Pirates, Vikings, and Knights II boasts a unique three-team symmetry and a myriad of colorful characters to promote exciting, strategic, and fun gameplay. It features several game modes, each requiring its own special brand of cunning to master. Do battle on a tropical island for control of bountiful treasure. Appease your gods by spilling the blood of your enemies deep within a Mayan temple. Conquer your foes by taking control of precious badlands territory. But most importantly, have FUN!

Review RSS Feed Torabi says
10 Torabi

Nov 4th, 2010 9 people agree 4 people don't

It's fast, frantic, fun and it's on Steam. One of the most unique and entertaining mods on the Source engine to date!
Unlike the average melee weapon in Source games, that basically behave as a gun with a very short range, PVK II boasts a fully fledged melee weapon system.
The direction of your swing actually matters and can be blocked by a proper parry in the right direction. If you swing a large weapon around, you can hit multiple targets in a single hit.

PVK II also has a very interesting set up, consisting of greedy pirates, vicious vikings and chivalric knights. All fighting each other at the same time, it may not be historically correct, but it is a great mix of different eras and their respective weaponry. Such as the pirates having pistols and access to gunpowder, whilst the vikings and knights rely on older technology.

Graphically, PVK II stands out from the crowd with it's colorful and detailed graphics. The mod also offers other visual elements that are rarely found in other mods. Such as fully functional facial animations for the characters, detailed particles and something that I find very important, world animations. The average mod uses the default world animations and it is getting very old. Great to see when mods actually have their own unique custom animations, especially for a mod like PVK II.

PVK II is a very fun and unique mod and I highly recommended it, get it now on steam!

Store.steampowered.com

PS: Please tell me what you think of the review.

Dudok22 says
10 Dudok22

Nov 22nd, 2010 6 people agree 3 people don't

just started to play it and its fun! 10/10

houshubin says
10 houshubin

Nov 19th, 2010 6 people agree 3 people don't

very nice

KortalMombat says
1 KortalMombat

Dec 1st, 2010 7 people agree 4 people don't

After steam release, this mod is no longer acceptable.

kenny355a says
9 kenny355a

Aug 29th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

One of my favorite games! I can't bring myself to give it a ten though, because it hasn't gotten any dev news SINCE 5 MONTHS AGO. GARRRR

ChrisTheRipper says
10 ChrisTheRipper

Aug 13th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

One of the best HL 2 mod focused on those times!!

Askrobert1234 says
10 Askrobert1234

Apr 12th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod was really fun (I played it in its first beta stage, and a few days ago came back to try it a second time around)

The fact that there is 3 teams with multiple classes on each team adds a lot and there's a class that fits almost anyone.

The character models and weapons look fantastic and have great animations. It's easy to tell the teams apart, and the maps look absolutely stunning.

There are also a decent amount of servers (with a lot of players on the ones with stats [24 on one yesterday]) - It's on STEAM now, so there's a lot more players than there used to be.

It's interesting because it's a cross between armor & swords VS old technology VS a blunderbuss/revolver, swords, and explosives - but it's all fairly balanced somehow.

The game also has an interesting "special attack" feature and the ability to parry. - Shields can break after blocking enough hits or powerful hits, and swords have a chance to deflect the blow from another player. - When you are attacking and killing your special meter will charge. - If you (for example) have your blunderbuss out as a pirate captain and use your special (F key) you can fire 1 special explosive shot to do more damage to your enemies.

Overall, I give this game a 10/10. - It looks fantastic (Maps, weapons AND characters) - the animations are fantastic - they added the parry system and breakable weapons that i didn't even know was possible in source - and there's such a variety in classes.

A MUST-TRY for mods.

-Robert

niklashw says
10 niklashw

Dec 23rd, 2010 4 people agree 2 people don't

Masterpiece!
Raw and brutal - doesnt matter if you are a pro FPS gamer or if you are a newbie, this game will bring joy and many awesome hours to you and your friends.

FiredFox3 says
10 FiredFox3

Oct 23rd, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

100% Professional, fresh GAME (not mod) :)

bonehead11 says
9 bonehead11

Apr 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ahh the legendary PVKII, I have played since the first beta releases when only heavy knight, berserker and skirmisher were available trough man at arms release. So I can safely say I know what I talk about.

The game is perfect except one important fact that its almost dead thanks to bad decisions. But lets start with the good stuff. Game has unique setting, wich works like a wonder, you would say it couldnt work but oh boy it does work like a charm. You have 3 teams, pirates,vikings and knights. Every team has unique classes, pirates have fast annyoing skirmisher, balanced damage giver captain and now ranged support sharpshooter. Vikings have fast damage dealer berserker, armored all rounded huscarl and versatile support gestir. For knights you have slow heavy hitting tank knight, squishy ranged support archer and balanced crowd controler man at arms. Every class is unique with its pros and cons, you trully have to adapt to the fast paced and hectic game style wich PVKII provides. Its real fun, full of chaos,adrenaline but yet at the same time tactical goodness. Combat is in its core simple, but gets somewhat complex. You have directional attacks, 4 directions and directional blocking, if you block correctly than you do counterattack while enemy is stunned, nowadays the stun is neligible so the counterattack is hard to pull off. But to counter abusing parry, you have power attack, wich is unblockable, but only for a brief moment, making timing cruical. Nowadays you can dodge, wich I find really good thing that they added it, it makes combat more fun, you can jump or use your terrain to advantage. There are many more things like momentum wich adds damage, weapon swing tracking, wich makes proper direction cruical.

There are basic game mods like booty, wich is variant of capture the flag, territory, wich is variant of conquest we know from battlefield games, last team standing, counter strike meets coloseum and lastly grail, wich is unique take on team deathmatch. The only thing that really bugs me is that trough 7 years they havent been able to add the most cruical mods that everyone would love and wanted, deathmatch and pure team deathmatch. Maps are nicely designed, we all love our island, return of fort is welcomed, desert ruin or frostbite are trully great.

Now sounds, sounds are nicely done, memorable and quite good. But I prefer original sounds, they were alot better, voices especially.

But sadly its destroyed by elitist community and by not changing bad design choices, we all know about crouch jumping, jump momentum, bunnyhoping to name few, in favor of few "elite" players, resulting of new people instantly leaving, because they stand no chance against the small player pool of "pros" who abuse flawed design and bugs. I remember when the game was fairly balanced, heck I played since there were only skirmisher, heavyknight and berserker, and people had good fun, it was perfect, the servers were packing and plentifull...Im not kidding, for sourcemod the playerbase was huge...enormous. But then 2.2 came and parrywhoring...from there the game lost 2/3 of its playerbase. 1/3 abused the flawed parrywhoring and others didnt stand chance + game was staring parry contest and sadly the elitist community since then destroyed the game utterly...they have removed parry whoring in 2.3 and people returned alot of them, but our small pool of elitists found other flaws, like bad hit detection, crouch jumping, bunny hoping and well people again ran away...and developers didnt do anything with the flaws, heck they even support them and wont change a damn in favor again of few so called "pros".So sadly this game is going to the gutter, I trully loved this game, but even the new man at arms, dodging kicking didnt change the fact that few "pros" have unfair advantages over new players, wont let me stay by this game It was great mod, but sadly the end is inevitable unless they wont wake up and finally do the right thing, repair those bugs.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

644 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.