school Quake in truly new vision. HQ-textures, hipoly-models, cool particles & other stuff on maybe the best engine based on QuakeWorld engine (except these Sources, etc., etc.) -- DarkPlaces. The build is being enhanced from time to time to give us better quality and performance. For those who also wants to play Mission Packs in HQ there're addons with the stuff for MPs, every one keeps original atmosphere and works good on my laptop (HP Pavilion g6-2126sr, FYI).

Why 8/10? Well, the build's config BAT-file always (I didn't check the Low quality so I'll say ALWAYS) sets the lightning in the game to Ultra quality which lowers my FPS too much in some cases. Also there could be some config software aka file manager where the player could choose manually what HQ stuff he wants to see ingame.

Nikulas says
10 Nikulas

Apr 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I did not think it was good until i played quake with it. the only problem is in the start map to many particles my pc can't handle it but every where else it's fine thats on max settings btw.

rsl says
10 rsl

Oct 8th, 2013 4 people agree 4 people don't

An outstanding job of resource collection, tweaking and integration. The pics and videos speak for themselves! Makes a fifteen years old game look like it was born a couple years ago. Kudos for the effort and the result! :-D

xbryan2000x says
8 xbryan2000x

Mar 7th, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

Best Realistic Quake MOD Ever its like if Quake was remade in 2012 or 2013 Your the Best!

nutter says
9 nutter

Feb 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

i like it

AnimalBear says
10 AnimalBear

Jan 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is the Winner of MODDB Website!

Isaiahere says
10 Isaiahere

Nov 30th, 2012 2 people agree 2 people don't

Absolutely stunning. It looks better than most of today's games.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

46 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.