You are on vacation in the south of France, invited by an old friend who settled there a few year ago. Not far from the village stills stand the ruins of a very old castle, set on top of a massive rocky spur. Not much remains of the ancient fortress but a few collapsed walls already erroded by time. Yet you've decided to give it a closer look, after all the view from the top of that mountain would be breathtaking by itself. You are there, wandering amongst these old stones, when the rain starts pouring down. You are looking for some shelter, when suddenly...

Review RSS Feed ShiningBlader says
9 ShiningBlader

Jul 29th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Enjoyed this CS and also feared some parts too. However, there are some things you could improve:

--> Use more paragraphs in the letters to make them more appellative to read: people will look at the walls of text and be turned off immediately, relying in the mementos instead, only to find later that the letters actually had hints in the middle of the text.

--> Some stuff was really hard to find like the crowbar and the key in the excavation site. No hints were given towards the crowbar at all. The rope was also hard to get as well because it didn't allow me to move the bed properly

--> Some mementos didn't go away after finding out the stuff needed. For example, I thought that the explosive had to be used on the excavation part because the memento stood there even after picking up the key.

I could have easily given you a 10 but let's face it: your CS is too hard unless people forget about the antidote or watch a walktrough.

Remember that puzzles are important but shouldn't be overly complex because it breaks the horror mood. The original amnesia had puzzles as well but they were pretty straightforward (the one in the control room in the cistern wasn't thought...)

daortir says
8 daortir

Oct 28th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

There is quite a lot to be said about that Custom Story. First of all, we can see you put a lot of work in it, it is very detailed, the plot is interesting and the writing is amazing. Level design is good as well, I wouldn't call it badass but it is nice.
There are a few reasons why I wouldn't put a 10 out of 10 for that CS, though. First of all, the lack of lighting is really annoying. I understand that it is hard to find a creative way of lighting underground levels, but that clicking sound is really obnoxious. I'd say that the monsters aren't a real difficulty either. I'm thinking about the Cells, where the monsters spawns so fast and where you kinda have to die straight away. It's not frustrating, it is just useless. Spawning a monster that kills you is no better than teleporting naked guys.

I hope you'll keep making awesome CS !

Evulant says
9 Evulant

Jul 29th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

A very well done custom story. The storyline has a lot of depth, which I liked a lot. You really want to know what has happened in those dungeons. Also, it had some difficult puzzles. However, there were some things I didn't like:
1. The bed which has the rope hidden beneath it, but you are not able to move it properly.
2. The music when you read the note about Salim getting insane, which would not vanish. It really got annoying after a while.
3. While the story itself had a lot of depth, the ending was more like ''YOU LOSE!'' or ''YOU WIN!''. Quite the out of character ending.
4. The probably-bugged ending. Maybe because RemoveTimer("CannotMove") doesn't work, but I'm not sure.

I think this is a great custom story with a nice environment and it well deserves 9/10.

MODLOVER43 says
7 MODLOVER43

Aug 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cool and not a bad story overall but the puzzles were WAY to hard and not enough help was given.

Humeba says
5 Humeba

Jul 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This should have been a 10/10. I really did like this custom story. It was well written and the idea was wonderful and it was pretty long. The reason for the 5/10: It was just too damn confusing. Not labels for doors or areas and it doesn't tell you just what you need to do and where you need to go so most of the time I was just running around like a chicken with my head cut off. However as it was so well written, I will be tracking you for future custom stories.

impala-of-mayfair says
10 impala-of-mayfair

Jul 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

(I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one yet! It's one of my favorites!!)
Incredible mapping, incredible atmosphere, incredible storyline, and an incredible amount of work put into this amazing custom story.
The plot, scattered through notes, was incredibly detailed, complex, and well-thought-out. As a writer myself, that really engaged my interests and drove my eagerness to progress through the game.
Not only is Peiraprigond a wonderful gaming experience, but it also takes a healthy amount of brainpower to complete. The catacombs were a rather frustrating and well-made maze, and that archive puzzle sequence near the end made my head spin. I have very high respects for custom stories that cater to my level of intellect.
This is one of the few custom stories I find myself wanting to replay again and again. Absolutely beautiful.

...and I still can't believe I had to start over because I willingly fell down that hole in the cells. I'm an idiot.

kammiexxx says
9 kammiexxx

Jun 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Custom Story! NO doubt one of the most best I have played and I have played a lot.... Most stories are so similiar e.g. castles and the rooms are similar but this one has a great map design for ach of the maps and has a great spooky atmosphere, which i would say maks a change to the usual getting chased by the monsters everytime. The puzles are very challenging but fanatastic if you are looking for a long custom story to play that is worth spending a lot of time on! I got stuck and walked around for a couple of hours in and around every room and map about 5 times then I had to read the walkthrough because it is hard to find the keys sometimes and the things you need to progress but it makes this story a lot more nteresting. And sure the notes are very LONG but the story is fantastic, the cretor is very good writer, sets the atmospehre well and I love how this story links to history. Finally, the monsters dont come up as often as I have experience with other stories, but the rooms and atmophere and the enivronment is creepy in itself, and it still makes you shiver as you try to go on into the castle because you don't know what could happen next! This story is a must and you relly should try it out! :)

WWEdeadman says
9 WWEdeadman

Mar 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great level design, interesting story, and generaly well done. No pointless Jumpscares, good athmosphere, and 3 different endings to find.

Although the huge main area can be confusing sometimes, and at the end there was a part where you needed to climb a cave in, which didn't work to well for me, I really liked this Story, and can only reccomend everyone to play it.

ElectricEye says
8 ElectricEye

Mar 22nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Grinding teeth...can't see anything...grinding teeth...can't find anything...grinding teeth. This is a mod with a very oppressive use of darkness, and it really is the double edged sword that at the same time makes it both great and frustrating. On the one hand, it skillfully sets the atmosphere. Many people mistakenly think that overbearing darkness automatically makes their mods more immersive, without understanding that the use of light or darkness (as well as other atmosphere strategies or scare tactics) must be grounded in the story and setting in order to work. The fact that there are no lights burning when you enter Peiraprigond makes it feel that it really is old and abandoned. It works perfectly, and the level design is masterful. It feels more "real" than almost any other castle mod.

On the other hand: Grinding teeth...can't see anything...grinding teeth...can't find anything...grinding teeth. This is hardcore Amnesia. From a design and storytelling standpoint this mod clearly deserves a higher rating, but those neverending teeth sounds take some fun out of the experience. Quite frankly, it drove me nuts.

The story is very well written, and goes together with the immersive level design. Instead of being recently written, the journal pages are hundreds of years old, as old as the unlit candles, and makes the depopulation of the castle feel genuine. The story and atmosphere strengthen each other. However, I'm not sure if brutes and grunts really do the trick in waking the player up to the fact that some evil is still lingering. This is one mod where I think a custom monster was called for, even if it is actually hard enough without ANY monsters. The monsters almost felt detrimental to the story, and some were more tedious than scary or intense, because of the cramped castle layout that made stealth play almost hopeless.

Really good overall, but also really difficult, sometimes to the point of frustration. It requires some serious effort from the player.

endosine says
9 endosine

Dec 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Positives:

Excellent Mapping
Original Story
Interesting Name (Always good)
Very unwelcoming atmosphere in some of the maps, always felt like something was bound to happen but it didn't

Negatives:
Could not see two feet infront of my face without a lantern
More Oil could be placed in the maps.

This is a really well made custom story and it has a very interesting backstory. Mapping is superb and the atmosphere was well done.

I Haven't been that scared in amnesia since when i played the main story.

9/10 Phenomenal

Community Rating

Average

8.6

38 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.